We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gem Of A Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dinas Cottage

Front of Dinas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Dinas
Front of Dinas Kitchen/Side View Dinas Front Door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Front of Dinas
Front of Dinas Kitchen/Side View
Dinas Front Door
Dinas Double Bedroom
Dinas Dining Area
Dinas Kitchen
Dinas Kitchen/Diner
Dinas Shower Room
Dinas Lounge with Sofa Bed
Dinas Lounge
View outside Dinas
View out Dinas 2
Outside Dinas Picnic Bench
View on side of Dinas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FARTERSPA...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem Of A Cottage”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Dinas cottage 8th-11th July, what an amazing little gem it is. We were real impressed with the level of detail focused on the guest feeling they'd stepped through the door of something special. Dinas is renovated and furnished to a very high standard throughout and it's so peaceful and cosy. This is the best cottage I have had the pleasure of staying in and I highly recommend staying there. The views are fantastic, short drive up the road and you're at Devils Bridge Waterfalls. Bottom line; perfect cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and the amazing view. Thank you/Diolch Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieL383...
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated cottage in special location”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful two weeks in Dinas Cottage. The cottage is renovated to a very high standard, comfortable, clean and spacious with beautiful views over the countryside. Lovely walks in the area and Aberystwyth an easy 20 min drive however it was difficult to drag ourselves away from the comfortable cottage and that view! Martin was available throughout but his clear instructions on operating all appliances meant we did not need to contact him. This was our first visit to Wales and we are so pleased that we stayed in such a special area. Thank you Martin, a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Actual cottage with view.
Liked least: All kitchen chopping knives had serrated edges!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank You for leaving a great review, we appreciate all feedback and hope everybody has the best possible stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks/Diolch Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are staying here at DInas cottage for the Bank Holiday weekend and just had to share how lovely this place is. The views are stunning, the cottage superbly renovated and well planned throughout. Truly the best place we have ever stayed. The owners have thought of everything that you could want. These cottages are a real credit to them and their hard work.
We were told by Martin the owner that he had just had a hot tub installed and that we were the first guests to use it.......wow...how lucky were we. We used it a lot....
We cannot recommend these cottages enough. We liked DInas as the view from the kitchen/ diner was breathtaking....and we had sun all day. We hope to return again and hire both properties with friends or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! A really great place to relax
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank You so much for leaving a great review, we appreciate all feedback and want everybody to have the best stay possible. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks/Diolch Martin & Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovecake...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful place , the scenery was stunning. This beautifully renovated cottage is a lovely place to stay. My favourite room was the spacious kitchen/ dining room with double aspect views across the valley. A bench outside the door was a good place to sit and have a morning coffee. There is a useful petrol garage 10 minutes walk from the cottage which is also a small convenience store and is open late.
Nearby Bwlch Nant yr Arian visitors centre is worth a visit with a good cafe. Take your binoculars and you will see lots of birds including the magestic red kites.
We also enjoyed a trip on Rheidol steam train which runs from Aberystwyth to near by devils bridge and back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank You so much for leaving us a nice review, we appreciate any feedback and want everybody to enjoy the stay. Thank you for choosing our cottage and hope to see you again in the future. Thanks/Diolch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding cottage rental in Ceredigion, Wales”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found Dinas Cottage through TripAdvisor and booked on the basis of the reviews, and we were not disappointed. Superbly renovated and very luxurious, Dinas Cottage is at the high end of cottage rentals - truly wonderful and we loved staying there. Very well located in a secluded valley only a few 100 metres from the A44, with outstanding views from the benches outside of the property. Expertly finished and fitted throughout, the cottage is very comfortable with a superbly appointed kitchen and bathroom that has lashings of hot water. The cast iron fireplace is fully functional, although one doesn't need it as the central heating is very efficient - but we lit a fire every night because it was so homely. Satellite TV provides the usual entertainment but if one wants a quiet read then this is the right environment. Ponterwyd is a great location for visiting Ceredigion and its attractions, and there are loads of great walks just a short car ride away. The first afternoon on arrival we walked locally in a loop from Dinas Cottage to the nearby reservoir and back; the following day we parked in Aberwystwyth then took the train to Borth to walk back to Aber along the magnificent Wales Coastal Path then visited the town (and saw a few locations from the BBC's "Hinterland" detective series along the way). The next day we went to Devil's Bridge for a long looping hike. All walks were planned using OS Landranger Map 135. On our last full day it was raining and we drove to Abergynolwyn in the Snowdonia National Park to ride on the Talyllyn Steam Railway - lovely views. Overall It was a super break - we'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; Location: Location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you Robert for leaving a great review, we appreciate any feedback and want everybody to have the best stay as possible. Really glad you enjoyed part of what Wales has to offer, Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks/Diolch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
planegirl...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage with outstanding views”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked and paid for our intended stay through Trip Advisor and found Martin to be very quick to respond to our enquiry. The cottage was situated just off the A44 in a beautiful quiet setting with outstanding views across the Cambrian mountains. We found the accommodation to be cosy, spacious and furnished to a high standard. The bedroom situated upstairs was beautiful with high beams, low windows and a very comfortable bed. The log burner was home from home for us and was lovely on the damp evenings, supplies of wood were available at the local petrol station. Wifi was patchy but not suprising for a fairly remote location, the availability improved when the adjoining cottage guests arrived, we believed the routers were connected and just needed a reset, Vodafone mobile phone reception was not existant which was great for us! The cottage was in a good location to explore the surrounding area and we have recommended it to a number of people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're really pleased you enjoyed the cottage, views and amazing local walks. Hope to see you again in the future, Diolch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing