We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed Opportunity”
Review of The Olde Bell

The Olde Bell
Reserve with OpenTable
The Olde Bell is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Hurley
Price range: US$6 - US$64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Olde Bell’s kitchen team serve simple, rustic, fantastic quality food making sure you’ll experience some of the finest eating and drinking in Berkshire. Much time and effort has gone into sourcing and building relationships with local farmers and producers of the best organic ingredients, creating seasonal and constantly changing menus. Wherever possible we use ingredients ripe from our own gardens to keep our menus fresh, appealing and honest. We’re thrilled to announce that The Olde Bell has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes from the AA Restaurant Guide.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Missed Opportunity”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely setting (gardens, building itself) but an opportunity for something much more special sadly missed. Food very basic. Three veg on offer (restaurant makes a claim about growing their own) - and yet the wilted spinach I ordered was unavailable. Ambience inside gloomy, stark and uninspiring.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew73UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    44
    47
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Poor staff let down this beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Service always woefully slow and drinks expensive. Sat in a stunning garden and enjoyed a small lukewarm black coffee for £3 served by a lovely waitress but the rest of the team seemed ambivalent at best.
This hotel is on our "dog walk" route and in the Summer we always come here. However unless they raise their game our lunches and drinks will be no more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't understand the recent negative reviews...”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

..so I must counter them. We had a great meal there a few weeks ago. We had booked for 2 at 6pm, quite early so we were alone in the restaurant for some time. But we were made to feel very welcome. We were planning to just go for two courses but they were both so good that we decided to have dessert too. The sticky toffee pudding was sublime.
Previous days we had been to the fat duck and the hand and flowers so it's not that we're not used to a good meal, and we felt the food at the olde bell was equally enjoyable, but different of course, so we suggest you ignore the negatives and give the place a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JGibbs393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sub standard quality of food”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Despite the lovely setting the standard of food at The Olde Bell is very poor indeed. There certainly seems to be no love of the quality of food here. All courses were unappetising and very disappointing overall.
We travelled a long way for a family get together and went away with indigestion. Food used to be better eighteen months ago so is this another example of losing a good chef. Service could be improved aswell.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank penguinhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I don’t often feel compelled to write a review, but in this case the overall experience was so poor that I feel bound to do so.

On arrival for a pre-booked dinner reservation for 6 adults, we were completely ignored by passing staff, and only after asking several times were we grudgingly shown to our table. We then waited a further 15 minutes before a drinks order was taken, and another 20 minutes until the food order. From this point it took over an hour until our food arrived, and when it did, two of the meals had to be returned as they were cold, and then returned a second time as they were still cold! This is despite the place being less than half full. The remaining meals were of a mediocre quality, but the portions were measly and certainly did not justify the prices (£25 for a very average sirloin steak and chips). I get the impression that this place fancies itself as a fine dining establishment, which it certainly is not.

Another major gripe was the quality of the service. The head waiter was aloof, arrogant and uninterested, and the waitresses seemed completely oblivious to what they should be doing. After our initial orders, not once were we approached to ask if we would like any more drinks or to enquire if our meals were satisfactory. One of our party likened the entire experience to a scene from Fawlty Towers, which is extremely apt analogy.

We complained and to their credit they reduced the food bill by 50% (even though they tried to retain the 15% service charge), surely an acknowledgement of the poor quality dining experience they had offered.

This is a shame as the location and building are superb, albeit a little rough at the edges. I may return for a drink only, certainly not to eat.

Summary:

Positives:
• Great location, garden and building

Negatives:

• Terrible service (slow, disinterested)
• Mediocre yet expensive food and drinks

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank RogMcDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olde Bell also viewed

 
 

Been to The Olde Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing