We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Auld Shop Cottage

Auld Shop Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Auld Shop Cottage
Auld Shop Cottage c1900 Auld Shop Cottage 2013
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Auld Shop Cottage
Auld Shop Cottage c1900
Auld Shop Cottage 2013
Auld Shop Cottage 2013
Auld Shop Cottage
Auld Shop Cottage
Welcome
View of the sea from the lounge window
Victorian Features
Victorian features
Bathroom
Dining kitchen
Dining Kitchen
Outside Auld Shop Cottage
Lounge & open fire
Lounge & open fire
Lounge
Bedroom
Courtyard garden
Portsoy
Portsoy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portsoy, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
618Isabel...
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have recently spent a delightful week in The Auld Shop Cottage. It is a delightful cottage in a lovely part of Portsoy with a view down to the sea. Immaculate pleasant decor throughout. A very thoughtful owner provides you with starter food pack and washing powder/ wash up liquid as well as linen and towels. Four of us were comfortably cosy for a memorable week's holiday and were truly sorry to leave at the end.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fresh decor
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I hope you choose to stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnC8525
Polmont, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect cottage in north of Scotland”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at the cottage over a weekend and found it to be immaculately clean and very well equipped. Our daughter is 20 months old and we were provided everything for our stay - highchair, stair=gate and cot.

Just wish we had a longer stay!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I would love to welcome you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnYvonn...
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a wonderful cottage, clean, central location and wonderful view. We visit every year for the Boat Festival and this year managed to rent this wonderful cottage which is located 2/3 minutes from the harbour. We had friends staying an overnight for the festival and found the cottage to have completely fulfilled our requirements for a lovely stay, so good we have already booked for next year.
Thanks to Judith we had provisions available to start us off which was a great thought.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am really looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June T
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Immaculate cottage in the heart of a beautiful, friendly village”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Auld Shop Cottage is a superb example of a "home from home" - well equipped, cosy, lovely hot water, plenty room, sea view and all within minutes of shops, loch or harbour. An excellent choice for a short stay or longer holiday. Plenty of local restaurants with tasty menus. We had a lovely holiday in this cottage and could highly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, fresh, comfortable feel of the property.
Liked least: Having to leave the cottage at the end of our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay D
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed cottage”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had a super weekend at this pristine cottage. Very comfortable stay. Breathed a huge sigh of relief to arrive on Friday night to find fresh milk, tea, coffee, locally baked biscuits and fresh bread in the kitchen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - very short walk to all amenities
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thank you very much. Hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing