We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The John Barleycorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The John Barleycorn
Ranked #1 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed here as part of a wedding party so it wasnt a place i picked. But i'm happy to say this place is a little gem of a pub. The staff were all very friendly and the pub itself has all the charm a 300 year old pub should have. The food in the evening was fantastic, pies, steaks, fish etc something for everyone basically. The accomodiation was superb. Very nicely decorated little self contained rooms. All en-suite. The breakfast was huge it even came with black pudding, so much i couldn't eat it all. Very tasty though.

All in all i'd highly recommend this place and if your going to an airshow at IWM up the road stay here and make an evening of it too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    81
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
111
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in the Barleycorn for one night. We wanted a change and thought a country pub might be a nice thing to do. The pub itself is old and atmospheric. Only issue is for those over 6 feet - the low ceilings can be a bother.
The staff are fine, friendly and efficient and the breakfast was excellent.
The room was OK. No complaints but no laurels either. (Minor point, the drainage from the washbasin was rather slow.
We ate dinner at the pub and that was OK as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

stayed while visiting nearby RAF Duxford .All the reviews were spot on.Great staff fantastic food .Good breakfast.Room clean and comfortable.Good olde fashioned english pub only downside limited selection of on draft lager but you can,t have everything

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSO211837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed for 1 night but wish we could have stayed longer!This is a wonderful place to stay for visiting Cambridge.Excellent value for money.The staff are very friendly.Food excellent.Accommodation spot on!

We walked from Duxford to Hinxton and were so pleased we did!Such a beautiful village.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marmitebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this friendly pub overnight on our way to Harwich, the Staff were very friendly and efficient, the bedroom was really nice, full English breakfast in the morning set us up for the remaining journey to Harwich, would definitely stay again if we find ourselves in that neck of the woods.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank keith_powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here over two nights to visit Duxford Museum . This is a very friendly cosy pub which has a very impressive menu to offer including daily specials. Real Ale is kept well and there were two to choose from. Food was GOOD Pub Grub.... served hot and was good quality overall.
Accommodation comfy, nice hot shower, clean and not a lot of noise. Will definitely go here again
we found it reasonably priced and had friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gourmetgal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a lovely stay at the John Barleycorn, Duxford. We had a beautiful room next to the pub, out the back and beaut full English Brekkie, great beer..quiet, comfy bed. Very little pu noise, a couple of cars leaving..that was all (it was a cold rainy night).
It's one of those rare places you really want to keep to yourself. Really friendly service too. Would have liked to stay longer, but the next night was fully booked. Very reasonably price. We will definitely stay here if in the area again. Perfect for the IWM too (which is why it was fully booked he next night, with the Spring show on there!).
I can't think of any negatives..just perfect. THANKS for the enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
0.4 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
2.6 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The John Barleycorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Barleycorn

Property: The John Barleycorn
Address: 3 Moorfield Road, Duxford CB22 4PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The John Barleycorn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The John Barleycorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing