We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well past sell by date.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Borrow Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This place is not anywhere near as good as its blurb.
It needs a total refurb, change of attitude and the management could be more accomodating
Would not stay there again, there are much better places at the same or lower cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just had our 2nd stay at The Borrow,we feel so at home there,Karen,Rob,Claire and the family make you feel so at home!.
We were lucky to get a room back there at short notice,the family room that we had last time,which has a double and a single bed so is pretty spacious.It has 2 big windows,one at the side,the other at the back overlooking the gorge and the valley beyond,it's great to watch Red Kites out of your bedroom window.The room is comfy and bright and being at the back of the hotel virtually no road noise.
We did intend to go out a bit more but the heat got to us so we spent most of the days in the lovely garden facing the gorge,in the shade and had our late lunches there,the homemade cottage pie was really lovely and you could opt for a good dish of fresh veg and new potatoes instead of the usual chips and peas for just 50p each.The breakfasts were great and professionally served,usually by Karen herself.Meals are served all day which really suited us and is fairly rare in the area.
The residents lounge is lovely and comfy with an array of sofas and chairs,again with brill views.
The Hotel has a lovely atmosphere and listening to the voices coming from the bar and one night the local choir practising only added to your evenings.
Everything is done to ensure you have what you need and you feel part of things without it being intrusive.
We visit Mid Wales quite regularly and have come to the conclusion to stick to what you know really suits you and not to bother going to other accommodations when you've found THE ONE!
Thanks Karen and all the family,see you as soon as we can

Room Tip: The family room [3] for space,failing that Room 5,these are at the back with spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hectorzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My parents, my fiancee and I stayed in the George Borrow Hotel for two nights for graduation in Aberystwyth. The location of the hotel was a little far from the town (12 miles) but is very pleasantly situated in a quiet area about 12 miles away.

First, check-in seemed very unorganized but the staff were all friendly and helpful which made up for that. One of the most immediately noticeable things is the slightly unpleasant smell that wafts through the entrance rooms and up the stairs.

The rooms clearly are very varied since my parents had a lovely corner room that was very spacious and had a great view from the window (described as a family double and had an additional single bed). By contrast, my room (described as a 'small double') was miniscule and the sloping roof made it seem even smaller. There was only one small window in the corner which had to be left open for the entire duration of the stay if we wanted to avoid melting in the July heat. Overall, the room clearly needed redecorating and renovating (bathroom too) in order to meet the basic standard that you should expect when paying for a hotel room. Sometimes it is the small things such as half-empty single use shower gels, kettle sitting on the floor not a table, or lamps with blown bulbs that make the biggest impression. The bed was very comfortable though and this was the rooms only real saving grace.

Both mornings I had the full English breakfast which was okay but nothing exceptional. The dining room is very clean though and offers a good view out to the garden and beyond.

Overall, our stay at the George Borrow left us with mixed feelings. Everyone was happy to help and it was nice to be a in a hotel that wasn't just another chain. That said, my room was barely acceptable and I would not stay there again however it seems that some other rooms are finished to a higher standard.

Room Tip: Room 5 was lovely - a very large corner room with great views Room 11 should be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Staff are lovely, views are spectacular and the breakfast is good!

All makes up for the slightly out-dated décor.

Rooms are very variable in size - from small but cute to very large. Showers are new and very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Very caring and friendly management and staff. My room was nice and clean and everything worked as it should but needed a few DIY jobs to be done. The food was good basic fare and lots of it with plenty of options. The gardens are lovely and there are great views of the local countryside.
There is a nice homely atmosphere and I can't praise the staff enough. They were tops!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is in an ideal place for visiting the Rheidol valley area, but sadly is tired and in dire need of a makeover. Having said that the room was clean and the beds comfortable which gave us a good nights sleep. Breakfasts were OK but dinners were variable. One night the salmon was superb, on another night it was overcooked and dried out. The same was true of the gammon unfortunately. There was an abundance of veg available and meals were not small, but, if they are not good.....
It may be a temporary glitch whilst the daughter of the house, who we believe is the cook, is away.
There is wifi available if required.
The staff were all kind and helpful, I just hope they can succeed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

If everywhere else is full, this is an option. It's tired, old school, it's an example of how Wales lags behind a lot of the rest of the UK. Its a rusting freighter, big, ungainly with mediocre breakfasts. It just has that smell of a place just not succeeding. But the beer was good, the staff very friendly and sky sports was on. Like I said, its serves a purpose.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswiblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponterwyd
9.3 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
10.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
364 reviews
10.7 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
10.2 mi away
Queensbridge Hotel
Queensbridge Hotel
#12 of 13 in Aberystwyth
179 reviews
10.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Borrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Borrow Hotel

Address: A44, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Ponterwyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Price Range: £63 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — George Borrow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Borrow is a 17th Century coaching inn and is named after the famous writer who stayed here in 1852. The Red Kite can be seen in its natural habitat from our rooms. The ideal place to relax, unwind, soak in the ambiance and atmosphere and enjoy excellent food and drink.Situated just one mile from the new international mountain bike circuits at Nant-y-Arian we have lock-up facilities for bicycles in our many outbuildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your George Borrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Borrow Hotel Ponterwyd, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing