We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duxford Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duxford
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked our golden wedding day lunch for 34 guests and can honestly say the whole day was so enjoyable. The sun was shining and we had pre lunch drinks in the lovely garden. The lunch was just great and all of our guests were pleased with their choices. Sue was so helpful and friendly when making the arrangements and we could thoroughly recommend the hotel for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband had stayed at the lodge several years ago and stayed in the upstairs room. He had a lovely stay. I suspect as many other reviewers are stating, we recently were given the four poster room. Do not stay in the room. It was damp, stained and filthy. It smelled of mold. We too found the staff underwhelming. Breakfast is served until 9:30. We received a call at 9:20 to remind us to come to breakfast. We were at the breakfast room at 9:25 and were told the cook could not fix. Us breakfast as he was now cooking lunch. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 733donnaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked this hotel as a romantic break away from the kids. most websites list this as a romantic hotel, which it is - nice rooms, wood panelling, great food, the staff are attentive and friendly.
however, there were too many children running up and down the stairs shouting, and our quiet intimate breakfast was suddenly ruined by the arrival of 6 guests, seated on 3 different tables, who had to shout to each other about last nights party they attended. They added "we normally stay at travel lodges, but this was the same price so we came here"
the restaurant is quite pricey, but the food is excellent and there was a nice mix of people in the restaurant. We found out later the noisy parties headed to McDonald's prior to their party!
so yes it is a romantic quiet hotel, but you never know who else is staying there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I went to Duxford for my best friend wedding .
The place is so quite, lovely . Good rooms , excellent organization of the event .
it seems to be at your house . the owners are wonderful and Always ready to help you in case you nedd any information.

The countryside all around is really a pleasure for your eyes .
Good pubs and good food .
best airport to land Stansted .
be careful with the taxi, they are quite expensive.

Room Tip: all rooms are good . The suite is the largest amd the most beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paola k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed in room 3 and my parents room 4 for two days last week (29th and 30th August)
The rooms were clean and well decorated. I got exactly what I paid for.

The staff were very friendly, the food was good and the location of the hotel was excellent ; in a small quiet village very close to RAF Duxford and Cambridge city.

Obviously I can't speak for other rooms and other days, but i found the hotel excellent. I thought the price was excellent too.

It is, at the end of the day, a small country hotel so perhaps lacks some amenities. Aircon would have been nice, but then again this is England so how often do you need it.

I would imagine if the place was full(a wedding was due the afternoon we left) that the place could be a bit noisy.

However, when we were there I can only say we all had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonesfordf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a travelzoo offer. Executive rooms very nicely appointed. Looked newly decorated and furnished. Only negative was that the bathroom lacked a shower although bathroom was quite large. Dinner was well presented and enjoyable. Will return if offers are available.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yetifan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Went to the restaurant for Sunday lunch and was not disappointed.
The smoked salmon starter was a little basic, with just mixed leaves and smoked salmon (not even a wedge of lemon), but the roast beef main course was delicious with a massive Yorkshire pudding, perfectly cooked roast beef and tasty roasted parsnips etc. The staff were exceptionally friendly and it had a lovely, relaxing feel to it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JacksonSLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
2.4 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
269 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
275 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxford Lodge

Address: Ickleton Road, Duxford CB22 4RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duxford
Price Range: £69 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duxford Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Duxford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxford Hotel Duxford
Duxford Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing