We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must try harder” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highcliffe Hotel

Highcliffe Hotel
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Highcliffe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Aberporth B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must try harder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We arrived mid evening and the owner of this little hotel greeted us, and confirmed that he had a double room available. It was a large room with a large ensuite, but the decor was tired and is much in need of updating - there was a funny drapey net arrangement over the bed! . With a bit of money spent on it, this could be a beautiful place to stay. The food in the evening was acceptable (just as well, as there did not seem to be anywhere else to eat in Aberporth) and the breakfast was good. The owner is friendly but we didn't see any other staff around., Aberport is just a little bay with a couple of hotels and a few houses on one side, and a little street with a few more houses and basic shops on the other. Very nice in the summer and probably quite popular.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birchyvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    12
    8
    20
See reviews for
22
29
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vrysoulles, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

A group of 6 of us booked a stay of four nights. On our arrival the hotel had a very damp smell as you entered with a pile of unopened mail dumped on a chair and did appear to have been cleaned. We were greeted by the owners daughter ( about 18 yrs old) and shown to our rooms which were anything but acceptable. After discussions with the owners daughter we discovered they were on holiday in Cuba!!!!! We were sure the 'hotel' had just been reopened for the 6 of us. We were told there would be no food available and the drinks bar would not be open. Needless to say we did not and would not stay there. One of the worst 'hotels' We have EVER visited.

Room Tip: Book another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I booked this hotel for 1 night based on the location and photo's on the hotel website. The website certainly does not represent the hotel at all. The decoration is very shabby and worn but for 1 night I could overlook this. The issue for me was the lack of cleanliness to the point I borrowed the hoover and cleared the spiders and webs from the ceiling (the webs were black from old dust) and also there was a large dead moth behind the bed along with other fluff and matter. I did not stay for breakfast in the morning and made the issue known at reception. I have photos of the offending insects etc but have chosen not to post these. Everyone needs to make a living but this isn't the way to run a hotel and keep repeat business.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great value for money - double en-suite room including breakfast was £70. Room and bathroom were fine but beginning to look as though needed a bit of decorating. Comfortable bed, helpful friendly staff and very good breakfast. In a beautiful spot just a short walk from the beach too. Apparently the best place to see dolphins in Europe!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My friend and I stayed here with a small dog for two nights in August and had a wonderful stay. The staff were really friendly and it felt like a home from home. The breakfast choice was superb and plenty of it!! The rooms were clean and beds made up each day. Ive noticed some of the remarks on this site have been quite scathing and i feel this is some what unfair. I would definately come back to this establishment again. Good valuve for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We wanted a convenient place to stay while we were meeting up with family for what used to be an annual picnic at Ynyslas. We are hoping to re-establish this family event. We chose our hotel from Travel Offers.
We received a very warm welcome and were encouraged to engage in conversation with fellow guests. The atmosphere was relaxed and yet we knew that our every wish would be accommodated - and they were!
The décor of the hotel was full of interesting little objects which gave us the feeling of being very much at home in someone else's home.
There was an excellent choice of good food and drink and our room was light, clean, airy and comfortable.
We would certainly choose this venue again.

Room Tip: Away from the main road might be a good option, though night time traffic was minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

With its spectacular views and just a short walk from the beach, the Highcliffe Hotel provides an idyllic location for any stay in Aberporth.

Breakfasts were amazing, offering a wide range of choices to suit every palate and special diets such as vegetarian and gluten free were very well catered for.

We could not have wished for a warmer welcome than the one we received from the owners/management or the staff we came into contact with. They were all extremely friendly and accommodating; nothing was too much trouble and everyone went that extra mile to ensure our stay was a pleasant one.

Offering dog-friendly accommodation that was basic but clean and good car parking facilities, the Highcliffe Hotel offers excellent value for money. We would definitely go back there and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good base from which to explore Aberporth and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram0K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberporth
6.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
7.3 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ffynonwen Country Guesthouse & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highcliffe Hotel

Property: Highcliffe Hotel
Address: Highcliffe | Cardigan Bay, Aberporth SA43 2DA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aberporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Highcliffe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a ship owners's residence in 1820, this family run hotel is just 150 yards from 2 sandy beaches and sits on a stretch of coastline in Cardigan Bay. With a cosy bar and good food the Highcliffe provides an ideal base for a seaside holiday or for touring Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highcliffe Hotel Aberporth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing