We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub well placed for Duxford IWM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The John Barleycorn
Ranked #1 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely pub well placed for Duxford IWM”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The war museum is too large and important to be done in a few hours, so the John Barleycorn is perfectly placed for an overnight stay. Rooms, named after pilots, are not large but comfortable. The drinking/eating area outside is very pleasant on a warm evening. The bar is traditional, with absolutely perfect Greene King Abbot, Food is good quality if a little pricey considering that it's a pub, not restaurant. Excellent steak and venison. Breakfast couldn't be faulted. All in all, good value, nice staff and lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hengist002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    84
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
120
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed here overnight due to the pub's proximity to the Sanger Institute in Hinxton. The staff (and the locals) were so friendly and made me feel very welcome. The room I stayed in was large and comfortable and I slept very well. One slight grumble was that the kettle in my room needed descaling, but this is easily fixed! I enjoyed a couple of drinks in the pretty beer garden and ate dinner and breakfast in the cosy pub; both were delicious and freshly cooked and the service was excellent. The only other issue (not specific to The John Barleycorn) was the lack of phone signal (on O2) I received in the whole of Duxford which made communicating with my work colleagues extremely difficult, but I'm unsure whether this is a permanent issue or whether there was a particular problem whilst I was there. I would definitely recommend this charming and traditional pub and would like to say thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spills87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed for just the one night and picked this place as it was near the IWM at Duxford. This is a lovely little pub in a quiet village. The rooms are at the rear of the building and separate to the main building. The room was fairly small but very well presented and very clean. The bathroom was spotless and the towels were soft and fluffy. You can sit outside in the pleasant beer garden to cool off after a long day visiting the IWM up the road. We had an evening meal in the restaurant, which seemed to be very popular and busy. The service was excellent, as was the food - sharing board of olives, fresh bread, charcuterie etc for start, followed by Cajun chicken salad and corn-fed chicken. Lovely wine too. The breakfast was huge and very tasty. All in all I thought this was excellent value and would recommend to friends. The staff were very friendly and there was nothing at all to fault.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed three nights in this tiny Inn - our twin room has been adapted for use by disabled folk with a wet room and no threshhold to bounce over! The other rooms are all doubles; small but very well designed to sqeeze in the en-suit facilities. The breakfasts are great if you like a full English, but very little else on offer - we asked for yoghurt with no success, and some fruit would have been nice! The staff were well trained and very helpful. The evening meals were excellent so we ate in two nights and only went out the other night to benefit from a "Tastecard" offer down the road! Liked the atmosphere of the ancient pub and would definately return if visiting Cambridge again - we used the P&R facility just a short drive away.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the only twin - the other three are doubles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trooper1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very close to the IWM, this is a good value hotel with lots of charm, friendly staff and excellent food.
Being a thatched cottage several hundred years old gives it lots of charm and they relate to the RAF history of the area with pictures, mementos and rooms named after pilots.
It was the perfect place to stay after seeing a wonderful airshow at Duxford IWM

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed for 3 nights,rooms small and comfortable, good power shower (Room 1) nice crisp clean bedding and towels, staff very friendly and obliging,special thanks to Dennis who served and cooked our breakfast,We ate here every night food very good and we thought about the correct price ,8oz fillet £21, fish n' chips £10 95,excellent,nice pint of Greene King Abbott (or 6).5mins from IWM .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights, rooms were small but very comfortable. Staff were always friendly and accommodating - especially the lady who cleaned our rooms. The pub has a great atmosphere however the restaurant was quite pricey for what was on the menu. They did serve up a delicious breakfast though! Easy to travel into both Cambridge and London from here without the busy and hectic atmosphere of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elayne93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
0.3 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
2.6 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
7.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The John Barleycorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Barleycorn

Property: The John Barleycorn
Address: 3 Moorfield Road, Duxford CB22 4PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The John Barleycorn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The John Barleycorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing