We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent New Management!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shefford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Shefford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent New Management!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I received a very warm welcome when I arrived from the lovely couple, Hazel and Martin who had only taken over the hotel 2 weeks previously.
My room was large, clean and comfortable.
I had my evening meal which was delicious and prepared by Martin who is a trained chef. The pub was busy in the evening with a lovely atmosphere.
I slept soundly and enjoyed a hot breakfast before I continued my journey. I will certainly be stopping again when I am next in the area

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseyFlanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    6
    1
    13
See reviews for
8
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I don't even know where to begin.
The room clearly hadn't seen a hoover or duster before we arrived, and could have done with both along with a bottle of bleach! There were 3 of us staying in a family room (double + single) but only 2 cups provided. The toilet for our room was outside in the main hallway which was fine, except there was no bin in the loo, and again it hadn't seen a hoover, duster or bleach in a while. The rail in the cupboard that was supposed to be our wardrobe was on the floor with no way of putting it back up. The evening shower went between scorching hot and freezing cold, and the showers the following morning were stone cold. We woke to a room the temperature of a sauna absolutely stinking of cigarette smoke- disgusting. Out in the hall way it also smelt of smoke. We decided we couldn't stay for breakfast so left just after 9am.. there was no one around in the pub below except tables full of the previous nights empty glasses and an ash tray full of used cigarette butts (yes inside the bar). We put the room keys on the bar and left... Never again...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nolivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Visited for 3 nights. Price was fair, location good. However the room was very dated with badly fitting carpets. The bedside light wasn't working (bulb broken and socket hanging dangerously off the wall). No shower was available. No key to the outside doors was provided, only a room key. All doors were locked and nobody was available. It took over an hour to exit the building.
When I called to register a complaint I wasn't given a satisfactory answer but given various excuses and just robbed off. I was even called a liar! Customer service????
Wouldn't use again even if free.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nobbywb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night and found it ideal with the staff being friendly and accommodating. Our room was quite spacious with the En suite being the largest I have ever come across. Despite having a pub downstairs there was no undue noise. We also ate an evening meal in the bar area that was set up for eating. Good pub grub at very reasonable rates. The only thing I would say is do not sit next to the cellar door as I did find the coming and going right behind me, as I was eating, a touch of a nuisance. The acid test is would I stay there again and the answer is certainly. They do have a car park at the rear although it's entrance is a little further along the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shefford
2.4 mi away
Beadlow Manor Golf Club Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 3 in Henlow
65 reviews
2.5 mi away
Champneys Henlow
Champneys Henlow
#1 of 1 in Henlow
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: 2 North Bridge Street, Shefford SG17 5DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Shefford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shefford
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing