We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our small heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

For the third time we spent a week at this fantastic hotel. We arrived from a rather long journey by car from Germany and the weather had been awful almost all the way. However, the moment you stepped into this hotel you felt at home and we were so well received and taken care of. We stay in one of the suites leading into the new SPA. They are big and very tastefully decorated. We really feel comfortable here. We had been warned in advance by the hotel about a wedding taken place which could cause some noise, but it was no problem. We rather enjoy to see these wedding events and we really understand that people want to stay in this romantic hotel for their wedding reception/party. It is a very well maintained and beautiful property, the swimmingpool is nice, the SPA is really good and you get really value for money in the restaurant. But what makes us coming back is the staff. Especially Madelena serving the breakfast is a gem. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aachmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Answer, Direttore at Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Aachmann,
It is always a pleasure to welcome you at Relais Sant’Uffizio as affectionate Our guests and it is our great privilege to be able to make you feel at home.
I thank you on behalf of all the staff, who work every day with passion, enthusiasm and professionalism just to make every stay memorable.
We hope to see you soon, maybe with the autumn and the truffle!
Have a good day
Best Regards

Monica Spriano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for a wedding recently - first few nights in attic rooms of the old monastery and then a few nights in a Junior Suite. The place is lovely, location is great, the spa is one of the best I have been to (ensure to get the mint and lemon rain showers in the sauna area!).Very relaxing place for a nice getaway! The only downside was some of the service in the restaurant could have been better but front of house and GM were fantastic. Only other downside is the mosquitos that attack the guests every night!! Bring repellent and hydrocortisone cream!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Answer, Direttore at Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Rob M,

Relais Sant’Uffizio thanks you for your kind comments. We always work on growing services and quality to give our guest the best experience ever.
With reference to the mosquitos we treat regularly all gardens and the big park and we are trying to do everything against this “natural problem”.
We hope to accommodate you again in the future to give you new relaxing experiences.

Monica Spriano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very beautiful hotel and spa. We stayed two nights for a wedding, the hotel is beautiful the most beautiful hotel I have stayed at in Italy.
We had a room overlooking the pool and the grapevines and it was beautiful. I highly recommend going for a walk around the area of the hotel it offers spectacular views. I am not sure how you would get to this hotel without a car.
We enjoyed a lovely meal in the town close by called Mont Calvo. The restaurant in the hotel looks lovely and very expensive. However going by the lovely breakfast offered in the morning and food at the wedding I am sure you would not be disappointed. Breakfast was complete with everything you could image a full Italian breakfast would look like. They even made lovely hot chocolate for children in the morning.
The pool is lovely to sit at even if the weather is not hot enough to swim in. However the hotel has a day spa with inside pool for guests to use complimentary as well as numerous saunas. I enjoyed a lovely treatment in the day spa. Well worth the money spent, prices are typical of any 5 star hotel spa.
I enjoyed all aspects of this property and look forward to an opportunity to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has views of the pool and hills. Very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team-Scatooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Answer, Direttore at Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We hope you could come again soon.
We really appreciate your comment and we thank you to spend time to let us know your feelings about Relais Sant’Uffizio.
We remain at your disposal and we wish you a nice day!

Monica Spriano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent long weekend in this hotel. Location is very nice, in the hills of Piemont, nearby small villages, so you definitely need to have a car or bicycle to move somewhere. We had luxury suite room, that was large, nice, with balcony and large bathroom - really nice. Hotel has a spa with small pool and whirlpools inside the pool, that was not very smart solution while you could neither swim neither relax in whirpool. On the top one massage whirpool bed ( from two) was not working. Really nice was finish sauna, with view towards garden! Lady at the spa reception was very kind. Breakfast is regular,but without vegetable, not at the level of four star hotel. Prices for the lunch and dinner are higher than the quality. Sleeping quality is very bad, I could not sleep both nights. In reality the overall rating is between 3 and 4.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Answer, Direttore at Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Alena,
thank you for taking some time to write a review and let us know what you liked and what enjoyed less. Our rooms and beds have always been appreciated for their comfort and silence. however, we are sorry you did not point this out during your stay: we would have been more than happy to help you out at that time. We kindly invite you to come back to visit us again: we will be glad to suggest you a tailored solution to make sure you enjoy your stay.
Best regards
Monica Spriano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very nice facilities & reasonable value. Dinner featuring white truffles was excellent, breakfast buffet very good. Not the best cappucino I've ever had and the service was a bit slow. Spa was very nice, all the temperatures a bit too low by my standards - be it the sauna or the turkish bath or the pool - they were all a bit cool. Overall feeling was that the property was 'unloved' - a bit of attention to detail would go a long way. And a hotel like this needs a gym!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are spacious but have 'handicap' seat in the shower and bathtub an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aveneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great hotel, really nice place to spend your holidays. One should certainly dine in the restaurant. We booked a suite and enjoyed both the room and the views outside.
Although staff is really friendly, service is not what one expects from a 4 star hotel. It was sometimes very hard to order drinks, either at the pool or in the lobby. After a couple of days, the 40ties background music playing during breakfast becomes annoying. The tennis court should be better maintained (and cleaned).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exaptar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this property over the weekend and found it amazing! The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable and the staff was very pleasant. I can't say enough about the restaurant on-site other than you MUST dine there at least once during your stay. Breakfast on the terrance is a great way to start your day.

Finally, you'll miss out if you don't spend at least 3 hours a day pool-side....enjoy!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor, overlooking the pool, have small balconies and are very nice to sit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeLoveToTravelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penango
1.7 mi away
Spinerola Charme & Relax
4.5 mi away
La Foresteria del Castello Wellness & Spa
22.5 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Lis
Hotel Lis
#1 of 18 in Asti
448 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rocca Civalieri
Rocca Civalieri
#1 of 1 in Quattordio
277 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA

Address: Strada Sant'Uffizio 1, 14030 Penango, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Penango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penango
Price Range: £88 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Sant’Uffizio – Wellness & SPA Hotel Piedmont ItalyA romantic oasis of peace and quiet, tucked away in the calmness of the Monferrato and Piedmont vineyardsIt is the ideal place to regenerate, discover the peace and quiet of nature and the scent of the vineyards, while tasting the dishes and wines that make this paradise on earth famous all over the world. The Relais Sant’Uffizio, Wellness Hotel & SPA, that dates back to the seventeenth century, has now regained its old glory thanks to a very careful renovation. The rooms and suites are big and have been renovated restoring the nineteenth century frescos, the Virgin Mary icons and the old chambers of the monks of the convent.Opended in 2012, the new SPA AQUANATURA, which is proportionally divided into the centre’s various zones:-Hydro Pool Zone with a water temperature of 34°; located under the majestic span of the central archway in painted chestnut.-Wet and hot area; made up of a Sauna with a view of the vineyards, Mediterranean Baths, Steam Room, Ice waterfall, and emotive showers with local scent essences.-Massage and Beauty area with four massage cubicles for massages and treatments taken care of by Comfort Zone.- The private Piedmont SPA, equipped with a double water-bed and double hydro-massageThe SPA of the Sant'Uffizio Relais rediscover the ancient traditions of the monks in the preparation of oils and creams that are made using herbs, flowers and natural spices according to the formulae and the methods of the monastic life of many centuries ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sant`Uffizio Hotel Penango
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA Penango, Italy - Province Of Asti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing