We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beck Hall Malham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beck Hall Malham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. We were made very welcome by the friendly staff who were always helpful. The breakfast menu was vared, the food plentiful and well cooked. The location is superb and I loved walking over the bridge daily and hearing the running water at night

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
It is very nice to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us, we always attempt to make our guests welcome and do what we can to help them enjoy their stay with us. It is especially pleasing that you found all aspects of your stay to your liking, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    225
    47
    24
    11
See reviews for
113
573
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

To access Beck Hall, one must cross a stone footbridge over Malham Beck. Although care was required, I liked this as it made my feel as though I was escaping. The sound of running water whilst lying in bed and eating breakfast I found very soothing. The house had plenty of old charm but still warm and cosy. A laptop is available in the lounge for guests' use.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you. We are fortunate to be in a lovely location,and appreciate your comments regarding your stay, the fact you found it relaxing and enjoyed it is nice to hear..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Called in here for a cream tea, a coffee and a teacake before a walk to Malham Tarn. Scones were bought in, dry and horrible. The cream was UHT clotted cream in a small jam jar pot. Absolutely disgusting. Smelt and tasted foul. Inedible. It's not hard to makes scones. It's not hard to buy and serve fresh clotted cream. Come on ....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thanks for your review, sorry you found the Scone and Cream so terrible, I wish you had said something when you were here and we could have done something about it. I don't understand how the odd customer seems to think the scones are bought in, they are absolutely not and made here!, anyway thanks again for your feedback we will be keeping a close eye on the quality of the scones as well as the rest of the offering going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wark, Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Beck Hall. It is in a beautiful setting, the room was clean and quiet, the staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was fantastic. The only reason I haven't given 5 full stars is because there was no dressing table in the bedroom even though there was plenty of space for one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Hi, yes we made a note of the abscence of a dressing table as you mentioned it when checking out, a good point. Thanks for your positive comments and feedback, glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. We would be glad to see you again should you return to Malham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Choose Beck Hall for the start of our second week on the Pennine Way because of it's setting by the brook. I had spotted it the previous year at the end of our first weeks walk. It didn't disappoint. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival with tea in the lounge and staff explained everything straight away. I liked the booking time for breakfast. Very handy when you are eager to start your walk in the morning. Price and rooms very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woody131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thanks, we are very fortunate in our location and setting, we are pleased your stay was enjoyable and you appreciated the breakfast arrangements. Thanks for staying with us we would be pleased to see you again should you return to Malham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Fantastic setting on the river bank. Staff Really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was superb. We had asked for a nice room when we booked 3 months ago ( wives birthday ) but when we arrived we were given a very small room and unable to change. However they admitted their mistake and offered a good discount to compensate.

Room Tip: Make sure a large room is requested as the small room we had was very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you eventually enjoyed your stay given it didn't start in an ideal way, we were sorry that we did not pick up sufficiently on your request for the best possible room, but are glad that you appreciate the free night we gave you as recompense.

Sorry you feel the room you stayed in was 'very poor'? and the stay represented poor value, given you ended up paying £100 less than the original bill.

Finally, we also made a further error in your revised bill, the balance on the bill was £210, we had mistakenly written down £190 on the note left for you, you were quick to point this error out , but did not approach it in the same way as the other and put things right?

All in all we were glad to be able to retrieve the situation generally for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Had afternoon tea twice this week, once on a Saturday (heaving) and once on a Wednesday (quiet). The service is excellent and the young stafff made every effort to make sure you were OK.
Not been here since 1970, and nothing has changed much, apart from the additional buildings!
On a bad note, the toilets need re-furbishing, well re-building really!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks for coming to our Tea Shop (twice) pleased to hear we looked after you quiet or busy, and you enjoyed it. YES the toilet block is firmly on the radar and due to be modernised soon.
Thnaks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
8.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck Hall Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck Hall Malham

Property: Beck Hall Malham
Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beck Hall Malham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over an ancient clapper bridge in the Yorkshire Dales village of Malham lies the magical Beck Hall Hotel, Deli & Bistro. Surrounded by rolling hills and the most magnificent limestone landscapes, our little hotel provides an enchanting escape from everyday life. After a day of exploring, unwind in one of our 18 whimsical en-suite rooms, while away a summer evening at The Secret Garden or spend a winter's night by a roaring fire in the Snug. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beck Hall Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck Hall Malham Hotel Malham
Beck Hall Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing