We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had our wedding here in october 2011..was perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just want to say a massive thanks to Ross and Leanne for making our wedding day so special. We were the first wedding after the grand opening and had the best day of our lives so far. Everything went to plan, apart from my lilys not opening as I wanted them, just me being picky and totally my fault for not putting them in a warm room early enough! Anyone that is looking to have their wedding here will be very impressed and will have chosen one of the best venues in south cambs. Convenient for guests as next to the station and plenty of top quality accommodation. Everyone commented after the day about how nice the food was and the service was brilliant. Very well done. Can't wait till our anniversary meal :-)!!! See u soon! X

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel.

Firstly, thank you for being our first wedding. It was a real boost to us all here at the red lion to read how much you enjoyed your special day with us.

The venue really is unique and the ideal place to get married.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your lives together and our sincere thanks for your custom.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 330 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Having decided on a weekend away to Cambridge this hotel was an excellent choice. We did have a small hiccup concerning our booking but this was sorted out straight away thanks to the very helpful staff who continued to make our stay a pleasurable one. Our room was excellent, well decorated, a good size , lovely comfortable bed and a very large shower-one small gripe was the lack of drawers or wardrobe to store clothes. Even though the hotel was close to the railway station this was not a problem, and our room was right at the front of the hotel, we were not disturbed by train noise. Having the station so close was a bonus as taking the train into Cambridge was so much easier than driving. The food in the hotel was absolutely excellent, especially the breakfasts - compliments to the chef. It isn't a budget menu but the quality is worth the cost. Would we stay here again -absolutely- and when we do visit Cambridge again this is where we will book in.

Room Tip: Room 20 was excellent size
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimiff17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.
Our menu is very well received by our customers, I do note you thought this was value for money if a little more expensive. This is down to the produce we source, our butcher is the local butcher located in the next village and our fruit and veg man is also very local. We really wanted to give the local suppliers our custom, it would be easy to go to the large suppliers but the produce is mass produced which we wanted to avoid.
We hope to welcome you back in the very near future and thank you for your custom.
Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

ROOM
I only stayed here one night but the room is very good. The bed is comfortable and the shower is very powerful (unfortunately a lot of rooms do not have baths).

There are two big issues; the minimalist design means no storage for clothes. You can either use the coat hangers or leave things in your bags but worse was the heating; although my room (14) had two large radiators they provided no heat.

This is a shame because it was a very nice room.

FOOD AND RESTAURANT
Think of all those country pubs with exposed beams and horse brasses but which have not been refurbished since 1972 and then refurbish with quality fixtures and fittings and this is what you get. Very cosy and friendly. Other reviews have mentioned the lack of staff and this has clearly been resolved.

The room is divided into sections by a network of wooden beams which suggests a very nice place to spend a lazy winter afternoon.

Food was excellent although the portion sizes where a bit small – “real macaroni cheese” I am sure in Italy would be served in a much bigger bowl. Breakfast was also very good.

I stayed in this hotel in 2007 and vowed never to stay there again but that vow was ignorant of the amount of money spent on the hotel. Now it is a nice boutique hotel with contemporary rooms and a comfortable bar to relax in.

Room Tip: In winter make sure you are nearer to reception because the heating may work there.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IT_Contractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to supply us with your feedback.
We are very thankful for your thorough review, we did have staff issues previously which were a couple of days after opening. At the time we did put this down to teething problems and it is pleasing to read you thought the same as us.
Sorry about the heating, this is fixed now. The heating has rarely been on this year due to the very mild autumn time however once we received feedback from customers it has been swiftly resolved.
It was great to read that you have come back after a previous poor experience and we hope that now we have restored your faith in us you'll keep coming back.
If you are in again please ask for me, it would be great to meet you and I promise you'll have heating this time.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This hotel has gone through a very recent refurbishment and is not finished yet. In our opinion, it was not ready for guests.
The staffing levels are very poor and so if you want any assistance; there is no-one around to help except for one member of staff behind the bar who is also responsible for reception and waiting on duties. Far too much for one person. This included the morning shift, where once again, there was just one young girl to manage the reception and serve all the breakfasts. As polite and helpful as the girls were (a different one for each of the mornings we were there), there is only so much one person can do and so the guests were left waiting and waiting. We waited some time to check out and pay our final bill because she was running around with breakfasts. On the first morning we went for breakfast at 9.00am and the girl had to call the chef back who she said had just been leaving to go home. When our breakfasts arrived, they looked great, but tasted terrible; as though the oil that had been used for cooking had gone off. The girl apologised and took them straight back to the kitchen, but, to our dismay, the chef had infact left the building and so all we could have for breakfast was two rounds of toast that the girl did for us herself. Breakfast was supposed to be available until 10am.
The room we had (Rm 29) was very quaint, but certainly not for disabled guests. I have had a back operation and could not have stayed in this room for any longer than the two nights we were there. To get into the corridor leading to the room and again into the room itself, you've got to really bend over to 'crawl' in! The room had no bin, one of the lamps had a bulb missing, no wardrobe or cupboards/drawers; just two coat hangers on hooks! The tea, coffee, milk etc is not replenished after the first night and so we had to go and ask for it.
The menus for lunch and dinner are very limited. I am vegetarian and only had a choice of two dishes. The food is very average and expensive. We went to a neighbouring village pub (also The Red Lion), to eat on the next night, where the food was totally home cooked, far superior and cheaper.
The final disappointment was to find that the hotel is situated right next to a railway line. Even though there wasn't too many trains during the night, it was noisy.
I wrote an email to the manager as soon as we got home, but as yet (a week ago), there has been no response. So basically it doesn't seem as thought the management are too bothered about what the guests think.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sukimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

Please accept my apologies for the poor levels of service you experienced during your visit.

The hotel has had some refurbishment issue. This really comes down to the age of the building however I am please to inform you this is now fully operational and working very well indeed.

Your comments about breakfast are very valid. In light of the amount of work required for one person, we have done the sensible thing and have 2 members of staff working on breakfast.

Our food has a very good reputation. We of course are far from perfect however I assure you all our produce is sourced locally using suppliers based in South Cambridgeshire.

The rooms I am afraid are not able to accommodate people with certain disabilities, it really is down to the nature of the building. We of course are aware of the corridors having low ceilings in certain areas however this we feel adds to the character of the building, we are an old coaching in which has been in the area for centuries. This is certainly not your normal branded property and we are very happy indeed to be different whilst still providing very positive service but when we get it wrong and on this occasion we have, it is important to hold our hands up apologies and ensure we get the issues sorted swiftly.

Our menu has just changed, as I write this review we are in our second day of a new menu. The choices of vegetarian are now changed with the likes of Macaroni cheese, vegetable pie and Classic Caesar salad to mention just a few. If this doesn't appeal then please ask our head chef. He is a very experienced chef and can turn his hand to anything.

The other red lion hotel in our area is a very decent place to eat however we feel we have much more to offer and I would be very eager to have you return. Please contact me when you get a moment regarding your review. We want to turn your negative experience into something positive.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The restaurant has only just been renovated and reopened. The service is terrible as the kitchen staff not being able to cope with the amount of tables even when the seating area is only a third full.
The food although tastey, is over priced and and they are trying too hard to make it something it is not. The selection is poor with little healthy options, and most of the dishes being served with 7 to 9 chips stacked up on the chopping board which are used as plates. The fish and chips are served in little decorative fryer baskets and the pies are served with a small salad garnish. If you want a small dish with a few spoons of veg, you have to pay an extra £3.50
Very expensive for what it is, with burger and the 7 to 9 chips being just under £12

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I was very disappointed to read of your negative experience, please accept my apologies.

At the time of your review, we were only a few weeks old after a £1.3 million refurbishment. Of course there was teething problems but I am happy to say we have learned from these errors in either our service or food offerings.

Our menu continues to evolve with changes made regularly, we have special offers for our customers with a dine for £10 offer now in place until February. The food offering now we feel is unrivaled in the local area, we would be very eager for you to come in and try this again for yourself.

Without feedback from our customers, we cannot rectify areas we need to change so thank you for your constructive review of our hotel.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thierry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas A, Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
328 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
7.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,391 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Address: Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Duxford CB22 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range: £86 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing