We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it, but didn't love it”
Review of Castello di Pavone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castello di Pavone
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pavone Canavese
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Liked it, but didn't love it”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Perhaps I had high expectations since I had previously stayed in an old Monastery in Orvieto with great service. Perhaps it was the hype leading up to the stay. But I found this "castle" just okay. We arrived and no one was there to take our bags - several flights of stairs and no good walkway. Oddly there was parking at reception but we were not allowed to drive there to at least save some energy for carrying 2 heavy suitcases and 3 bags. The room was also hot - I dared not open the little port window (don't stay in the tower). But while in the room if I wanted airflow I had to leave our door open. The best part about the hotel was dinner. This was my worst night sleep in Europe. The room was just too warm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    137
    33
    15
    4
See reviews for
84
383
3
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We wanted an experience in a mid evil castle and Castello Di Pavone fits the bill. The grounds were amazing on a picturesque hilltop. Other reviews discuss the stairs and it is certainly is the case you will be climbing many (not a problems for us). The food was excellent, both the breakfast and dinner. The hotel staff was nice, but really couldn't help with restaurants in the area or other activities. Pavone as a town is not that interesting with few options.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnL_INtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

From a distance the hotel looks idyllic, but on arrival the parking area is scrubby and the approach to the hotel with luggage, up numerous steps, is not for the elderly or disabled. After booking in we were shown to a room again up 50+ narrow stairs, not being in the first flush of youth in the heat this was difficult! If you over come the above be prepared for a noisy night. From June to September the hotel is heavily booked for weddings The night we stayed music and drums until 1am followed by moving of tables we assumed by staff until 2am, to prepare for the next days wedding does not assist a good nights sleep especially when you are travelling!I passed my comments to the receptionist on checking out, she did apologise.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms away from the weddings venue and not up 50 stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B9NAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Super Suite on June 17th. The room was easily big enough for my family of four. The room was beautiful along with the castle grounds. Unfortunately for us it was very hot that day over 90 F / 32 C. The air conditioner in the Super Suite never had a chance. The Super Suite is on the top floor which didn't help with the heat. The room was only cooled a little by the AC. The bed was confortable and the room was clean. My only other complaint was water condensation from the radiator pipes in the bathroom pooled on the floor.

The staff was nice and I would highly recommend any other season but summer. I would have chosen 3.5 or good if the rating was available.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Overall we had a fine experience at the castle, although rooms were not completely clean, electricity went off during dinner, and location is just so-so in Pavone. the addition of a swimming pool would make the hotel nicer for families. Otherwise, service was very friendly and the castle was a lot of fun!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Castello di Pavone is an exceptional property. The renovation/restoration of this historic site has been masterfully accomplished. At one and the same time guests have the opportunity to experience the ambience of a wonderful old castle from the Middle Ages but stay in accommodations and eat in a restaurant with all the best that contemporary life has to offer. The provision in atmospheric rooms of heat and power outlets and lighting and plumbing fixtures have been done with impressive quality and without compromising the integrity of the original structure.
Well done!
The restaurant food and service is excellent and fairly priced. We ate in the restaurant two nights and enjoyed immensely.
All staff are courteous and professional. Veronica, who appears to be in charge, is highly efficient in "taking care of business" and was most helpful with all of our travel inquiries.
If you are travelling Italy in this region, don't miss the opportunity to stay and eat at Castello di Pavone. This is probably our "best stay" in our years of travelling throughout Europe.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhalcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I went to visit the amazing eco-community named Damanhur, nestled in the valchiusella Valley of Piemonte, Italy. It was serendipity that I came across this stunning castle that is only 15 minutes' driving distance. I stayed there for several nights and was transported into another time, another life... Immerse in this medieval wonder and experience it for yourself! The services and professionalism were impeccable. Its 5-star restaurant offers sumptuous feasts for quite reasonable prices. This castello regularly offers theme packages to visitors... The night lighting of the castle is beyond descriptions!

While in the area, I highly recommend visiting Damanhur and its stunning underground Temples of Humankind!

Room Tip: Each room or suite is unique in its offering. Check out the various offers on their website or take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pavone Canavese
2.8 mi away
Villa Soleil
Villa Soleil
#1 of 1 in Colleretto Giacosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sina Villa Matilde
Sina Villa Matilde
#2 of 2 in Romano Canavese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ni Hotel La Villa
Ni Hotel La Villa
#1 of 3 in Ivrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banchette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa d'Azeglio
Villa d'Azeglio
#1 of 1 in Albiano d'Ivrea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Sirio
Hotel Sirio
#2 of 3 in Ivrea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Pavone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Pavone

Property: Castello di Pavone
Address: Via Ricetti 1, 10018 Pavone Canavese, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Pavone Canavese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pavone Canavese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Pavone 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castello di Pavone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Pavone Hotel Pavone Canavese
Castello Di Pavone Italy/Pavone Canavese, Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing