We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights away”
Review of Beck Hall Malham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beck Hall Malham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Beck hall is situated in pretty and quiet village of Malham. Parking is easy and the short walk back over a small bridge is easy and adds a touch of romance to your arrival. We were met by Alice who was very welcoming and shown to our room. We had the Lower Riverside as the name indicates it is on the ground floor overlooking the river. The room was clean and had everything we wanted, the on suite was a shower, toilet and sink all very clean, the water pressure from the shower was outstanding. The lounge was warm with a cosy real fire comfortable seating and a well stocked honesty bar, which we did not try but noticed the prices were reasonable. If you do visit and have the full English breakfast please leave room as it is of very good proportions. The sausage and bacon are fantastic proper thick cut bacon and a wonderfully seasoned sausage along with the rest of the breakfast which was cooked to perfection. From Beck Hall there are a lot of different walks to be had from the door step so no having to use the car. Lovely walks for all abilities and what a lovely way to walk of breakfast and make room for an evening meal. We ate at the Lister Arms in the village which is 4 mins fron Beck Hall. They allow dogs are very helpful and friendly. We recommend you to go to try here for fantastic local food. They not only offer local top quality food but manage to give you large portions, we both tried the fisher mans platter which was outstanding. Along with 6 real ales to choose from we were very happy. If we had to be picky about Beck Hall and our room is that to get from the lounge/ dining room you have to go outside, this did not bother us as it was dry and we took the opportunity to take in the view of the garden and river, and even if it had been raining putting on a coat is such a small price to pay for such a lovely, quiet welcoming retreat as this. My wife, my self and Charlie (the dog ) would recommend you to go enjoy and recharge your batteries.

Room Tip: Looking for the room to suit you, you can look on there web page and it shows you the rooms, or do w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Beck Hall, Malham. Breakfast was delicious, the room was lovely and the bed was oh so comfy. Two local pubs, within walking distance both serving excellent food which was reasonably priced. Beck Hall is situated next to a lovely little stream and you need to cross a bridge to get too it - would advise anyone if they are returning late to Beck Hall to have a small torch as it can be quite dark. Would stay again and would recommend Beck Hall to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

lovely relaxing short break excellent location lovely oldey worldy main part of b&b where you could have drinks and snacks staff extreamly helpful and great location for walks and pubs that do excellent food

Room Tip: we stayed in the annex it was very quiet and comfatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jane474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay at this beautiful b&b. Really enjoyed our time here but it wasn't long enough. Our room was very modern very clean and had a lovely nights sleep, awesome shower.
The open fire in the living room was a lovely place to just relax after a good days walking. Ideally situated just a few hundred yards from the village. The breakfast was excellent and didn't have to wait long ,we had the full English, one of the nicest I've had. Even though the weather wasn't very good it didn't put us off and we are planning to return in the summer.
Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieF21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Beck Hall. We loved the fact that we could go into the communal living room / hall and have a drink in front of a real fire, very relaxing after a good walk,the 2 pubs in the village were a very short walk and we had some nice meals in both

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malhamtyke, Owner at Beck Hall Malham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and felt relaxed in our lounge. After all that is why most people come away...to relax.

We look forward towelcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Malhamtyke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My partner and I spent 4 lovely days here and would definitely return. The bedroom was stylish and comfortable with an excellent shower. The staff were welcoming and the full English and smoked haddock breakfast options were both filling and tasty. Beck Hall is a couple of minutes walk away from the village centre separated from the road by a small stream. This gives it a lovely secluded feel but means its not really suitable for elderly or disabled visitors.

Malham is a great place to explore the dales by foot with Malham Cove and Gordale Scar both within easy strolling distance so the village could be a good base to show less able relatives the beauty of the dales. Scaleber force is also readily accessible from the road side (with just 1 stile to cross). We visited out of season but the Pubs and café were all open, as was the small walking shop behind the buck inn which does maps and guidebooks. The Parish council publishes a free walks leaflet showing 5 lovely routes which we used for 2 days worth of walking - although we'd recommend using this alongside an OS map. The downside is that the food is a little pricier than elsewhere in the dales. We ate at the Buck Inn which was competent but not exceptional. On our final night we had exceptionally good fish and chips at the Victoria Inn in nearby Kirkby Malham which was better value and had a really homely atmosphere

Room Tip: We stayed in Aire, which has a lovely king size four-poster bed and is on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael_SA6150AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, found it relaxing and enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep over the two night stay, the stream and footbridge gave the Hotel a peaceful ambience, The breakfast was enjoyable and we would go again if we were to visit the Area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
12.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
422 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
357 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck Hall Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck Hall Malham

Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malham
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beck Hall Malham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over an ancient clapper bridge in the Yorkshire Dales village of Malham lies the magical Beck Hall Hotel, Deli & Bistro. Surrounded by rolling hills and the most magnificent limestone landscapes, our little hotel provides an enchanting escape from everyday life. After a day of exploring, unwind in one of our 18 whimsical en-suite rooms, while away a summer evening at The Secret Garden or spend a winter's night by a roaring fire in the Snug. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beck Hall Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck Hall Malham Hotel Malham
Beck Hall Malham Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing