We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish but Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
1 review
“Stylish but Quirky”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A quirky hotel with uneven floors and small doors as if you were Alice in Wonderland.

The hotel is next to a quiet train station that is 5mins from Cambridge and goes on to London as well. Would recommend if you want to site see this part of the country by train.

Food was excellent and to a high standard at a reasonable price (both breakfast and evening meal) however drinks were rather expensive.

I don't recommend staying if you need accessibility, however there is another hotel across the road (I believe under the same management) that can cater and still use the restaurant in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

We appreciate that the rooms are not to everyone’s liking, but we do feel the character of the building compensates for small doorways and wonky floor boards.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your food. The hotel buys all food locally and every item is made in house by the kitchen team.

The Holiday Inn Express is part of a chain of hotels and whilst we do have a great relationship with the people who run this hotel, we are separate however you are correct they do have accessible rooms if this is what a customer would need.

We hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regards


Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    75
    63
    45
    34
See reviews for
54
126
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Called here for a meal, on a Sunday evening - we had been told that it was one of only a few venues open on a Sunday evening. If you are a vegetarian then there is little choice but more choice of you eat steak or burgers. Also there was no blackcurrant cordial (had run out) and non alcohol lager is not served at all which was not helpful for the driver in the family.
The service was slow but the staff were polite. The food was good but pricey and I do not like having to pay extra for potatoes with my meal - surely this should be part of the meal.
Would appear to think it is something special as it is near to Cambridge and London - it is not.
If we visit the area again we will definitely not be eating here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

My sincere apologies for the issues with our service. There is a dozen bottles of blackcurrant cordial in the hotel store room, saying we have run out was not correct. Non-alcoholic lager is not something we sell mostly because customers do not request this and prefer the large selection of bespoke soft drinks we offer.

The service is perhaps at times slower as all items from the kitchen are homemade and freshly prepared by the kitchen brigade.

Potatoes with your meal depends on which of the food items you had chosen. If it does not then there is an additional charge although if you didn’t want chips but wanted potatoes instead, we do not charge for the replacement item.

We do feel we are quirky and different but there is nothing pretentious about the hotel, we are unashamedly all things to all people.

Your feedback provided us with areas we must work on so thank you for sharing this with us and please come back and see the improvements we have made.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I got married at the Red Lion last weekend, and the day went perfectly. The staff went above and beyond to answer all my queries and to provide all that was asked for in a very timely manner. I have had lots of very positive feedback from guests about the food and the venue in general. The day went off without a hitch and Jonathon from the Red Lion made sure to check in to make sure we were happy with everything, there was a constant presence without it being intrusive. I would recommend this to anyone as a venue for a wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Firstly, congratulations from all of us here at the Red Lion.

I was humbled by your comments and bursting with pride that my staff delivered a memorable experience on your big day.

Thank you for your custom, it is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We came from the north west to visit my family who had booked a table for evening meal. we thought the food quality did not match the prices charged. When requested what childrens meals they have we were disappointed to be told they were just a smaller version of the adults meals which were not acceptable. We will not be eating here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback.

I was disappointed to read that your experience with our hotel was not to your satisfaction. We have a very positive reputation for food, beverage and events however we have clearly failed you and not shown ourselves in a positive light.

The children’s food is anything half the size from the main menu which gives children over 25 main course items to choose from. We take your feedback on board and will be introducing a childrens menu very soon.

I hope you change your mind and return to the Red Lion so you can experience the changes for yourself.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We've eaten here a couple of times previously, the food has always been okay, but overpriced and under served.

Eating with guests from the adjoining hotel yesterday, I'd reserved in advance. Our table comprised three two place tables pushed together - nothing wrong with that, only they were different heights and wobbly. It would also have been pleasant if the person putting them together had noticed this, made adjustments and actually wiped the tables. I don't consider that this is special request - it's the sort of thing that we should expect as standard.

The food was okay. Just okay. My shrimp and crayfish salad starter comprised a rather long in the tooth mix of shrimp and crayfish and three sour and undressed lettuce leaves. Main course was full of flavour and well presented - with the exception of the limp rocket leaves used to garnish ........ I expect the kitchen staff to understand that garnishing with expired vegetables is a pointless exercise. The other diners in our party were complimentary about their meals although all agreed that they were overpriced for what was delivered and that the service was somewhat slack.

The absence of a menu for children is a small niggle although smaller portions of anything on the menu was available and the ubiquitous fish finger/ chicken nuggets and chips was offered by staff if required.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardascustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I apologise for the servers lack of thought with your table. This is very simple and not acceptable to get wrong especially when you are trying to eat food.

I am sorry your meal was not great and that shows a lack of consistency. I have brought this to the attention of the head chef so he can make swift improvements. All food is made in house and is fresh however we have let ourselves down here and in turn we have unhappy customers which is very concerning. You have my assurances this is not the normal standard of food you should expect from us.

Your feedback will allow us an opportunity to change those areas our customers are not happy with although i am very sorry it has happened to you.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duxford hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I went for lunch in a party of three today. My first comment would be how expensive this place is; the beer is over £4 a pint and frankly the food for what you get is a 'rip off'. Two of our party had the 'cheese sandwich' with red onion chutney and roasted peppers. This was actually bits of bread with a disgusting mush on top. The skinny fries that accompanied the sandwiches (not actually sandwiches but bruschetta gone wrong) were like the crusty bits of waste from the bottom of the deep fat friar that usually gets discarded. They were simply foul. The other member of our party had a cheese sandwich that she had made 'off menu' - the bread was dry but the filling (cheese, tomato and cress) acceptable. A bowl of chunky chips was served that tasted fishy - it turns out they were cooked with the fish. They left a ghastly taste in the mouth. The coleslaw (or 'slaw' as it appeared on the menu, seemingly they have been watching too much 'Man v Food') was chopped far too coarsely and one of my poor dining partners could only manage one mouthful. The toilets were immaculate and the front of house staff were delightful. Overall, I shall not be eating here again and would be unable to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my apologies for the catalogue of errors with your food.

The cheese sandwich is a twist on the norm however we certainly failed to ‘wow’ you on this occasion.

I can assure you the fish and chips are cooked seperatley. At no time is the same oil used for both.

We take your point on the coleslaw. We do this in house but we do require more quality control.

Thank you for your comments on our staff. I was pleased some aspects of the hotel were to your satisfaction however i urge you to return to experience the changes we are making first hand. We have failed you that much is clear however it is not the normal standard of service we give to customers.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Dinner with friends turned sour last night. We travelled from Cambridge, Saffron Walden and Newmarket to meet for dinner - we shouldn't have bothered. On arrival the parking situation was a joke. I've never had to pay and display at a pub before!
From the first drink, we were not allowed to order at the bar and take our drink to the table. What that was about goodness knows.
The main courses arrived with over enthused leaf arrangements for the meat eaters and a small garnish for the vegetarian. All was fairly tasty but nothing exceptional, with the duck and steak barely warm.
Desserts were ordered along with coffee, which was just as well. The coffees arrived quickly but after much prompting and 40+ minutes no sign of the desserts - which were only ice cream and the cheese board. Needless to say we cancelled the puds and requested the bill.
Overall the place was empty, so no excuse for poor service heaven knows what the kitchen does when a rush is on.
Don't bother to go here it would be quicker to hop on the train and eat in Cambridge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastAngliaMiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
318 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
6.8 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
572 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Property: Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Address: Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Duxford CB22 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing