We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Educational Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macduff Marine Aquarium

Macduff Marine Aquarium
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Macduff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fascinating aquarium featuring marine life of Scotland's Moray Firth in realistic displays. Come face to face with hundreds of native species, watch divers feed the fish and get a feel for seashore life at the interactive touch pools. All day tickets mean you can come and go to catch talks and feeding shows throughout the day. Educational and fun for all ages!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Educational Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The aquarium looks small from the outside, but once inside it is jam packed with so much. Its a great educational experience for adults and children alike. It is easy to spend several hours here learning about the marine life along the Moray coast. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit - so much to see and learn about

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sydneyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    70
    17
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Visited with my son (15) and daughter (10). We all enjoyed it. The tanks and displays are great for kids and adults. It is small but doesn't feel cramped. I liked being so close to the exhibits. My daughter would have stayed all day if we let her.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lchristep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Money taken then asked to leave the part where the big window was so they could explain to school kids about it !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Was looking forward to going here , they took our money and didn't say there would be restrictions , on entering the room with the seating and huge widow in , we where asked to leave for 10 to 15 minutes and come back while they talked to some school kids ... Errr no I paid the same as them and wasn't hanging around in another room for them to finish , so we moved on and left disappointed and won't be back !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sh41gh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macduff-Aquarium, Manager at Macduff Marine Aquarium, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi there - thank you so much for leaving feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were moved on from a section of the aquarium - it is normally our policy to invite visitors to join in to listen to school talks. Without a dedicated classroom, we do find it difficult to provide a comprehensive education programme for the large number of schools that visit us, without negatively impacting on the experience of others in at the same time. Clearly we got it wrong on this occasion and can only apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was the first visit to Macduff Aquarium and it was absolutely amazing, much enjoyed by our little boy and us grown ups. It isn't a big place, but the main tank is so wonderfully placed and accessible, and the many other displays and tanks are so perfectly presented that it's such fun to explore. We went round three times and only left because we needed to get elsewhere for a certain time. The staff was very friendly, and even approached us when they had overheard we had been stuck finding a species on the fish finder sheet kids are given (sadly this particularly type of fish was no more).

Unfortunately we had visited the only day when there was no feeding by divers, so we'll definitely be back for that soon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MGS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great way to pass an afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Another lovely and interesting afternoon spent at the aquarium. Space is on the small side but perfectly formed!!!! Check out before you go whats happening that day as have set feeding times etc- granddaughters particularly enjoy it when divers get in main tank to feed fish. Would definitely recommend -a small coffee shop would make this perfect!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jillib4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macduff Marine Aquarium also viewed

Banff, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Macduff Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing