We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming & warm”
Review of Beck Hall Malham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beck Hall Malham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Welcoming & warm”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Beck Hall(16/17th March). We stayed in rm 10 which overlooked the river. The room was a decent size, had a very comfortable enormous bed, which after a long days walking was greatly appreciated. The bathroom had a large walk in shower with plenty of hot water. Beck Hall is pet friendly, which is one of the reasons why we chose it. Pets aren't allowed in the dining room, but if you don't want to leave your dog in your bedroom, you do have the option of having breakfast in the lounge, where pets are allowed.
Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice with cereals, fruits,yoghurt, a good choice of cooked food too. No beans on menu, but just ask if you want them. If you have any special requests, they will try to accommodate you.
It snowed while we were there & my husbands walking shoes decided to leak, Alice the owner & the lady who served breakfast(sorry didn't get her name) went out of their way to find something that would seal his shoe. Big thanks for that, we wouldn't have been able to go out walking otherwise.
There's a honesty bar in the lounge, lots of choice from water, wine, spirits, soft drinks, just book down what you've had & pay for it when you check out.
We had a great time, even the weather didn't dampen our spirits, our cocker spaniel loved every minute of her time there & we will hopefully stay again in the summer.
This is a place to return to whatever the seasons.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyBoltonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thanks for your feddback and comments, we are really pleased that you all seemed to enjoy your stay. We obviously concentrate on the Bed and Breakfast side, but it's good of you to recognise our efforts to go the extra mile, as well as your hubby with his repaired boots! We would love to see you again when you return, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    235
    47
    25
    11
See reviews for
121
600
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
coop16
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Beck Hall on a Thurs/Fri in February.... you'd never kow it was the off-season, as there were many guests! We got an exceptional deal on the price, and were very pleased with the accomodation. The bed was large and very comfy, the bathroom was very modern and clean. The rooms were quiet and rustic, but with a modern edge. The only complaint in the room would be the carpet was a bit dingy, and I'm not sure if a singe bed/cot had been taken out of the room, but there was a large open space but no dressing table/chairs/etc... we just dumped all of our belongings on the floor, and the coffee/tea making facilities were on the windowsill. The room could have benefitted from a small table/chairs or dressing table, but perhaps this room is left like this in case an extra bed needs to be added??

The breakfast was great, a large selection. This is definitely a palce for dog-lovers, and is very dog-friendly! However, this would not be an ideal location for someone with mobility issues, as the car park is a short walk away, you must cross a small stone bridge/footpath to reach the property on the other side of the beck, and the stairs are narrow and steep up to the rooms. This was not an issue for us however.

The walking trails and scenery in the area are beautiful, and Malham cove is only a very short walk from the property. The staff, and fellow guests were very welcoming, and by the end of our stay it felt like a small little family.... the guest lounge with fireplace was warm and welcoming, and the pub down the road had superb food.

My only small complaint was that they could not accomodate a 1/2 hour later check-out for us, as we wanted to do one last walk that morning with enough time to come back and shower before we set off.... I thought they would have still had ample time to prepare our room for the next guests, but this must not have been the case.

Overall, I would definitely return, and recommend this b&b to anyone. The value for money was superb.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coop16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you found your stay enjoyable and good value. We are busier than normal at the moment, especially midweek, which is great. We would love to see you again should you re-visit Malham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights during the recent cold snap in beautiful, snowy, Malham. The guest house was warm, welcoming and the room comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, good quality and plentiful. We stayed in room 14, which was spacious and had a good hot shower. For the price of a Premier Inn we stayed somewhere with character in the heart of the village with a good full English breakfast. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thanks, It all sounds a bit Ronseal, but we do actually try and do exactly what it says on the sign, Bed and Breakfast. It is very nice that you have appreciated our offering and enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for commenting on our breakfasts, we would lovr to see you again if you return to Malham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at Beck Hall for a weekend at the beginning of March. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The place had a nice cosy feel with the coal fire going and it was great having the honesty bar to be able to get a drink and snacks. The breakfast was really good. The room was clean and comfortable but a little small and the view from our room was of some kind of ventilation flue (we stayed in Room 1) and there was occasionally a bit of a humming noise though not enough to disturb sleep. I would happily return to Beck Hall though, it's a very well run B&B in a stunning location.

Room Tip: Room 1 doesn't have a view, would try to get another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_M_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thanks for your feedback, sorry about the extraction system, It being a requirement, we thought long and hard about where it would best be placed and this was the least obtrusive, we are pleased it didn't disturb you. Thanks for your positive appraisal of our team and the general feel of Beck Hall, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Just ended a wonderful 3 day stay at the end of February for our 41st.. We were met by Steve who greeted us with the enthusiasm whjch speaks volumes for the local tourist industry. We were allocated a cosy lower room facing the beck and immediately made to feel at home. Alice, a lovely American lady whom I believe is the owner runs a well organised,helpful staff to look after the day to day affairs. My wife is invalid but after the initial apprehension,had no problem negtionating access over the small bridge.A1+
Peter & Shirley

Room Tip: Most rooms are west facing and overlook the beck. There are smoking areas outside a couple of lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Peter and Shirley, so glad you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed your celebration with us. We are also happy that you found the room and surroundings to your liking, be lovely to see you again if you are ever back in Malham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We only had time to stay for one night during half term but loved it. The location was so pretty with a stone bridge to cross over the river to access the property in the beautiful village of Malham. Very warm and friendly welcome and we loved our room - The Green Room with a four poster in the old part if the Hall. Open fire in the guest lounge was great and the honesty bar a good idea with reasonable prices. Breakfast was fabulous and the staff very attentive. Thoroughly relaxing stay and we will return for a longer break. Would recommend without hesitation and will be looking out for special offers to return. Thank you for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: The Green Room has a real traditional four poster bed which is great but quite short for taller gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaAB1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you, we are very fortunate to be in such a beautiful place and location, the important thing is for us, not to get complacent, so we value all our guests feedback, which is mostly good thank goodness, we will always endevour to give our guests a warm welcome and experience. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were given this overnight stay as an anniversary present. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Despite arriving early we were given a warm welcome and a complimentary cup of tea. Our cases were stored until we returned from a day's walking in the area.
The room was modern and comfortable with a fabulous view over the Beck. Four poster bed, tea and coffee making as you would expect.
Breakfast was full English - delicious bacon. Lots of everything!
We will come back one day and stay for a bit longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Manager at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for 'loving us' Is that better than the facebook Like? Seriously thanks for your review we actualy really enjoy meeting all our guests and are very happy when they enjoy their experience here. We look forward to seeing you again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
12.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck Hall Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck Hall Malham

Property: Beck Hall Malham
Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beck Hall Malham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over an ancient clapper bridge in the Yorkshire Dales village of Malham lies the magical Beck Hall Hotel, Deli & Bistro. Surrounded by rolling hills and the most magnificent limestone landscapes, our little hotel provides an enchanting escape from everyday life. After a day of exploring, unwind in one of our 18 whimsical en-suite rooms, while away a summer evening at The Secret Garden or spend a winter's night by a roaring fire in the Snug. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beck Hall Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck Hall Malham Hotel Malham
Beck Hall Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing