We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Crook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I cannot fault Dowfold House, I had a warm welcome from Jill and Rupert, the room was spotless, thoughtful and beautiful, you could not get better in a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a B&B and the setting is lovely. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaB359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Coo! There's really nothing more to say except "thank you very much!" It's what we aim for & it's nice to hit it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our second visit and it was even better than I remembered. Jill and Rupert gave us a very warm welcome, fantastic breakfasts and a spotlessly clean room. I particularly loved the attention to detail - the snowdrops in our room, a torch in case of fire and delicious cookies.. The food is especially good using local produce and with home made soda bread. I left with the recipe and have since used regularly!

Room Tip: We liked the pink one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjanerussellsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you. It was great to see you again. We're delighted the soda bread recipe is working well for you (Paul Hollywood's book: "100 breads", if anyone wants to know - and make sure to use bread flour; some recipes don't mention this).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

So good, we arrived wet and dirty on bikes but the welcome was great.
Beautiful and interesting house, warm spotless and comfortable.
next time we will visit with our dog as B+Bs welcoming pets are rare.

Room Tip: if you can get the room looking across Weardale, your visit will be complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarfoot6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you. We like bike people - they are always so positive about everything. It just shows there may be something to this biking thing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Perfect: Open fire in an elegant sitting room; comfortable bed ; spotlessly clean; charming but unobtrusive hosts and outstanding breakfasts. We wish we had discovered this wonderful place to stay when two of our children were at university in Durham. We have never found anywhere else as pleasant, comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you very much. We wish you had discovered us earlier, too! You've identified just what we try to do - pleasant, comfortable and welcoming. It's so rewarding to know the message gets through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Returning from Scotland, we again stayed at Dowfold House in Crook. Jill and Rupert are so welcoming and we had a lovely one night's stay. The bedroom and en-suite were spotlessly clean, the bed extremely comfortable and all the facilities have been well-thought out with everything you need and extras. They were also very accommodating when it came to my dietary requirements and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B and look forward to visiting here again soon. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Thank you very much. We're so pleased we could help with your dietary issues; we do this for many guests and haven't been defeated yet... All we ask is a little notice, and then we try to rise to the challenge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for the night on our way to see family. We found that it really is a lovely place to stop over especially on a dark and wet October night and could warm are selves in front of the real log fire in the sitting room.. Jill and Rupert are very welcoming, the beds are very comfortable and the bathroom was spotlessly clean as on our previous visits. Breakfast was excellent and set us on our way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elksatthame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you, elksatthame, for your kind words. We do find the fire makes all the difference, and we're delighted you found it so comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Spent 2 nights at Dowfold House whilst visitng family in Crook. Jil and Rupert were the perfect hosts and extremely helpful. The B&B is rather quaint and very comfortable and the views across Crook were stunning. Choices for breakfast were excellent too. Look forward to returning again soon - wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Green room had stunning views of Crook village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F0xy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We particularly enjoyed the "quaint" bit - we do try to avoid some of the hurly-burly of modern life, while embracing all the conveniences it has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crook
5.0 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
12.0 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
9.4 mi away
Moor End Guest House
Moor End Guest House
#2 of 40 in Durham
220 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#6 of 40 in Durham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Dowfold House Low Jobs Hill | Low Jobs Hill, Crook DL15 9AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Crook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Crook
Price Range: £85 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come & visit our lovely, comfortable Victorian house with its delightful gardens. As a small, high-quality bed and breakfast establishment, we aim to provide a comfortable, welcoming, peaceful - home for you to enjoy; and we do GREAT breakfasts!Our rooms are comfortable and well-equipped, all with en-suite facilities, while our home & gardens offer opportunities for relaxation. We're proud of our green credentials. "Green, but without the hair shirt" is our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast Crook, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing