We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location but hotel needs investment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Borrow Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2008

This is a two star hotel not a guesthouse and, perhaps, it shows how the harmonised VisitBritain/AA/RAC star system does not 'show' everything.

Location is good but the hotel really needs significant upgrading. One night in second floor room was enough; go for the first floor - one has been redecorated according to Karen, joint proprietor, who has been there just over two years.

There isn't a lot of accommodation choice in the area so it's almost a case of a captive market...

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for George Borrow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2008

The location of this hotel is stunning and we had a very comfortable relaxing stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly, the hotel owners are very 'hands on' and the food was nice as well. The views from the rooms at the back of the hotel are wonderful. The garden (behind a fence) has a 200ft gorge through which runs the River Rheidol - and a waterfall which is really dramatic . The hotel had a very comfortable huge lounge with an lovely view and it was packed with books and games to cater for really wet weather if you didn't want to venture out.

Visit Nant Yr Arian centre just up the road towards Aberystwyth and watch the Red Kites being fed. Its an awesome experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arromanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Good clean hotel and very friendly, helpful staff. Food in restaurant very good and good portions. Rooms have been recently decorated. Great views of mountains from rear of hotel and waterfall at bottom of garden. Appears popular with walkers and with with those touring in the Aber' area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brummie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Room very clean (except for the window) but dated. The rest of the hotel needed a good "spring clean", including the garden. Food was ok. Views from garden were stunning. Hotel Management very friendly and welcoming..

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Great staff, great rooms and great food and great views what more could anybody want.. This is a three star hotel inside a two star. Highly recommended. my wife and I were on a birdwatching holiday and we were out with a hearty breakfast inside us also in our ruck sacks was a fresh packed lunch for us made to order and returning in the evening a fantastic choice of food freshly prepared including chefs specials and a lovely cheap bar.(which makes a change)! Mr and Mrs Saunders. west sussex

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zib68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

The views from the gsrden over the Reidol Gorge are breathtaking. Good beer, great food and a warm welcome. Comfortable accomodation and conveniently located. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HippyWhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

while on holiday in a bungalow few mile inland we had a power cut one evening, no electric no diner. so we got in our cars, 3 of them,9 people in all, and headed towards aberystwyth, looking for lights. the first of which we found was George Borrow Hotel. not knowing what too exspect we went in. Boy were we shocked, spung on them from nowhere these 9 people were given a very warm welcome. we had a lovely meal,f irst class. nothing was too much trouble. thanks for our lovely evening.
Mick from Newmarket

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank miche7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponterwyd
9.3 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
320 reviews
10.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
359 reviews
10.7 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
10.2 mi away
Queensbridge Hotel
Queensbridge Hotel
#12 of 13 in Aberystwyth
176 reviews
10.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Borrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Borrow Hotel

Address: A44, Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth SY23 3AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Ponterwyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponterwyd
Price Range: £57 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — George Borrow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Borrow is a 17th Century coaching inn and is named after the famous writer who stayed here in 1852. The Red Kite can be seen in its natural habitat from our rooms. The ideal place to relax, unwind, soak in the ambiance and atmosphere and enjoy excellent food and drink.Situated just one mile from the new international mountain bike circuits at Nant-y-Arian we have lock-up facilities for bicycles in our many outbuildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your George Borrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Borrow Hotel Ponterwyd, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing