We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I wanted to stay in the pub rather than the Holiday Inn and had a few problems getting this sorted as the same team take the bookings for both - however my email to confirm that I had indeed booked the Red Lion and not the HIE brought a prompt response from Ross Ferguson the GM. He started with an apology (which was nice) confirmed my booking and threw in free breakfast (which was a lovely and unexpected gesture).

I stayed for two nights in what I believe to be the smallest room I have ever stayed in (room 26) and was suprised to find out that there was one smaller! however the room was clean and pleasantly decorated. If you want charm and character stay at the Red Lion if you want lots of space go over the road. if you like to retire early you might want to check if there is a function on there was a 30th birthday an the Saturday night and there was no part of the Red Lion that the disco didn't reach!

We took the train into Cambridge, the station is on the doorstep and they did buy one get one free on tickets - brilliant.

The food was very good, we had an evening meal and breakfast which were enjoyable. However the best thing about the Red Lion is the staff, without exception they were fantastic, pleasant, cheerful, helpful.... there are not enough words to describe them. Worth a visit just to experience true customer service!!

Room Tip: Room 11 is apparently very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I apologise about the size of your room. We have many different shapes and sizes however room 26 was clearly not the room for you.

It really is wonderful to hear the impression our staff left on you. We firmly believe people buy from people and the recent training we have been carrying out is focusing on ensuring the staff personalities come shining through to customers.

Thank you for your custom and we hope you return only this time we will ensure you receive one of the larger bedrooms to ensure you are more comfortable.

Kind Regards



Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

The overall experience was fine. The public areas and the staff were very welcoming. The room however was the smallest room i have ever stayed in and there was not even a wardrobe in the room to hang my shirts.

Room Tip: do not book a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was pleased you found the public area and the staff to be very welcoming. Our people are our most valuable asset and I am pleased they left an impression on you.

The Red Lion has various sizes of bedrooms and at the time of your booking perhaps these were not available to offer you however if you decide to return, please ask for one of the larger rooms.

We appreciate your custom and thank you for choosing the Red Lion.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a real treat for those who love period charm, great food and fine real ales.

Conveniently situated right next to a railway stop and with adequate free parking, this 13th century wooden framed building is more like an archetypal great British pub with quirky, but modern equipped, comfortable rooms situated along wonky corridors with low doorways (mind your head).

I loved the small, characterful room, but may have found it a little claustrophobic.
Evening meal was delicious, as was the full English breakfast.
The service is professional and charming. Free parking is a bonus.

Was on business this time, but would love a return stay with my wife.

Room Tip: If you're a little claustrophobic, ask for a bigger room. Room 19, 20, 21 are apparently bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieJMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed all the Red Lion has to offer whilst on business. We hope to welcome you back hopefully next time with your wife. Cambridge is not far away (only 8 minutes on the train) and the shopping is very unique with many boutique and unique shops.

Thank you for your custom, greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This pub sits next to the Duxford Holiday Inn and is actually run by the same team. It is a lot better than your average hotel chain pub, nice relaxed atmosphere (though the beer garden is well disguised as a chain hotel car park.

Food is decent enough.

If you were travelling and ended up staying here for the night, you wouldn't be disappointed though it isn't really a 'country pub'

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LateBookMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was pleased to read on the whole you enjoyed your time with us. You are correct, we are not a country pub anymore. With conference and events facilities, 18 bedrooms and large dining capacity we are more inclined to refer to ourselves as a hotel. We would like to think we have the character of a country inn however we have expanded due to the comments from our customers and increased demand for weddings and events.

We appreciate you have choices and we thank you for placing your custom with us and hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After reading reviews prior to meeting family for lunch ,we were abit concerned. But we had lunch today and I feel I must comment on the excellent food. Yes it is different to your basic meals but what a great change. I had the Lamb Sweetbreads which I haven't seen on a menu for years and it was delicious. The staff were very.friendly and made us welcome. On our list to return again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was pleased you decided to visit and we were able to meet your requirements. Customers are very entitled to their opinions and these help us to improve our services. I would like to think your excellent experience was because we learned from our past failures.

The menu on offer is all sourced locally with the Sweetbreads from our local butcher in the next village. To be able to provide a product customers will buy we place significant emphasis on our people and constantly look at how to improve our processes. Customer feedback is crucial to getting the process right and this generally is down to increased training of our people.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for your custom.

Kind Regards



Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We booked into the hotel for one evening to meet my daughter who had come up on the train from London. Plenty of parking even on a Saturday night. Good proximity to Duxford the railway and M11, but far enough away not to be noisy. Room was really quaint with beams and character, including low bedroom doorway. Really clean and comfortable. Menu fairly extensive and the food we had was excellent and good value. Staff were attentive and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback.

I was very pleased to read of your satisfaction with our hotel and its services. It is great to read you will return and we look forward to welcoming you when you do.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just held our post Wedding party in the Garden Room at The Red Lion Whittlesford and had a fantastic evening there. The staff were all so professional, friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, they made the whole process of arranging and booking the venue and accommodation so easy and simple and the actual evening ran without any problems. We had dedicated staff for the evening and there was always someone there whenever we needed something. The evening buffet food was excellent and plentiful and our guests were very happy. In summary - a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Firstly, congratulations on your marriage, we wish you and your husband all the very best for your future together.

I was humbled to read your comments. The staff try their hardest to make everyone’s experience memorable for all the rights reasons. You had shown great faith in our hotel to service your wedding reception and we are delighted we made your experience an excellent one.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you for your comments.


Kind Regards



Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
339 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Address: Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Duxford CB22 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range: £86 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing