We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, very expensive”
Review of The Buck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Buck Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely location, very expensive”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stopped for a quick after a lovely walk around Malham Cove. Fantastic location in a beautiful village. However that's where the positives end.
2 pints of Landlord and two fruitshoots came to a whopping £11.60. Like others have said, everyone needs to make a profit but those prices ensured we didn't stay for another.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunos1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    186
    85
    47
    75
See reviews for
73
355
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The owners and friendly staff make this countryside inn a must place to visit on any trip to the Yorkshire Dales. The open fire gives a warm and cosy feel especially when the weather outside is cold and wet.The food is excellent and the choices of beers is also good.

Room Tip: Room 7 has recently been refurbished and is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

If you like peace and tranquility away from noise, pollution and the maddening crowds then the Buck Inn at Malham is the place to go. Located in a sleepy rural village although a hamlet may be more descriptively accurate, it appeals to those who like hiking and cycling or just sightseeing with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and many walks within easy reach including the Pennine Way. When we arrived on a Monday, there were a lot of cars parked in and around the village which acts as a central point for walkers but no worries , most of these had disappeared by the end of the day with the limited amount of accommodation available in Malham itself.
The Inn offers everything you might expect and more with friendly and attentive staff, a basic but acceptable standard of accommodation, our room, no 6, came with a four poster and a recently refurbished en-suite shower only ( no bath ) although the mattress left a lot to be desired and the furnishings and carpet appeared to be somewhat dated and there was no double glazing although the building always felt warm and cosy. The room faced to the front and while on the road, we were not affected by much noise and neither from the bar below although in the summer peak season when it will be busier the noise may be more of an issue? The food is both plentiful and of excellent quality and always came well presented and piping hot ( cannot abide lukewarm food ), although perhaps a little more pricey than similar establishments. They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and the Buck Inn breakfasts were fantastic,an ideal start to the long day of exercise ahead and for those who like porridge it was divine. I do think consideration should be given to an earlier start to breakfast as 8.30 is quite late for an early start for walking.
Overall we had a very enjoyable and pleasant stay of 3 nights and would return as it is such a wonderful location. Thank you to all at the Buck Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOhnC19532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have just stayed here for 2 nights, and really enjoyed it. The building itself is old and very attractive; we liked the decor, which seemed to us to suit the building without being "olde worlde" or overdone, The open fire was great. It is a bit odd that there is neither a Reception area nor a sign indicating where you should go, but we found the service prompt and friendly. Our room was no 7; it had a great view over the stream running through the village. It was not very big, but OK, though the one armchair was not placed anywhere near the TV, and was heavy to drag out. The 4 poster bed was pretty and very comfortable, and the room itself clean and very quiet. Breakfast was excellent, with a good range of options- we had our first ever goose egg! The fresh trout with vegetables we had fro dinner was a cut above pub food, and we didn't think it was all that pricey. Malham itself is lovely, and we hope to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaIreneBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I cannot praise The Buck Inn enough. The Inn is what you would expect from a rural village in the Yorkshire Dales frequented by hikers and sightseers; it doesn't pretend to be anything else (a huge plus in my book).

The open fire is extremely inviting, the menu is comprehensive and more than worth the price (you must try the rabbit pie!). The breakfast is equally as good as the daytime and evening meals and It really sets you up for the day.

What can I say about the staff, well, they are the most friendly, welcoming and helpful people you could ever hope to meet. My wife had a nasty fall whilst out and about and they could not do enough for us.

Malham itself is an ideal location for exploring the dales, a hikers delight.

Amazing staff, amazing venue and all in all an amazing place to stay, even if it was cut a little short.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmps_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a great reward at the end of a walk. A nice pint and a steak and ale pie. Very friendly service too.

There were 6 of us so it was a bit cramped around the table (busy pub) 5 of us had steak and ale pie to make it easy. It came with nice pastry, good chips, veg and a jug of gravy. Good but on the pricey end at £12.75.

Partway through eating, some of us remarked how little meat there was in the pie while others said they had loads. Once we'd got further through it, we found plenty of meat at the other end!

Suffice to say, there was adequate meat in the pie but just oddly distributed. Definitely worth a visit and do try the pie but give it a shake before you start eating it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsGuy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Foret-Auvray, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We frequently stop in Malham with our motorhome en route to visiting friends and family in the North of England. Usually we have an evening meal, several pints of their lovely ale, and then sit around the log fire playing cribbage for a few hours. This time, we were in the car, so we stayed the night. The room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed for our overnight stay. The food was as ever very well prepared, and served with a friendly face. The Breakfast was even better - top quality, hot, freshly prepared, all served with a smiling face. We determined that in future, when we stay with the motorhome nearby, we will get up and have breakfast at the Buck Inn (good for the soul, if not the waistline!). Decor is like stepping back in time, but not in a bad way - for the price including the breakfast, it was excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heydns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
0.2 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
8.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Inn

Property: The Buck Inn
Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from Leeds, York and greater Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Buck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck Inn Malham Hotel Malham
The Buck Inn Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing