We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of heaven in a chaotic world!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Aberporth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laurie w
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A slice of heaven in a chaotic world!”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A group of high school friends from over 50 years ago picked this farmhouse for a weeks stay. It was just so wonderful. Beautiful bedrooms, bathrooms updated, wonderful farms nearby with gentle lowing of cows each morning. The peace and quiet of the grounds, the nearness to castles,towns and the Pembrokeshire coast made this vacation rental my favorite by far. Taxi service from nearby town meant all nine of us could have outings together. A great place to come back to each day...I had read other reviews and was pleased to see how happy people were..Everything you need is there-inside and out!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that nine of us could stay there together
Liked least: Nothing bothered me
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect house and grounds for all the family.”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a warm and friendly welcome when we arrived. There were 15 of us 7 children, 7 adults and 1 dog. The house, grounds and surroundings beautiful. Everything was just right, not so perfect that one was worried about spoiling anything at the same time comfortable and clean. There was plenty of room for games both outdoor and indoor. There are lots of beaches just a short drive away and plenty of walking. We loved it and hope to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38lizn
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A relaxing stay in the beautiful Welsh countryside”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A old dower house down a country lane with a glorious garden & a croquet lawn - a real recipe for a good holiday & we had one!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiWorth
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful house - full of character in a lovely, peaceful rural setting.”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My friends & I found the house very clean, warm and comfortable and soon felt very much at home. It was well equipped in all areas & had a very efficient drying room for wet weather walking. There was plenty of outdoor seating with large table for outdoor eating. We had a lot of fun with the croquet set!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan H
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely house in stunning location”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have found a gem of a house in a stunning location. It exceeded all our expectations. A peaceful relaxing holiday in a stunning location with easy access to some world class beaches and the Ceredigion coastal path. The spacious accommodation provides a variety of rooms, some with en suite, including a lovely sitting and dining room. The traditional kitchen has all the facilities to provide for a large family. It is well maintained and was spotlessly clean. All in all we cannot fault it and could recommend this lovely house for a memorable family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and beautiful surroundings
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland595
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty, decrepit and disappointing”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Probably the dirtiest house I have ever set foot in. I spent the first afternoon and evening cleaning the kitchen to make it even passably hygenic for my children and grandchildren. Threadbare rugs and a smell of wet dog everywhere, layers of grime around the taps in the bathrooms and the showers, and smoke alarms with dead batteries. Open drain in the utility room, unusable barbecue, Aga caked in grease, electric cooker you could only turn off completely at the wall, and on and on. Avoid it at all costs. 1 star only for the weather, which meant we could be outside on the lawn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Filthy kitchen and overall dirty condition
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
I am so sorry this lady did not enjoy her stay, but I am honestly amazed by her comments. We have been letting the house for 20 years and have never had comments like this. Since the new caretakers moved in several people have commented that the house is cleaner than ever. Moreover the caretaker asked the guest soon after she arrived if everything was all right and she replied ‘yes’. During the whole week she was here, she never once intimated to the caretaker (who lives across the yard) that anything was unsatisfactory.

To answer her complaints in more detail:

There hasn’t been a dog in the house for at least 2 months and that was only for a week. There were certainly no dog hairs on the kitchen floor (as the guest claimed in her original email) as it had been mopped 3 hours before the guests arrived. Nobody else has been able to detect ‘the smell of wet dog everywhere’.

There are no ‘layers of grime’ in the bathrooms and what the guest mistook for a smoke alarm was in fact a carbon monoxide monitor, which the caretaker assures me was working fine.

The Aga was certainly not ‘caked in grease’ and the guest actually told the caretaker that she wouldn’t need the Aga anyway. I’m sorry if she found the barbecue unusable but scores have others have used it without complaint.

In her original feedback the guest complained of ‘inadequate garden furniture’ – I fail to see how 6 deckchairs, 2 garden benches and a garden table that seats 6 could be ‘inadequate’ for 10 or 11 guests. She also claimed that she hadn’t let her grandchildren play with the toys here, but if so how did they come to be left scattered around the living room?

In fact, for a lady so clearly keen on cleanliness and order, she left the house and garden in a surprising mess. The croquet hoops were scattered round the garden along with balls of silver foil, the furniture had been moved round and not replaced, and glass and bottles were all thrown into the same bag as the food and general waste – this despite very clear instructions on the bins as to what should go where. It is a pity she doesn’t practise what she preaches..

In conclusion I can only repeat that her comments are totally contrary to the overwhelming majority of feedback we’ve had from our guests over 20 years.

Richard Mitchley (co-owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grumpy285
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable well equiped property in tranquil setting.”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in March 2014

A well equipped comfortable 'homely' property in a lovely tranquil environment and we were greeted in a warm friendly manner. The property was ideal for our needs (with the added bonus of a ground floor bedroom and bathroom) with comfortable sitting rooms, bedrooms and kitchen. The only downside was that the property was 'tired' nothing a lick of paint and general maintenance would not address.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing