We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Beck Hall Malham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beck Hall Malham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Excellent place to stay if you plan to do the Malham Cove walks, the place is right on the most popular path. Free parking which is situated just a bit further on past the B&B. The landlord was kind also to let us use the parking facility while we were doing our walk as we only stayed there a night and was accommodating aswell when I arrived late in the night around 10pm I think although i did give plenty of warning. She even made lunch for our walk the next day which was of course extra money but we did the walk in just over 3 hours leisurely walking. Ended up we didn't really need to place the lunch order just some water would've done fine. There was WiFi strongest signal was at the sitting room I think. Can't remember if the signal was ok in our room, I think it was. I wouldn't recommend travelling there anywhere at night time as the roads aren't the best.
But I would definately visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks for your review, we are very fortunate in our location and appreciate this, we are though also pleased that you found your stay enjoyable and were ableto realx as well as take in the surrounding countryside. We would love to see you ahain should you return to Malham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    228
    47
    24
    11
See reviews for
116
582
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Look it's a guest house, it does what it says on the tin! It ain't the Hilton it's better in many ways, everyone has time for you, rooms excellent for what they are. Stayed at 4* Marriott the night before, beck hall beds, showers, breakfast better, well done all at beck hall, will see you soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer part it was great, hav'nt tried the rest yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatcap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thanks for your review, so glad you found your stay with us so satisfactory, It is especially nice that you point out the main aspects, bed, shower and breakfasts. We look forward to meeting you again whe you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a comfortable small hotel that is quite accustomed to walkers. I stopped here while doing the Pennine Way.

My room was small, but quite comfortable. Malham Beck is just behind the hotel and was right outside my window. I was quite satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmcityjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you, we are geared up for guests who are here walking etc. we are very pleased you had a satisfactory stay and you found our offering to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Myself and a companion called at Beck Hall for a late afternoon tea. We were tempted by the cream tea which came with one scone a small jam of jam and a jar of clotted cream. The cream tea was reasonable - I'm not sure about the clotted cream in jar although it's understandable given the storage problems of the traditional stuff. Overall the cream tea was fine and was elevated to outstanding given the location of our table at the side of the river. It's difficult to find a better spot to enjoy a cream tea than this!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris4robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you felt the Cream Tea was ok and you were able to relax by the Beck. It is a real bonus I think for visitors to Malham to be in a tranquil setting away from the mad world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

There were a couple of good things about this hotel, the bed was comfortable, excellent shower and the morning breakfast was good. On the down side, they didnt think about the decor of the room. We had a gorgeous 4 poster in a tiny room with bare walls. There were cobwebs, dust, dead spiders and flies in our room, obviously it had not been cleaned for some time! Location was a bit odd as you have to go over a tiny footbridge to get to the hotel, you could easily fall into the river and cant park nearby to haul luggage, it was a bit awkward when we arrived and it was raining. Sorry, but it was definately a major let down and will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for leaving your comments about your recent stay, good and bad is not good overall and we take on your comment about the cleanliness, we accept that we may have justification for things not being to individual tastes, but not for poor cleanliness, apologies for that. We do offer assistance to anyone and would urge guests to be comfortable in asking for our help. Sorry iit was raining. We will however take comfort from the fact that the main aspects of our offering were the good bits, the bed, the breakfast and the shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. We were made very welcome by the friendly staff who were always helpful. The breakfast menu was vared, the food plentiful and well cooked. The location is superb and I loved walking over the bridge daily and hearing the running water at night

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
It is very nice to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us, we always attempt to make our guests welcome and do what we can to help them enjoy their stay with us. It is especially pleasing that you found all aspects of your stay to your liking, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

To access Beck Hall, one must cross a stone footbridge over Malham Beck. Although care was required, I liked this as it made my feel as though I was escaping. The sound of running water whilst lying in bed and eating breakfast I found very soothing. The house had plenty of old charm but still warm and cosy. A laptop is available in the lounge for guests' use.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you. We are fortunate to be in a lovely location,and appreciate your comments regarding your stay, the fact you found it relaxing and enjoyed it is nice to hear..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
8.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck Hall Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck Hall Malham

Property: Beck Hall Malham
Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beck Hall Malham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over an ancient clapper bridge in the Yorkshire Dales village of Malham lies the magical Beck Hall Hotel, Deli & Bistro. Surrounded by rolling hills and the most magnificent limestone landscapes, our little hotel provides an enchanting escape from everyday life. After a day of exploring, unwind in one of our 18 whimsical en-suite rooms, while away a summer evening at The Secret Garden or spend a winter's night by a roaring fire in the Snug. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beck Hall Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck Hall Malham Hotel Malham
Beck Hall Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing