We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel to be avoided”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hotel to be avoided”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Attending a wedding locally, booked here for 2 nights in preference to the Holiday Inn as we thought the Red Lion would have more character.

One good point - the staff were generally very pleasant and tried to help. It seems that their inability to help reflects more on the poor senior management of the place - lack of consistent attention to important points, lack of addressing basic things in the rooms.

Bedroom was tiny. If we had been warned - we booked well in advance - we could perhaps have paid extra for a larger one but it wasn't mentioned and the place was full with a function.

No storage space at all - no shelving or flat surface - apart from some pegs in the wall with hangers.

One side of bed had no bed-side light; the other side had a bed-side light but it was hanging off its stand and appeared dangerous; this was tightened up on request but should never have been left in that state.

Bathroom - no plug in wash basin; it was clear when we asked for one (none available) that our room wasn't the only one with this problem.
The shower was a disaster waiting to happen. No screen or curtain and you have to crouch in the bath to use it.

It's no good being told that it's an old place as an excuse for the defects; there are many very old places in this country which maintain a very high standard.

Use the Holiday Inn; those in our party who stayed there seemed perfectly happy with it.

Room Tip: Avoid room 15 - but I understand that there are other tiny rooms so check
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iain r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constrictive feedback.

Firstly, let me apologise for the issues you encountered. There is no excuses for the poor experience you received. We take enormous pride in our building and there is simply no excuse for defects in the rooms, we have after all a maintenance team that ensure the rooms are fixed and functioning well.

We have carried out a review of the bedrooms, we did find defects but these were fixed swiftly. The age of the building is a great selling point and being an old building is no barrier to a well functioning hotel and we should not have claimed this was the reason for the defects. Issues do occur but no more than in other hotels.

We apologise for letting you down but we have taken action and we hope you will pop by in the future to see our improvements.


Kind Regards



Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    69
    55
    44
    32
See reviews for
53
116
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Don't go anywhere near The red lion part of the Holiday inn Express , Just come back after staying at the holiday inn Booked in Sunday for the funeral monday then home today ,Staff on the desk:- Helpful Polite ,Rooms:- Hair Dryer not working , light by TV not working .coffee & tea facilities just enough for one coffee & Tea .No glasses in the bathroom ,Beds:-were so low felt like a duvet cover on the floor Had to sleep on the settee because we could not get in & out of the bed ( unacceptable ) Told the staff & the response was there all the same except for the disable rooms which was booked The food for the wake was cold pitta bread with melted cheese on top ,sandwiches that were rock hard & dry , meat that looked as if it was left over from the day before at The red lion on sticks ,a bit of salad scattered around to look more i won't say anymore you get the idea after a complaint was made because the food you could eat ran out they did some pizza cut in small bite size pieces. ( very poor quality )
On Sunday evening we decided to go over to The Red Lion for a meal placed our orders then told did not have any left so choose something else sorry run out of that as well But we could have something not even on the menu ? , The food was overpriced not cooked poor quality & was made to fill they just wanted you gone so they could get on with doing things for the wedding reception they had going on at the same time ( To complain went on deaf ears )
We told staff again about our complaints on booking out & that i would be writing a review as to what happened the response was nothing we were not doing it to get a discount ( we payed full Price & feel as if we were robbed )
But what should of been a nice farewell to our dearly departed will always be the 3 days of hell
would i recommend " NO " would i stay again "NO " "You have been warned and told "

Room Tip: Take Ear plugs (you can hear the trains platform right outside your window ), Avoid at all cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SHORTSTAY_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duxford hotels

Worsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here with work on a training course and the rooms were like something from Alice in Wonderland the rooms and doors got tinnier and tinnier but so quirky and characterful
The food was fabulous and the waitress Margret was outstanding she couldn't do enough to help us all and was so friendly
Thanks again for a great 2 weeks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minxie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was very pleased you enjoyed your time in our hotel and all the quirks that come with staying at the red lion. It is a beautiful building and it is very nice to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff member, we will pass on your feedback to her. Our staff work very hard and they will certainly appreciate your comments.

We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for your custom.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went for lunch at this hotel/bar today. It was the first time we'd been since a change of management, and were hoping it would be a new place for a local lunch out. We ordered two meals, a cheese selection with bread and a ham hock terrine. Neither needed any cooking and everyone else in the pub (which was only about four or five people) had been served. We waited well over half an hour for it and when we asked about it it came within a minute. The butter was melted, the bread was toasted and cold when it had advertised as sourdough bread on the menu. We sent it back and asked for fresh bread, but when it came it was stale and didn't taste of sourdough at all. The ham hock terrine was absolutely tasteless. Overall it was a very disappointing visit and we will not be returning. Luckily we were given a bit off the bill otherwise it would have been very expensive as well.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I have reviewed your comments with the head chef and asked her to speak with the person involved. It was an unacceptable time to wait for food. With all produce homemade and locally sourced it is disappointing to read that the Ham hock was tasteless and the head chef is reviewing how this is made and how it can be made better.

I was pleased that the staff responded to your feedback during your visit by ensuring you were compensated.

We will take swift action to rectify the issues you experienced and we hope you will allow us the opportunity in the future to restore your faith in our hotel.


Kind Regards



Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were in the area and had some time to kill, so decided to pop in to the red lion for some lunch. We soon wished we hadn't. The staff were neither warm or welcoming and didn't seem particularly interested in our custom. The only option food wise was Carvery, which was terrible. The meat was fatty, the potatoes tasted like they had been fried and then reheated, the carrots were at best al dente, the parsnips were raw and the plates were cold, meaning the lukewarm food was stone cold very quickly. We are up and asked for the bill rather quickly. I was disgusted to find that a simple diet coke was £3.25!!! I had to double check with the waitress that this was correct and was told their prices reflect their 'boutique image' which is a ludicrous response. It's a shame their food and service doesn't live up to this so called 'boutique image'.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Your completely right, your visit did not reflect what we think we are. I can only apologise for the issues you faced. Our customers are valuable to us but it would appear that staff on the given day of your visit did not treat you with the courtesy or respect you deserve.

I can assure you the food is locally sourced, the potatoes are not fried at all. I have asked the head chef to ensure she reviews the potatoes because this is unacceptable.

Without your feedback we cannot improve our service levels. We have work to do which is clear however i assure you we will rectify our errors so customer leave happy and willing to return.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great location for getting to Cambridge by train. Stayed for 2 nights in March. Arrived about 9 o'clock and we were very warmly welcomed. Dinner and service both evenings was excellent. Breakfast very good although some guests complained about wait as everyone came down at same time. We were not worried came to get away and just sipped coffee and chatted.

The room although quite small was well appointed and had everything we needed. Bed amazing and very comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Really, they cannot be serious. £7 for rocket leaves and a bit of goats cheese that had been thrown on a plate. £13 for a burger which had a plain burger and a dollop of coleslaw (to be fair tasted ok) and soggy chips. It's poor pub grub at hotel prices. There are local pubs in Duxford twice as good and half the price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NickD_cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge

Property: Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Address: Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Duxford CB22 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing