We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst lunch we have had for many years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went for lunch at this hotel/bar today. It was the first time we'd been since a change of management, and were hoping it would be a new place for a local lunch out. We ordered two meals, a cheese selection with bread and a ham hock terrine. Neither needed any cooking and everyone else in the pub (which was only about four or five people) had been served. We waited well over half an hour for it and when we asked about it it came within a minute. The butter was melted, the bread was toasted and cold when it had advertised as sourdough bread on the menu. We sent it back and asked for fresh bread, but when it came it was stale and didn't taste of sourdough at all. The ham hock terrine was absolutely tasteless. Overall it was a very disappointing visit and we will not be returning. Luckily we were given a bit off the bill otherwise it would have been very expensive as well.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank canny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I have reviewed your comments with the head chef and asked her to speak with the person involved. It was an unacceptable time to wait for food. With all produce homemade and locally sourced it is disappointing to read that the Ham hock was tasteless and the head chef is reviewing how this is made and how it can be made better.

I was pleased that the staff responded to your feedback during your visit by ensuring you were compensated.

We will take swift action to rectify the issues you experienced and we hope you will allow us the opportunity in the future to restore your faith in our hotel.


Kind Regards



Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were in the area and had some time to kill, so decided to pop in to the red lion for some lunch. We soon wished we hadn't. The staff were neither warm or welcoming and didn't seem particularly interested in our custom. The only option food wise was Carvery, which was terrible. The meat was fatty, the potatoes tasted like they had been fried and then reheated, the carrots were at best al dente, the parsnips were raw and the plates were cold, meaning the lukewarm food was stone cold very quickly. We are up and asked for the bill rather quickly. I was disgusted to find that a simple diet coke was £3.25!!! I had to double check with the waitress that this was correct and was told their prices reflect their 'boutique image' which is a ludicrous response. It's a shame their food and service doesn't live up to this so called 'boutique image'.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Your completely right, your visit did not reflect what we think we are. I can only apologise for the issues you faced. Our customers are valuable to us but it would appear that staff on the given day of your visit did not treat you with the courtesy or respect you deserve.

I can assure you the food is locally sourced, the potatoes are not fried at all. I have asked the head chef to ensure she reviews the potatoes because this is unacceptable.

Without your feedback we cannot improve our service levels. We have work to do which is clear however i assure you we will rectify our errors so customer leave happy and willing to return.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great location for getting to Cambridge by train. Stayed for 2 nights in March. Arrived about 9 o'clock and we were very warmly welcomed. Dinner and service both evenings was excellent. Breakfast very good although some guests complained about wait as everyone came down at same time. We were not worried came to get away and just sipped coffee and chatted.

The room although quite small was well appointed and had everything we needed. Bed amazing and very comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Really, they cannot be serious. £7 for rocket leaves and a bit of goats cheese that had been thrown on a plate. £13 for a burger which had a plain burger and a dollop of coleslaw (to be fair tasted ok) and soggy chips. It's poor pub grub at hotel prices. There are local pubs in Duxford twice as good and half the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank NickD_cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel has great potential. Good location. Food was good. Restaurant staff were excellent. However the management of the rooms desperately needs attention. We were not surprised at the size of the room or the lack of hanging space because we had seen other reviews but we were extremely disappointed at the standards of the facilities and customer care . We had no plug in the small basin, the heated towel rail was hanging off the wall, there should have been a shelf but there were just two holes where it had once been attached and the shower tray was so shallow we had to turn off the shower to let the water drain slowly away rather than flood the bathroom floor. The only toiletries were two small bottles of hair conditioner and a small tablet of soap. When we asked for a plug it seemed to be a big problem and for the forty eight hours we were there we used a salad tray in the basin. The automatic kettle didn't turn off automatically and quite honestly we were glad to get home which was very disappointing. However, as stated before the food was good and the bar and restaurant staff were excellent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

had a lovely one night stay at this Inn. Had paid extra for a slightly bigger room but then had the room upgraded on arrival.
spacious feature room with a fabulously comfortable bed and very quiet room, although may not have been the case if there had been a function on. There were 2 very pleasant young girls serving both meals and drinks in the bar, who made us feel very welcome.
I cannot fault the service at the Red Lion and in fact my only grumble would be the steak served at dinner, was described as soft but definately a bit on the tough side.Tthe breakfast was delicious and i will definately recommend the red Lion to friends and will be coming back soon...Thank you so much1

Room Tip: Number 19 the feature room was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having used the Red Lion for a successful AGM in 2013, we were happy to rebook for 2014. The high standards we found last year were again evident. Prior arrangements were made smoothly by e-mail with an efficient events manager who always responded quickly. On the day, the meeting room was arranged exactly as requested with loads of coffee and biscuits for the members of our group. Lunches were pre-ordered before the meeting started at 10.30, and 25 meals of a high standard were served promptly and charmingly by Agate, Jasmine and Tash. Our members were unanimous in their wish to rebook the Red Lion for our 2015 AGM, and this has already been done.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnW140448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
339 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Address: Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Duxford CB22 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range: £86 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing