We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awesome!”

Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Duxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum dedicated to the US 8th and 9th Army Air Force houses a large collection of American combat aircraft.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just Awesome!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The whole Imperial War Museum at Dixford is great. However, The American Air Museum is the icing on the cake. You enter the vast space from on high and look down on a selection of aircraft, most of which you will be familiar with even if you aren't an enthusiast due to the number of times they have been in films.

It is then a pleasure to get up close and stand under the B-52 or next to the Huey and take in the history of these aircraft.

There is a good place to buy snacks or meals and a nice few gifts to pick from.

If you go to the IWM make sure you make the effort to walk all the way down to The American Air Museum, you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    36
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
solent view
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“D'Day celebration”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very interesting.
Typhoon display was awesome, the noise incredible.
Nothing to dislike, everyone helpful & knowledgeable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pineridge_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As I don't fly and have no interest in aviation history, I was not particularly looking forward to this trip - however, I was pleasantly surprised to find it one of the most interesting places I have ever visited, and would thoroughly recommend it to everyone, of all ages. The site is well-laid out, the aircraft are displayed in an imaginative way,and the information is provided in a manner suitable for all levels of knowledge. In particular, the Battle of Britain museum and Operations Room provided a thought-provoking insight into the human side of war. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the cafe provided good quality food.
A really good day out, well worth the entrance fee, and be prepared to take a full day to see all there is to see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great, but”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a great place to visit, but only if aircraft are really your thing. We went on Good Friday as we were passing on our way to Canterbury, and as my husband had always wanted to go, we stopped on the way, he loved it, and probably would have spent a lot longer there if he could have. When all said and done it makes a great "Mans" day out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tech201154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“American Air Museum in the UK”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Not only is the Air Museum a worthwhile visit for any aviation, or even non aviation, enthusiast, but the entire Duxford complex offers a wide variety of military oriented exhibits. The Battle of Britain museum was, to me, extremely interesting and gave me more insight into the terrible hardships endured by WW2 Londoners. if you can plan to be there on the weekend, check to see if there is a vintage warplane air show. Also, there is a concession on the field that provides vintage airplane rides for a reasonable fee. One can easily spend an entire day, or more, visiting the entire complex.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank teemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Air Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing