We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub with comfy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The John Barleycorn
Ranked #1 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely pub with comfy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2014

I always hope when booking places to stay or eating out in restaurants that at the very least I get what I pay for, The John Barleycorn is one of those place where what you pay for and what you receive surpasses your expectations and leaves you feeling like you got a real bargain. OK the rooms were not the most luxurious but for £65 B&B they were quirky and the bed was really comfortable, perfect for our needs.

We'd spent the day in Ascot and were using the John Barleycorn to break up our trip home, sadly got stuck on the M25 so missed the dinner service by 15 minutes.... the staff here were really welcoming and rustled up a sandwich and we were able to enjoy a dessert. We had a few drinks in the bar, there is a really good vibe going, it's cosy and the staff obviously enjoy working there. I wish it were our local!!

Our comfortable sleep was followed by a delicious breakfast, full english with good quality coffee just what we needed to send us on our way for our 150 mile drive home. There was a choice of cereals and juices too.

I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    82
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
115
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were travelling to visit friends in Essex and due to weather accidents etc on A14/M11 we decided to pull off & find somewhere to eat & drink. Wow!! What a lovely place we found a totally unexpected little gem. We were warmly greeted by the extremely pleasant staff & seated with drinks & menus very quickly. We chose a sharing platter & a couple of extras sides which were absolutely delicious. We would love to have had more but as our friends were expecting us for dinner we couldn't over eat. We chatted with the staff & as a result we will be back to stay & explore the area.
If you need a break while travelling or a great weekend place look it up. So glad we did.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a lovely place to stop and have lunch. Wonderful food, excellent service by delightful staff and a great rest and relaxing place to stop before an afternoon at the IWM Duxford. Highly recommended and wish it was nearer to home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranjanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Visited recently, our second time, although we were unaware as friends made the booking. Great Old English Pub, with half a dozen ales on the pump, friendly staff, and inviting atmosphere. The food we had was well presented, and excellent value for money, and we were looked after by the staff in an efficient way but not over the top. All four of us decided afterwards that we should meet here for our bi-annual meets, so we will be back before Xmas.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KnightyatNo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Traveled to Duxford for the sole purpose of visiting the museum and then spending the night to return to London the next day. Really didn't know what to expect upon check in after a long day of walking the vast expanse of the air museum. The rooms were wonderful! I had room three and my friend has room two. They were located at the rear of the pub near the outside seating for the pub. That was not an issue since we stayed until we were the last pub customers. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our converstion with them. Abee actually loaned me her phone charger since I had failed to bring my adaptor. I will return to the John Barleycorn. The only suggestion is they may want to instruct the visiting yanks on how to work the heating and cooling! The open window worked just fine!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elwood E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here before overnight earlier in the year and dropped in for lunch on our way back from Cambridge. As before the John Barleycorn has great food and excellent service along with (in my lucky case) the best company. :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LesBriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I really wanted to love this place and am so disappointed that I couldn't give it a rave review.
We had a room booked at the inn because we were due to fly at Duxford Airfield the following day, which probably puts us in the category of 'the usual touristy trade' and may be why it's a little pricey for what you get, as far as accommodation goes.
We ate at the residential pub and the venison is locally sourced, as are most of the desserts, which was fantastic.
The drinks were pricey (£5.00 for a pint of beer),the staff friendly and welcoming, but unfortunately, attempting to sleep in one of the back rooms was impossible.
The very loud, high pitched mechanical wail from the refrigeration units was enough to make me wonder if I'd developed a form of tinnitus that would leave me deafened me by morning.
It would've been quieter to sleep at a banshee screaming competition held in a cymbal testing factory while a Boeing 747 circled closely overhead.
We shut the only tiny window, this being the only ventilation on a very warm night, but the omnipresent wailing, humming and thrumming would not be silenced or even muffled.
At £87.00 a room, one should expect to be able to sleep, especially since we had for the past year, been anticipating a very special day planned at Duxford airfield to fly a Tiger Moth.
If noise doesn't bother you, the room was otherwise clean and comfortable, as was the bed, although the air did smell very musty. I suspect that's from the lack of ventilation, rather than lack of cleanliness.
Great place to eat, nightmare for sleep.

Room Tip: There are four rooms located by the beer garden which are very close to a noisy kitchen refrigeratio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cometes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duxford
0.3 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
2.6 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The John Barleycorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Barleycorn

Property: The John Barleycorn
Address: 3 Moorfield Road, Duxford CB22 4PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The John Barleycorn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The John Barleycorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing