We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last resort stay option IMHO - Avoid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beadlow Manor Golf Club Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Shefford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I feel really bad reviewing this hotel because clearly someone has put "some" effort it but its just not enough by a LONG way.

I really dont know where to start as everything was just so bad!

In Short

1) I booked despite all the terrible TA reviews because I wanted somewhere near to a party we were attending. I wish I had of stayed further out and paid for the taxis - This place is awful and the description of a Hostel more like hits the mark.
2) Upon Arrival you do check in at the Golf Reception - Just odd.
3) The hotel is in terrible condition from the outside - its needs £100's of £1000's if not £m's spending to bring this hotel up to even a travelodge standard.
4) The rooms has just recently been renovated, not sure by whom but they must have been rogue traders. The curtain tiebacks came out the wall when you tried to use them, the bathroom finish with acceptable tiles was just let down by the very amateur finish. The walls were filthy and the only silver lining was that they didnt really smell despite the obvious damp everywhere.
5) Our booking was for a double bed but when we went to our room it was only a 3/4 size bed and the receptionist blamed "the boy" working here in the day who doesnt do things properly!??? Well fire him then!! It was clearly a single room - to be fair, they did move us and a good job as this room also had unpainted patches on the wall!!!

This hotel and this room is about as basic as it gets. Its in the middle of nowhere and most of the taxis charge you an arm and a leg because they charge to come to you from ampthil or flitwick and rip you off! Disgusting!!!

Avoid if you can!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigMark77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked via a 3rd party and TBF there were cheaper but this was only 10 mins from the location we were invited too.
On arriving the left is a fairly modern golf complex and to the right (as seen the pic above) is the front on the hotel building which is separate from the golf complex
The front windows are of timber construction and ALL rotten (I am a trademan) and general appearance needs an overhaul
The entrance has no front of house desk/staff and a note on the door saying book in via the golf reception.
Further into the building is what I recognise as something similar to a football club bar/conference hall/other ....which is closed and 2 tables and 10 chairs sit there like a ghost town
Further in following laminated signs is the corridor to the rooms, which I guess are around 10 or so.
The hall has damp and paint or stains are all over the place
However open the room and they are fairly modern, similar to a travel lodge, which was pleasing....until
Turned on TV it was not working, a little playing around and investigation discovered hidden in the display the transformer power pack has separated behind the scene so re attached
The bathroom ceiling has damp and loose paint
The pull cord has been moved 3 inches and not filled/repaired
In the morning tried to make tea/coffee and there was none, there were cups etc...but no condiments
As there is no room phone, going reception is 500 yards through hotel and over the car park to the other side
Added to all this, there is no security to the front door, so access to the hotel is 24/7 by any herberts
The room also had spiders and webs indicating lack of use/more cleaning needed
A lobby room housed some old mattresses, randomly thrown in
We paid £80 for a family room, which was a good size

In summary - expect nothing more than a room get to sleep and leave. On reflection these rooms would be more fairly priced at £40-£60. The location was handy for a local party we were attending, but would not re book until massive improvements took place

For the Management - I would suggest a front of house key system, decoration and repairs to at least the hall and rooms. Repair the outer window sills and paint the front entrance. I would think likely for £3-£4k at most. Get the clients back and offer a bar service. Grow the hotel into pub for passing trade. The locals all spoke highly of the restaurant which once operated at the front...something to consider. Best of luck

Room Tip: One in another hotel ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milodog73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Many thanks to Nasir and his staff for making all our guests feel very welcome at our recent Ladies Night. The meal, room and table décor and the service were all top class and I have no hesitation in recommending other groups to seriously consider this venue for their future events, especially with a comfortable and reasonably priced hotel right on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anglo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Working in area and found this in net, very very quiet and lovely location, being on a golf course, bring your clubs or just a few to use on driving range. Working on nights this is just the ideal place to stay if your a golfer! Nice room, nice breakfast. There are building works going on around the place but this just makes you want to come back after they are completed, as it will be even better!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The two courses were great. Room was clean and staff very helpful but felt they were a bit short staffed. Don't be put off by the exterior which, I understand, is in the process of renovation the golf and staff more than make up for the un-kept gardens and sad look of the hotel block. Good value especially for a golf society weekend break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked for an overnight stay, Valentine's Dinner and golf.The staff could not have been more helpful and the meal was superb. Although the weather was awful, and the golf course technically closed, they allowed us to play.
Overall, this was an excellent value for money experience and I would highly recommend it. However, if money is not invested on some of the exterior surfaces of the buildings they will begin to deteriorate significantly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfcouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My daughter chose to have her 16th Birthday Party in the idyllic setting of Beadlow Manor Country Club.

She had an amazing experience and was made to feel very special. The food was mouth-watering and the facilities were excellent. Her whole group were very pleased. Beadlow Manor managed to please ten sixteen year old girls. What an achievement!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beadlow Manor Golf Club Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beadlow Manor Golf Club Hotel & Conference Center

Address: Near Shefford, Shefford SG17 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Shefford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shefford
Price Range: £58 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beadlow Manor Golf Club Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beadlow Manor Golf Club Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beadlow Manor Golf Club Hotel And Conference Center
Beadlow Manor Golf Club Hotel Shefford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing