We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two plus dog”
Review of Beck Hall Malham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beck Hall Malham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A three for the price of two stay. Excellent dog friendly b& b. Warm and cosy. Compact and bijou. Malham has a couple of places to eat in the evening - The Buck Inn and the lister Arms. Both dog friendly and with a good selection of food and beers. Beck Hall has an honesty system for drinks in the evening so you can have a relaxing drink with others in their cosy open fired lounge. Breakfast is locally sourced sausage and bacon in their substantial full English. Sets you up nicely for a days walking in the dales. The proprietors are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at Beck Hall recently and enjoyed the time we had there. The setting for the house is wonderful and as you cross the bridge over the babbling beck it feels as though you are leaving the world behind.Beck Hall is very welcoming, warm and friendly. Warm fires in the lounge, excellent breakfasts, comfy rooms and staff who constantly give off an air of nothing being too much trouble.
Positioned where it is, it is a perfect base for exploring the Dales. Malham Cove and the Limestone Pavement, Gordale Scar and the Tarn are literally a few minutes walk away from the front door. Once you get in the car there is so much to explore within a few miles - Settle, Hawes, the Ribblehead Viaduct, the Three Peaks, Aysgarth, Hardraw and so much more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danrSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just returned from a fabulous stay at Beck Hall and we really cannot fault this charming Bed and Breakfast in the heart of The Dales. From the speedy response to e.mails through to the exceptional 'Full English' breakfast the service was first class throughout. The staff are, without exception, friendly, polite and attentive, giving the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. (We didn't test this theory, as everything we needed was already in place.)
Beck Hall itself is a beautiful, old building, with quirky staircases and wonky floors, and the cosiest lounge area with a roaring fire; bliss after a hard day on the hills. Drinks are available from the honesty bar, at reasonable prices, as are chocolate snacks...which pleased our children no end!
The room we stayed in was a pet friendly, family room, which comfortably accommodated 4 of us and Oscar, the Sprocker. The four poster bed was extremely comfortable, and the children, aged 12 and 15, found their single beds to be equally comfy. Oscar was very happy in the chair...with his holiday blanket, obviously. Tea making facilities, with biscuits, were very welcome, as was the external door just outside our room, which made for much less hassle when removing muddy boots and transporting muddy hound to bath.
Breakfast was plentiful, with cereals, fruit, yoghurt, fruit juices, etc. and a choice of good quality cooked food. Very tasty indeed.
This was, for us, the perfect location for a short break walking in the Dales, and we can't wait to return when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernscara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Wonderful place in a wonderful setting! Room was absolutely Amazing & staff could not be warmer or more helpful! Weather was "inclement!" to say the least but had a Fantastic stay despite it! Can't wait to come back in hopefully better weather! Thank you!

Room Tip: ours overlooked the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at beckhall a number of times now and it never fails to impress. Perfect location with lots of walks nearby, friendly staff who will do anything to help. Rooms are great and I'd recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Wonderful place in a beautiful location, quite breath-taking. Ideal base for walking, cycling and general tourist activities. It does look a little tires in places on the outside but once you cross the beck and walk in through the front door you forget all that. Our room was compact and bijoux but comfy, warm and clean. Alice has added her touches in this olde world building, breakfast was amazing but we could only manage 2 full English! The last was Smoked Salmon! Friendly polite staff and extremely good value for money. Our only complaint is that we would have preferred mugs for our tea in the rooms instead of cups, for a good Yorkshire brew! I have fallen in love with the landscape and can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACDS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My boyfriend decided to treat me to a night away for valentines and we came to beck hall in malham. I had a wonderful time! The staff were very accommodating with chocolates on the pillows, towels shaped like swans in a heart shape and rose petals on the bed! The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. We had a 4 poster bed which was superb. The surrounding area was scenic, peaceful with a beautiful river running through. Only 2 pubs made this an idyllic getaway for us. Breakfast was superb. Great service and great choice. We has a fabulous time. Excellent. Thankyou

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahislabridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
12.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
422 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
357 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck Hall Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck Hall Malham

Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beck Hall Malham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over an ancient clapper bridge in the Yorkshire Dales village of Malham lies the magical Beck Hall Hotel, Deli & Bistro. Surrounded by rolling hills and the most magnificent limestone landscapes, our little hotel provides an enchanting escape from everyday life. After a day of exploring, unwind in one of our 18 whimsical en-suite rooms, while away a summer evening at The Secret Garden or spend a winter's night by a roaring fire in the Snug. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beck Hall Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck Hall Malham Hotel Malham
Beck Hall Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing