We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull weekend break”
Review of Beck Hall Malham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beck Hall Malham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed at Beck Hall for two nights on May day bank holiday weekend. We took our dog with us and was made very welcome,we were given a lovely room with a 4 poster bed everything was very clean and comfortable. The location of Beck Hall is only a stones throw from the centre of Malam which is a beautifull village,there is a river flowing through the property and they also have a tea room which is the guests breakfast room,but because we had our dog with us we had to have our breakfast in the guests lounge which was not a problam.all in all we had a wonderfull stay .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1362lind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we do make guests pets welcome as much as possible, we have a few rooms which we keep for guests with pets and allow pets everywhere except the Dining room, but as you say for those pets which may be uncomfortable we set up breakfast in the Lounge. Thank you for your positive review and again we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Malham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

After walking around The Cove it was a haven for those tired feet. A cream tea in the sunshine was much appreciated. Set right beside the small stream it was an ideal location after a days walk.On the downside the toilets needed some refurbishment, but this should not detract from the ideal setting.

Room Tip: Sit outside if the weather is good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your Cream Tea and had a well earned relax in our streamside garden. Your comment about the amenities is noted and we have this in our plan to improve these this year. Thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed two nights and found Beck Hall to be welcoming and warm. Alice and the rest of the staff were really friendly. The breakfast was simple and hearty with generous servings of some tasty locally sourced produce. Would be happy to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sevenducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay, we are very happy you enjoyed your time with us, and for your recommendation, it means a lot to all of us as a team when our guests voice their appreciation. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Well another Sunday and another walk. We arrived on the outskirts of Malham fairly late in the day (weather had been glorious and we have taken in the Cove) and so we decided to stop at the first cafe we came across. This was it and a very pleasant surprise this fairly hidden place is. Very reasonably priced drinks and food. Attentive service even though we turned up 10 minutes before closing time. The fact they do B&B interested a couple of us ... so we may be back ... this time to try an overnight or three.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for calling in to see us at the end of your Trek, we are glad you enjoyed your sustenance and our service. It would be lovely to see you again if you return to Malham and we will look out for your friends! thanks again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at Beck Hall for 2 nites..so enjoyed our stay there and our visit to Malham cove,Janets Foss and Gordale scar.Beck Hall has a very beautiful and peaceful countryside setting with an old bridge crossing over and a stream running pass..Everyone there was so lovely..Alice being so nice to keep emailing me on the rooms and info on the buses to Malham,Steve was funny..and the tall girl who served us breakfast when i spilt my milk on the table she was very meticulous in cleaning it up..thanks to her.All in all the staffs were very nice and friendly that include the boy who checked us in.Breakfast was delicious with a big pot of tea,lots of choices of yoghurt,fruits etc...Just perfect!
Room was spacious and clean..we had room 10 which faced to the front stream..with the duck and its ducklings swimming about every morning..what more can you ask for when you wake up every morning to this lovely view.And the walks to Malham cove,Janets Foss and Gordale Scar were so refreshing cos the weather was so kind to us on both days we were there.We took so many beautiful pictures there and the scenery there was just picture postcard perfect!
For anyone who is planning to visit Malham..Beck Hall is your place to start with..come and experience it yourself and you will know why I'm writing this review..Thumbs up and thanks to everyone in Beck Hall...And yes Malham is a great place to visit..we Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinGio88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

We are very pleased you had such a pleasant time in Malham, It is especially nice that you found all our team here helpful and pleasant, and you enjoyed your accommodation and breakfast so much. Thank you for staying with us and your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Having decided to have a break from kids and animals we booked Beck Hall as it was in a wonderful setting MALHAM and looked just what we were looking for. After booking we were a little concerned at some of the reviews but most sounded rather petty. However we needn't have worried, we stayed in a double room with a 4 poster bed in the new annex overlooking the back garden, the room was spotless, well decorated and well fit out, the bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The en-suite was spotlessly clean with plenty of clean towels and toiletries. The staff were friendly and polite and couldn't do enough for us, the breakfast was superb, all local produce and the service terrific even when the dining room was full. We would go back again tomorrow. Malham is a lovely place with two great pubs and lovely walks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for your comments, and two things in particular. Your appreciation of our efforts to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, and your sensible approach to reviews, reviews are extremely useful to both customers and businesses alike as long as the extreme ones are almost discounted, that's the very bad ones and the very good ones. The average is the important thing.
Thanks again for your posotive feedback, we would love to see you again when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We walked past on our way up to Malham Cove, and everything indicated that this would be a charming spot for afternoon tea. A characterful building superbly set by a gentle stream in the heart of the scenic Dales, complete with a tea garden on the river bank. It looked so nice that when we were back in the area the following day, we walked the length of the village in pouring rain with a toddler to try it. If it hadn't been so far from our car, I think we would have turned on heel. Dillaptated garden furniture is the first hint that all is not well - we were led into a dingy breakfast room out of the rain. So gloomy - think woodchip, sad crumbled table cloths, furniture that is only fit for a skip (no one would take it off - trust me) with breakfast condiments still out. An unpleasant sit - I would have left but for the rain and the toddler. Yet I still might have forgiven them if the cream tea had been edible. Instead £4.50 buys a teabag in a pot and a miserable commercial scone, with a jar of clotted cream which tasted strange. I am a decent baker, and could rustle up a scone in a few minutes. This was heavy with preservative, cheap and nasty. Staff was friendly and service was quick - but it could hardly make up for the miserable surrounding and the awful food. Nothing would persuade me to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EdinburghSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for your frank review, very sorry you had such a terrible experience. The furniture is to be replaced shortly, you are right about that. The condiments are out because customers require them to be available all day? Tea usually consists of tea bags in a pot? The scones are absolutely home made, we have never bought a commercial scone. The cream and jam pots are high quality and provided as a one time use to maintain good food hygeine.
Again we apologise for your experience but do find it curious that one day we are picturesque and the next only fit for the scrapyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
384 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
632 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
18 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
8.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck Hall Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck Hall Malham

Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Price Range: £73 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beck Hall Malham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over an ancient clapper bridge in the Yorkshire Dales village of Malham lies the magical Beck Hall Hotel, Deli & Bistro. Surrounded by rolling hills and the most magnificent limestone landscapes, our little hotel provides an enchanting escape from everyday life. After a day of exploring, unwind in one of our 18 whimsical en-suite rooms, while away a summer evening at The Secret Garden or spend a winter's night by a roaring fire in the Snug. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beck Hall Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck Hall Malham Hotel Malham
Beck Hall Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing