We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights in sept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Station Hotel Portsoy
Ranked #2 of 7 Portsoy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

once again the station has found a wonderful new chef.The food has always been very good but this year it moved up a notch the presentation was superb.The hosts as always have the best staff who cant do enough to look after you.

Room Tip: room 7 at the side so away from bar area but all rooms spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

In the window of the restaurant they currently advertise a new chef. This new chef was quite the find! The dinner we enjoyed here was one of the best of our whole trip. Quite delightful, and the servers were excellent too. As was the hospitality of the owner, who greeted us personally and assisted with all of our questions. The rooms were clean and the plumbing updated. The only complaint would be the noise from the hallways as the doors are not quite up to the task. If not for that and the multi-story climb up and down tight stairs with luggage this would have been a five star experience. I would definitely go again, and would spend more time in the beautiful village as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Very friendly staff. Owners Euan and Susan very welcoming. Waiting staff very attentive even remembered us and asked for member of party not with us this year. Clean, comfortable (new bathroom) excellent food.

Room Tip: Family suite excellent. Rooms at top and back very quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank alexandra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

It was very wet on Friday (there's a surprise!) and instead of travelling around the area in the car, we elected to turn round and head back to Cullen and my friend's house where we were staying.
You may already know that there's a fine ice-cream parlour in Portsoy and a craft baker - but we were looking for a pub lunch and it was already 1.15pm. In Scotland that's quite late to go for a weekday lunch in a small village/town.
But we stopped at the entirely un-prepossessing Station Hotel. A small sign in the window said - 'We are delighted to welcome our new chef'.
So, we went in to have a look.

The place looked like every old Scottish hotel I've ever visited. A big bar, lots of brown wood and tartan everywhere.

'Are you still serving lunch?' We asked.
Showing us into an adjoining room (we'd entered via the bar) - the barman made us welcome and we found ourselves in what looked like a cross between a small restaurant and a Social Club Lounge. (It turns out there is a larger area with more tables also).
A truly delightful young waitress, came and chatted to us, took our drinks order and left the menu.

Wow
Wow!
Wow!!

We were leaving town the next day and even with our legendary appetites, there's no way we could try everything that appealed to us - from that menu.
We settled for 2 dishes and a lot of sharing.

The burger, we found out, is made by chef.
Not bought in, frozen and then cremated (H&S) before being served!
One of those please.

a PINT of whitebait with a dip. IRRESISTABLE.

Both came accompanied by a small salad and fantastique chips. Good colour and crisp on the outside while being soft on the inside.

Hubby gave the burger his highest accolade. 'Almost as good as yours dear'.

As for the whitebait. You could taste the fish and they were crispy as well as soft. Not blanketed in a batter at all. Rather there were little bits of crispy crunch sticking to the outside of the fish.

Presentation was simple and effective - a little bit quirky.
Portion size was H U G E.

We were looked after by a waitress whose name - I'm sorry to say - I forgot to ask. She'll probably be there when you visit. She's already been working there for 4 years even though she looks only about 16.
She was the ketchup on the chips! Fantastic.
We had 2 main courses and 2 soft drinks. Value for money? Absolutely!

We had a wonderful and totally unexpectedly fabulous lunch accompanied by delightful service.
11/10 from us.

As long as they keep the chef and the waitress - we'll be back next summer - more than once.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed three nights here during the July heatwave. We were given a very spacious and clean attic room (painted a rather sickly yellow!) with large bathroom. A helpful member of staff took all our luggage up the two flights of stairs. The room was very hot, with the sun pouring through the thin curtains and of the two windows on opposite walls, only one was of the opening kind. To be fair though, I imagine that temperatures of 25 degrees are very unusual in Portsoy! The bed was large and very comfortable with good quality linen and duvets. The TV was very small, although there was plenty of room for a larger one and to be able to see it properly we had to perch on the end of the bed. Rather than a wardrobe there was open hanging space, although again there was ample room for one. Breakfast was good, although not especially memorable. We did get a bit of a rude awakening at 4am each morning by what sounded like someone knocking on the door; on investigation, we discovered that it was a seagull chick tapping on the roof light! All in all, good value for money, run by very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Bar sounded quite noisy, so I think we were in a good position up in the attic, although you might g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I booked a golfing break for myself and three friends, not really knowing what to expect for what we thought was a very good all-in price. Saved me the job of searching for golf courses in the area and booking tee times.

The Station Hotel proprieters, Euan and Susan are actively involved in running the establishment, which was nice to see, and they do a great job!

The rooms have, clearly, been quite recently refurbished and are very clean and tidy.

We were served excellent breakfasts and exceptional dinners. The chef here serves up wonderful food and the waiting staff went to great lengths to ensure that our meals were exactly right for us. We teased them quite a bit, as blokes do when they're set free for a few days, but they all took it in good sport.

We were all quite sad that we had to leave after our very enjoyable break because we'd had such a great time; haven't stopped talking about it yet!

I have no doubt that we shall return, so, Susan and Euan, once again, THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRVDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed here for one night with a pal, as we passed through the area.

The room was comfortable, with decent beds and quilts. It was quite spacious, three beds in an ok sized room.

There was a lack of wifi or internet in the room though which is a shame.

Breakfast area was in large cavernous room, which was cold, where it could have been nicer and perhaps just as easy to serve breakfast in the restaurant where dinner was served. We ate there also at night. None of the food, breakfast or dinner, was memorable, but it was fine at the time.

The bar in the hotel was ok, not the friendliest of barmaids.

An okay hotel to pass though for one night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsoy
5.6 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
380 reviews
5.7 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Durn House
Durn House
#1 of 7 in Portsoy
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Boyne Hotel
The Boyne Hotel
#6 of 7 in Portsoy
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sail Loft
The Sail Loft
#1 of 2 in Portsoy
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ailsa
Ailsa
#3 of 7 in Portsoy
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel Portsoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel Portsoy

Address: Flat Station Hotel Seafield Street, Portsoy AB45 2QT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portsoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portsoy
Price Range: £76 - £2,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Hotel Portsoy 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Station Hotel Portsoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Portsoy Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing