We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch B&B accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Crook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top notch B&B accomodation”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

As a party of four we stayed at Dowfold House for three nights this week. The accomodation and breakfasts are excellent, rooms very clean, well equipped and comfortable and the breakfast outstanding. The potato bread, sausage and strawberry jam were particularly delicious.

We really appreciated the considered approach Jill and Rupert take in reducing their and their guests impact on the environment. We also really liked their very helpful but inobtrusive approach to their guests.

We will be back and wish Jill and Rupert all the best for their highly deserved success.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oswald75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Gosh! You've really noticed some of the things we value most highly. We do work on the basis of :"save the world - but you don't need to wear a hair shirt to do it", and we always recognise that our guests are here for their own purposes, so we help wherever we can but otherwise essentially stay in the background. Thank you so much for appreciating this approach - we're delighted you like our home-made produce as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
70
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
459 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We found this B&B on the Internet last year while booking well ahead and it sounded as though it would be lovely. We haven't been let down. The house and room - the Pink Room - exude class. I'm not a fan of pink but the colouring in the bedroom is subtle with some gorgeous wallpaper. The ensuite is very pink but has a wonderful bath and a top class shower. The bed is queen size but feels larger and is super comfortable. Tea making facilities are available in the room with tea, coffee, Horlicks etc available and fresh milk supplied. The views over the adjacent fields are lovely. The Pink Room is upstairs which facilitate he views.

Downstairs is a nice dining room and a comfy lounge with books, tourist brochures and other bits and pieces. Very nice and a nice spot for a welcoming cup of tea and biscuits - provided by Jill who was very helpful on our arrival.

Breakfast is first class with lots of choices available. I'd recommend the Dowfold House English Breakfast which is a lovely cooked breakfast of a substantial but not over-the-top size. Very tasty and good to see a poached egg. Juices, cereal and fruit are also available. My wife found the coffee one of the best she's tasted in a B&B - strong and full of flavour.

The carpark is spacious although the entrance off the road is a bit tight.

For a classy but not expensive B&B, try Dowfold House.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thanks for your kind words. We work hard to maintain a high-quality place - and we enjoy being helpful! - so it's lovely to have it appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We found Dowfold House through searching for B&B's that welcome dogs, although ours happily sleep in the car. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and we were made to feel welcome without it being intrusive. The room was spacious and light and the bathroom pleasant and all very clean. The garden is a delight, though we did catch the most glorious weather. It is well located for visiting Durham and points west of the city.Walking dogs from the B&B means either roadside or putting them in the car, but then two minutes away is some very good walking and the driveway was shaded and close to the house. The breakfast was excellent. All most relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thank you very much, Henry B, for this excellent, detailed, review. We do positively welcome dogs - and dog people too - and are happy for the dogs to be in the rooms, if the owners prefer. It's true that sunshine makes everything better, and you had wonderful weather in which to walk your lovely dogs. There are LOTS of good walks round here, and in fact, county Durham has more miles of walking tracks than metalled roads. We're always finding new ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were travelling up to visit family in Scotland and found on our last visit this was a lovely oasis to stop at half way up so we naturally booked again and we were not disappointed. Jill and Rupert are perfect hosts and the room was exceptionally comfortable and the shower in the en suite in the room we stayed in this time was superb (a large head with a secondary handheld attachment). The breakfast was delicious and perfectly judge in terms of quantity and taste. We can not recommend this B&B enough if you have any reason to visit the Northeast of England then it is definitely worth seeking out or even if you don't you should visit it anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elksatthame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you very much. We're delighted you enjoyed the shower; it's quite new (and expensive), but we think it's great too!

Thank you too for being the guinea pig for our new breakfast treat - poached eggs a la Dowfold, with Seahouses smoked salmon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Would never stay anywhere else when visiting the family - have stayed before and will stay again - fab rooms - excellent service - very amenable hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChippieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thanks so much for this - now we'll just have to keep up to the mark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I travel a lot on business so stay in many hotels etc. Dowfold House is one of the best I have ever stayed in, its a beautiful house with nice furnishings. The hosts tried to think of everything I might need and treated me like a king. Fabulous breakfast too, no wonder they won an award. No need to look any more book this one!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you very much. We're particularly pleased to have this review as (our opinion!) too few business travellers look outside the box of a conventional hotel chain sleep-and-forget experience. We find that those business guests we do attract invariably find Dowfold House an excellent place to stay, with all the facilities they need - and with that extra personal touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My wife and our two poodles were well received by the hostess Mrs Richardson, and we were shown to our PINK room, what a wonderful surprise, nothing was missing and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was served in the Dining room with wonderful views over the valley, we were entertained by a host of birds feeding at the bird feeder on the patio outside the window, including a lesser spotted woodpecker.
Overall opinion good value for money, very clean and well presented premises,nothing was too much trouble, Dog exercising area (Please clean up after) ample parking. GOOD Experience

Room Tip: Pink Room has superb king size bed and en suite shower / bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolf47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoy having dogs to stay - they invariably bring such a nice class of owner with them! The lesser-spotted woodpecker was a special moment for us too; we've only seen it a couple of times. In regard to your value rating, I would make the point that we have no interest at all in being cheap; we concentrate entirely on being great, and hope we succeed, at least most of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crook
5.0 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.0 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
76 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
7.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
11.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dowfold House Low Jobs Hill | Low Jobs Hill, Crook DL15 9AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Crook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Crook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come & visit our lovely, comfortable Victorian house with its delightful gardens. As a small, high-quality bed and breakfast establishment, we aim to provide a comfortable, welcoming, peaceful - home for you to enjoy; and we do GREAT breakfasts!Our rooms are comfortable and well-equipped, all with en-suite facilities, while our home & gardens offer opportunities for relaxation. We're proud of our green credentials. "Green, but without the hair shirt" is our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast Crook, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing