We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Borrow Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed a 4 night stay at this well appointed small hotel in Mid Wales. Our double room was clean and had the most spectacular view (Room 4). The room had a compact en suite with shower which worked efficiently, and there was every amenity including hairdryer. The staff were always cheerful and helpful and it is very obvious that Karen, the owner, really does care The breakfast was very good, not at all greasy, and there was a considerable choice of evening meals and bar food which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 4 - beautiful views!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norfolkdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for George Borrow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

we arrived here for a one night stay and were greeted by nice friendly staff, but the interior of the hotel looked very tired and smelled of a mix of air fresheners and fried food. when showed up to our room which was at the top of the hotel in the roof it was a very small room and with a double bed which had a beam on one side and when i stood up i nearly knocked myself out (i am only 5ft 8inches tall). the bathroom had a beige carpet and a pine toilet seat which was loose. my wife found the room not to be of a standard that we wanted to stay in so we ended up going into town and finding another hotel.we paid £75.00 for a room that we never used and after e-mailing the hotel twice they still have not replied we are not impressed with the customer service so overall we are not happy with this hotel

Room Tip: don't take room eight!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is the second time that we have visited the George Borrow Hotel. The first time in August 2013 Like this was a last minute decision to take a short break, and like this time was to the same high standard. The hotel is clean has a lot of character and is set in a beautiful location, Good views from all the rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent selection of good food and very generous servings. We had great 3 Day break Excellent value. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian_coombes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stopped here on our way and returning from our recent holiday ! the entrance into the bar area is looking a little tired however having said that, the staff are very friendly, the place is clean and tidy inside, the drink prices are very good and the food which comes quite quickly is very good value for the money, it is a good portion and of a good standard, we shall stop here again when passing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shezzasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stopped in one Sunday in late AUGUST on spec for Sunday lunch , had passsed it so many times before over the years , but it was lunch time so decided to stop , food was excellent , a carvery , very well cooked , and plenty of it , also a good choice of vegetables , would definitely
recommend for Sunday lunch , staff were curtious and pleasant !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Booked as a birthday surprise by my partner, the hotel was lovely. Set in a beautiful region of Wales, with a mountainous backdrop and a valley at the bottom of the garden

Traditional style hotel, excellent home cooked food and extremely welcoming staff; the other guests were friendly too.

My family had a great relaxing time. Can't recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: Rom 3 has a nice view out over the valley
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Owen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This place is not anywhere near as good as its blurb.
It needs a total refurb, change of attitude and the management could be more accomodating
Would not stay there again, there are much better places at the same or lower cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponterwyd
9.3 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
320 reviews
10.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
359 reviews
10.7 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
10.2 mi away
Queensbridge Hotel
Queensbridge Hotel
#12 of 13 in Aberystwyth
176 reviews
10.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Borrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Borrow Hotel

Address: A44, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Ponterwyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Price Range: £57 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — George Borrow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Borrow is a 17th Century coaching inn and is named after the famous writer who stayed here in 1852. The Red Kite can be seen in its natural habitat from our rooms. The ideal place to relax, unwind, soak in the ambiance and atmosphere and enjoy excellent food and drink.Situated just one mile from the new international mountain bike circuits at Nant-y-Arian we have lock-up facilities for bicycles in our many outbuildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your George Borrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Borrow Hotel Ponterwyd, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing