We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the two tier pricing”
Review of The Buck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Buck Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware the two tier pricing”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Staying in local accommodation so called in for a drink and to check the menu. We sat at the bar and reviewed the menu and we were very keen to visit during the week for a meal. However the promise soon went when we quite clearly observed staff telling each other who was a local and who was a visitor. The locals were getting charged 25% less for food and drink. Regardless of the motives you do not do this in front of customers. We finished our drinks and left immediately with a feeling I had been fleeced. Not a good experience and never went back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    186
    85
    48
    75
See reviews for
73
355
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a late lunch after a visit to Malham Cove. Has the bar or dining room, both are quite roomy. Had a lovely lunch and few refreshing pints. Great little pub with good service. Recommend if you're looking for something that is tasty and is of good value!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Verity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

i usually go for fish and chips and a pint of old peculiar in a stellar pub such as this. however, i fancied something a little different and the only negative i have is that i was totally stuffed. a little pricy compared to other pubs of this ilk, however, there was oceans of top quality and exceptionally presented food.
The trio of burger platter comes with a lamb, beef and game burger, chips, salad and 3 sauces. awesome.
the local ale is worth avoiding because if your an ale drinker like me you will appreciate a fine ale and the local one isn't a good one, however, old peculiar was on tap and that is always a winner.
the beer garden round the back was a nice haven on a warm afternoon like we had and the decor and atmosphere is great. walkers (and cyclists it would seem) are all welcome.

enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had 5 nights in Malham at a B&B and ate here every evening. The food was delicious and the staff cheerful and friendly. The menu was quite extensive with home made pies, locally caught trout, roast of the day and many other choices. Their desserts were amazing and I can personally say the home made jam Roly poly and custard was superb.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Came upon this B&B on a drive through the Dales in the charming little town of Malham, in the heart of limestone pavement country. Some good walks from the town.

Warm welcome and very accommodating, friendly staff even though we came to breakfast towards the end of the 8:30-9:30am period (having gone walking on the limestone pavement in the morning). Wifi didn't work well, which we weren't told till after we had paid and checked in. Rooms small (not much bigger than a double bed) but quite nice with bright window, though my mom found the dark / black-tiled bathroom off-putting as she couldn't tell if it was clean or not!

Writing this review to give a big shout-out to the astonishingly delicious, slightly posh and good value breakfast. Starters included an indulgent Scottish porridge with cream & honey or a goat's milk yogurt with warm home-made berry compote, while the main included a full Yorkshire breakfast (veg version available), a variety of egg dishes including eggs benedict / florentine / royale or haddock and poached egg. You can ask for a goose or duck egg at no extra cost -- goose eggs are noticeably larger than hen eggs if you haven't had them and are a sight to behold. Thanks Buck Inn!

Our rooms were £70 for double occupancy and £45 for single.

Room Tip: Try if you can to get a room with a bathroom facing the outside ( = window = brighter / cleaner feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit, especially now the wifi is fully installed and works in the rooms .
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Booked in for lunch on sunday as we were staying in Malham for the weekend. There was no need to book, we were the only people in there eating. Extensive menu but very expensive for what it is. The sunday roast was very nicely presented with great home made yorkies but not worth £12.50. I opted for fish and chips, for £13.25 I was expecting them to be amazing. They were average and not a very big portion. The service was ok, toilets not very nice. Drinks very expensive and we've had better beer. Feel like you are taken advantage of as the other pub is also very expensive!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank needsmorehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The menu in this pub is very good. We ate here at lunchtime, the pannis and sandwiches were excellent and the chips are to die for!
We also ate here in the evening. The menu is extensive and the standard of food extremely good. The tables in the bar can be booked which was what we needed as we had our two Labradors and a Bichon Frise. The pub is very dog friendly. The only down side is the lack of WiFi as Malham has no signal.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Von1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
0.2 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
8.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Inn

Property: The Buck Inn
Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from Leeds, York and greater Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Buck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck Inn Malham Hotel Malham
The Buck Inn Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing