We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restful night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beck Hall Malham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beck Hall Malham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely restful night”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent a lovely night at beck hall on Sunday. We stayed in room 14 and the bed was huge and cosy. The shower was powerful and hot. Breakfast was nice and service throughout was pleasant and helpful. We arrived in the dark and finding the car park and then getting to the hall itself was pretty hair raising. City dwellers are not used to no lights on streets! And it wasn't til later that we read the reviews which mentioned using a torch. Next time. Had a lovely walk to the cove and Janet's foss.

Room Tip: 14suited us perfectly -there were four posters but not our cup of tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasowski123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thanks for giving us your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the scenery of the area and your stay with us, also that your room was to your liking, we would love to see you again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    225
    47
    24
    11
See reviews for
113
572
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had 3 nights here recently. Odd parking arrangement & access via small un lit stone bridge not that good for 5pm arrival in November. Friendly welcome, lovely log fire in guest lounge. Room 14 ok nice super king bed but no furniture! No desk, table, chest of drawers....just a old hard wooden chair. en-suite again ok...no hooks but nice shower. Wi-fi access in room excellent but in lounge (with the comfortable chairs & log fire) wi-fi access poor to say the least. Not really sure who the owners were as we saw 5 different people...all friendly but never introduced themselves. Breakfast good....but why do scrambled eggs in the mircowave when it's pre booked breakfast times? Full cooked includes fab local sausages & bacon. Think there is potential to do so much more here in a fab setting. Oh yes pack a torch for the walk to the pub...torch app on the ipad was required.... ,

Room Tip: Sounds like the rooms are very mixed in what they offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thanks for your comments about your recent stay, we will take the points you raise and look at them all with others to improve where we can. we are pleased you found your stay lovely. Partially in our defence, we can have up to 40 guests for breakfast and the restrictions of an old protected building mean the operation can only work certain ways. As the building is very old in parts with really thick walls etc, the Wi Fi is diificult in the lounge area, also regarding parking and lighting we are in a National Park and the options to alter things are balanced with maintaining the natural beauty of the area thank goodness. Overall we are glad your stay was ok and as mentioned we will consoder your points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Recently spent a couple of nights at Beck Hall and would highly recommend it. Lovely room with a four poster bed and all the amenities needed. The staff were excellent a really cheerful group and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent and set you up for the day ahead and the 2 village pubs did a good selection of evening meals. The bonus was coming back in the evening to a roaring coal fire and a couple of drinks from the "honesty bar". The only down side was the weather as it rained the whole 2 days we were there but that couldn't be helped. Would definitely go back again probably in the Spring and hope for better weather. Word of advice take a torch as the road to the village does not have street lighting and is very dark!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thanks for your comments, we enjoyed meeting you and are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Good tip regarding the torch, we are in the Dales National Park so street lighting is sparse. We would love to see you again in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely couple of nights here this week very comfortable bed extremely helpful host and beautiful location,just a short walk into the village with 2 nice pubs for evening meals, the breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice, it was just a shame that our first day was a bit rainy ! But that can't be helped it is November !!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Venny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thanks for your review, got all excited for a minute, thought it said beautiful host! we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and as with lots of our guests were able to relax and unwind. we would love to see you again if you ever return to Malham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nr scarborough
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed two nights bed and breakfast, took our 6month old border terrier for her 1st holiday, welcomed us all, nothing too much trouble, room warm clean and very comfortable, breakfast excellent, will definitely return

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiehiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thanks, to know we are getting the room, bed and breakfast bit right is relly good, and if we are making you feel welcome then that is a real bonus for us. We would be delighted to see you again when you come back to Malham. Thanks again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed at Beck Hall twice and totally enjoyed the experience in this beautiful location. The first time in 2008 Beck Hall also catered for Evening meals, which were delicious. When we returned there was only the B&B option, which was a little disappointing. There are other eateries in the village however.
There is a lounge for guests, with a roaring fire, and a mini bar, where guests are trusted to pay the correct money for their drinks.
When we stayed at Beck Hall for Valentines Day, the lady of the house placed heart shaped chocolates on the pillows of our four poster bed, a lovely thought.
Malham is a total delight, and if you have not experienced walking on the limestone pavement, you need to!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roswitha07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
How wonderful that you feel a visit anytime is enjoyable, we are glad we were able to make our weekend away that much more pleasant, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here with our two spaniels and our daughter and her fiancée joined us from their home in Glasgow. Our room was far more pet friendly than others places we have stayed and it was blissful to sleep with the sound of the beck rushing by.
Brilliant idea to allow guests to take their dogs into breakfast, in a separate room from other guests without dogs. Breakfast was good but would have been perfect with a bit of black pudding.
The staff were lovely even when dim husband walked in with filthy boots. Beds were really comfy, showers were good. It's not plush but you don't really want that on a walking holiday.
Location is fantastic, great walks nearby especially Malham cove. The stepping stones above the cove are great fun and a thrill for Harry Potter fans (google HP and Malham Cove). Lovely dog friendly pub around the corner for dinner. Want to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The area is very picuresque and there are many walks to suit all tastes on our doorstep. we would love to see you again when you return to Malham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
8.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
560 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
381 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck Hall Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck Hall Malham

Property: Beck Hall Malham
Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beck Hall Malham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over an ancient clapper bridge in the Yorkshire Dales village of Malham lies the magical Beck Hall Hotel, Deli & Bistro. Surrounded by rolling hills and the most magnificent limestone landscapes, our little hotel provides an enchanting escape from everyday life. After a day of exploring, unwind in one of our 18 whimsical en-suite rooms, while away a summer evening at The Secret Garden or spend a winter's night by a roaring fire in the Snug. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beck Hall Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck Hall Malham Hotel Malham
Beck Hall Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing