We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
32
26
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
26
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hf holidays walking holiday country house other guests hf walking hotel break these comments yorkshire dales lovely building short break friendly atmosphere excellent food beautiful surroundings biscuits leader walks isolated
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked at the last minute on a bed and breakfast basis.
Hotel was warm and inviting.
Staff were both friendly and professional.
The breakfast was quality.
A great centre for walking tours around the district. - Malham Cove as an example.
However, we used it as a base to visit Malham, Skipton, Settle and Harrogate.
Tip :The swimming pool is a massive bonus for the hotel.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view over the Dales. (Room 46)
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was a lucky find for a budget price as they had just opened up after the winter break. Apparently the HF group do walking and outdoor tours and normally there are large groups, but other than me, there was one other couple staying on this night. It was going dark when I arrived at about 6pm and I could just about make out the stately home at the end of a long, sweeping driveway. There are a lot of original features in the hotel, but it has been modernised enough to make it comfortable and welcoming. The tiled entrance hall is still a period piece and gives a feeling a grandeur, and the main lobby and reception area with its huge fireplace and portraits was a lovely welcome from the cold.

The bar area was also the dining room for the night as I was the only one eating that evening. Despite this, the staff in the kitchen pulled out all the stops, with a lovely spicy vegetable soup and loads of fresh bread to start, A tender lamb shank with loads of mash, fresh carrots and broccoli and rich gravy was an extremely filling main, then the cheese board for dessert with a large selection of local cheeses was almost too much for one person, but a welcome sight after over 90 miles of cycling.

There was a boot room to store my bike in, I was helped to the room with my baggage, and the room itself was roomy, clean and had all the essentials, with everything working. I liked having a duvet rather than sheets as it's just more convenient and better to sleep with. the window opened and heating worked well and the view from my room of the North Yorkshire dales was amazing! Each corridor had a basket with extra tea and coffee sachets on it in case you ran out, which was a nice touch.

In terms of proximity to walking and sightseeing locations, this is ideal, by bike, it was a couple of hours from Pateley Bridge, the next major town was Skipton, which I was reliably informed by the friendly assistant manager was about £25 to get to in a taxi for a night out, but if you would rather stay in the hotel after a day of sightseeing at Malham Cove, walking at Ingleborough or seeing limestone caves, then conversation and the atmosphere in the bar area was welcoming and friendly, though not intrusive. A good range of Whisky was on offer, and there were a range of beers on tap as well as well stocked fridges. A swimming pool is also a relaxing and pleasant added extra, and while it was not particularly large or deep, provided a nice way to relax and stretch the muscles in.

breakfast the next morning was also substantial. I particularly liked the salmon and poached egg on muffins with melted cheese over the top. There was also a more traditional English breakfast and a lovely fresh buffet and regular toast top ups, so all in all, a lovely relaxed departure in the morning. Well worth a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southportscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We have stayed at several HF hotels with our rambling club in recent years and Newfield Hall is the best. We stayed there in October and found the hotel warm, comfortable in a great setting. The food was first rate and the service really good.

Our room in the east wing was nice with super views to the south - rooms facing north are not so good. The hotel is a little isolated, but a bus stops at the bottom of the drive.

All in all hard to beat for a walking or touring break.

Room Tip: Try and get a south facing room, some of the courtyard rooms do not have views, but are still well worth considering.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamishX9876Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Me and my friend stayed there just for 3 nights, and had a wonderfull time! Food was really nice, will fit all tastes. Staff was so helpfull, with directions, transportation, always smiling and polite. The views are just breathtaking, and i can not remember when i slept better!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanaaleknaviciute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I was here on a walking short break. The hotel was of unexpectedly good quality. Fabulous rural setting. Impressive public lounges, lovely open fires. Dining room with superb view. My bedroom was very pleasant with a small shower room and I slept well. Staff all pleasant and helpful. Food was good although I found the sauces rather over-salty. Expect to find groups of walkers!

Room Tip: Select one not above swimming pool!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews