We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch and good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Hurley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Clean, warm, cosy, friendly, relaxing , set in the beautiful old village of Hurley. The village dates back to 700 ad and is recorded in the Domesday, the old church is still standing which was once the nave to the old Priory until 1536 when Henry Vlll dissolved the Monasteries. The River Thames is just 4 min walk from the Rising Sun. Built around 1830 the pub is a big favorite with walkers, ramblers, boating people alike. There is a fantastic caravan and camping site just down the road, which is among the top 5 sites in the UK for static, mobile and camping.We have a village shop, a church and a small B&B. The village is heaving in the summer months with tourists enjoying the camping and picnic areas right on the River Thames.Soft comfortable chairs and settees, log fire for the cold winter months. Home cooked and prepared traditional pub food plus specials, 4 ever changing real ales from local brewer's and a selection of lagers.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
181 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

A group of us of around a dozen dropped in for lunch without booking and were a bit worried how quiet it was. How wrong can you be. The people here could not have tried harder to get us all a great lunch, served all at the same time and nobody had a complaint. In fact all were really complementary and supplied at a great price.

Hurley gets busy at the weekend but this must be worth a drive at any time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KWokB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    69
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We ate twice at the Rising Sun, returning the second time because the first meal was exceptionally good value for money. The Rising Sun is a friendly place and the atmosphere is relaxed and therefore ideal for casual dining. On the first occasion we had steaks from the specials menu, which were cooked to our individual tastes and presented not only with the obligatory mushroom, tomato and chips but on a sizzler with onions and peppers. The service we received was very good and the meals arrived in good time. On the Sunday we had the roast Sunday lunch. Again the meal was well cooked. The vegetables were obviously freshly cooked and the portion sizes were good. We would recommend this restaurant to everyone. The garden area has several large tables, some with umbrellas and situated in the shaded area of the garden so good for families with small children and others who prefer to try to stay out of the hot mid-day sun. There are also tables in the sun, which suited us very well living as we do in Scotland and not seeing the sun from one month to the next at times. There was a distinct lack of cigarette smokers in the garden, which was a bonus.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hot food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had an evening meal here whilst moored nearby on the Thames at Hurley. very pretty location and quaint village. Good choice on the menu but a bit disappointed as no specials available when we were there. Service was a bit variable but when the food did come it was very hot. I have to say I enjoyed the sharing platter starter more than the steak, The steak was Ok but I am not a fan of sizzling onions, would have much preferred a decent sauce with it, but that was not offered.
We would visit again when in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in pleasant garden sun-trap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

There is one public house and one hotel on the high street of this delightful village. The 'sun' has an ample car park and some limited on street parking. A traditional building with a small beer garden to the rear. The lunch time menu gave a good variety of choices. We chose the chicken burger which was presented on a wooden platter with salad and home made chips. The portions were generous, plenty for lunch time. Service was quick, the staff very pleasant, generally a very nice lunch!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigtay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We popped into the Rising Sun for a drink whilst staying in Hurley. We usually make a visit to this pub whilst in Hurley, over the years there have been several different landlords and there are new landlords now. They are very welcoming and friendly, the pub itself was more appealing
and the atmosphere friendly and warm. We even had a game of bingo( unfortunately didn't win though. The next time we are in the area we will try the food as we were told that the food was great. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseagirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing