We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DJF100
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hayloft. The property is tastefully furnished to a high standard and is very well equipped. There is a large lounge incorporating a small, modern kitchen area and a large bedroom with en-suite bathroom. Huge, very comfortable bed and large built-in wardrobes. The push button bath/ shower was very impressive. There was a starter pack provided, comprising of tea, coffee, sugar, hot choc and milk plus biscuits, as there are no shops in Malham - only two pubs and a café that we could see, plus a Tourist Information Centre, as Malham is well-known for it's walking trails. The property is located in a narrow, road (loose stones, some potholes, no tarmac) alongside a stream and has a clearly marked designated parking space directly outside the front door. There is a small 'boot room' across the road with garden table and chairs if required.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully furnished and very comfortable accomodation
Liked least: The road was not car-friendly and care had to be taken i.e. narrow, loose stones and some potholes.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
It is wonderful to hear that you had a lovely holiday at The Hayloft at Tennant Barn and had everything you needed to hand there, all to a high standard to boot! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owners and hope you return for another stay very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manofchee...
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“May break”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A lovely well equipped cottage in the heart of Malham. Ideal base for local walks or exploring the Dales. Well equipped for self catering and well situated for those preferring the laziness of being catered for by others, with two pubs just 2 minutes walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weekender...
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect base”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from Malham, staying for a week at The Hayloft. The property is beautifully decorated, and very well equipped. After an initial query about the heating Christine and Norman sorted this out very quickly for us and we were very cosy and warm there, to the point that the radiators had to be turned off!

The bed was super comfortable and as a result we want to get the same mattress at home. There is plenty of storage space in the bedroom, and it was lovely having the benefit of a soak in the bath at the end of our walking days.

I suspect that the views from The Hayloft are nicer than the Threshing Floor property below, looking out from the bedroom you overlook the hillside and a lovely garden.

We had lovely meals at the Lister Arms and Beck Hall Bistro, plus a super takeaway from Bollywood Indian. Without doubt this is a fantastic village from which to explore the Yorkshire Dales. We were blessed with very good weather, which also brought the tourists to Malham. That did not detract from our stay, we just avoided the Malham Tarn/Cove walk until a weekday, when it was less busy.

We would not hesitate in recommending The Hayloft to all who want a great base with walks on your doorstep and excellent places to eat within walking distance.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuemalcCh...
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“'i have already recommended this beautiful cottage to many friends'”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

There is nothing you can fault about this accommodation.
The property is on the upper floor, with an open plan lounge , dining , kitchen, plenty of room but still remaining cosy and warm.
The 6 foot sledge bed is the icing on the cake, with lovely crisp clean linen sheets and is extremely comfortable.
The area of Malham is a great place to explore, with many great walks with lovely scenery.
In the village of Malham you have 2 very good Pubs serving lovely food only 2 mins walk from the cottage, much to my husbands delight ( real Ale country).
Also a very good cafe across the road for breakfast and light lunches.
Having sad that the kitchen is very well equipped, with full cooker, microwave, slow cooker, fridge freezer and even a dish washer.
As this is a relatively newly fitted out property all the fixtures and furniture are in pristine condition, i am sure that Christine will keep it this way, her standards are very high.
We have already booked again for August.
Many thank Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The superking size Bed
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaHar...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow what a fantastic apartment, right in the heart of the village. Tastefully decorated to a high standard with luxury fittings throughout. Fully equipped kitchen, bathroom fitted with both bath and shower. Spotlessly clean, stunning views of the countryside, we were warm and cosy throughout our stay. A walkers paradise, Malhams Cove, Janet's Foss and Malham Tarn are all within easy walking distance. Skipton, Settle, Giggleswick are within easy reach by car as are many other pretty villages and small towns. Two pubs one minute walk away. Friendly hosts who made us feel very welcome.

Ronnie and Pauline, Sunderland

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thanks so much for your kind review, we are glad you had a lovely time and enjoyed The Hayloft at Tennant Barn. The property is in a fantastic location to take advantage of some fantastic walks, which it looks like you have. We hope you book again with us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val P
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful property - great location”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This property has a wonderful feel to it - cosy yet contemporary with every attention to detail given. Luxurious big white towels! The bed is a wonderfully comfy super king size - hard to drag yourself out of it but worth it as you are in the lovely village of Malham with two good pubs serving pub food and access to a range of popular dales walks. There is safe parking outside of the property which is off the road. Loved sitting in the window seat in the bedroom looking out at the view. nice big TV to keep the other half happy!! The owner was also exceptionally helpful during our conversations before our stay pointing out that there is no shop in the village so make sure you arrive with what you need food wise. We will be returning 100%

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
We're really pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and could experience all that Malham has to offer. Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scaleybra...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation in Malham”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was our first stay in the Yorkshire Dales, normally choosing to stay in the Lake District which meets our need for varied hill walks, mountain bike routes and nice places to eat and drink.
We arrived on a damp Friday night driving over the narrow roads from Settle wondering what, if anything, would greet us at Malham. We need not have worried, walking into The Hayloft we found a great little place that is more than adequate for our needs. The flat had been set up for our arrival with some lighting and the heating on. A small staircase leads upstairs to a lounge/kitchen with all the facilities you need. In the bedroom there is great storage for all your clothes and an en-suite which includes a bath to soak those weary muscles after walking in the fantastic Malhamdale scenery.
We found the flat very warm, to the extent that we turned most of the radiators off. The wi-fi was a great bonus as mobile coverage in Malham is patchy to say the least. My wife's T-mobile/Orange phone managed to get a signal but Vodafone provide no service to the village.
Although Malham is a little remote, the facilities in the flat, combined with the village pubs and cafe, make this an excellent place to stay. We have no regrets giving the Lakes a miss and spending time in the Dales instead. We also think your money goes further here with a much friendlier welcome from the staff at various businesses we visited.
This flat comes highly recommended and we hope to return again to the charms of Malham in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the flat
Liked least: Lack of village shop
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing