We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Crook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were visiting family in the area and consider ourselves very fortunate to discover Dowfold House. The welcome we received from Jill and Rupert was exceptional. The tea in the garden was most welcome after our journey. Our room, the Pink Room, was most comfortable and well supplied with a variety of drinks, home made biscuits and toiletries. It was spotlessly clean and very well furnished with far reaching views. The breakfasts were exceptional. There was a huge choice and local produce was used, in fact much of it was home made. The gooseberry jam was incomparable! We had use of a beautiful garden with comfortable furniture during our (very hot) stay. We would have no hesitation in recommending Dowfold House to anyone who wants a perfect break and we hope to return there very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words, and we're SO glad you enjoyed the gooseberry jam. We think it's one of our best, but gooseberries have a largely negative press, so few people even try it. Those that do usually love it, as you do. We're also delighted to see guests using the garden and other facilities - and over the moon that we had the weather where you could make the most of it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is the second year members of my family and I have stayed at Dowfold House and we were really pleased that our experiences was good as last year's.

Jill and Rupert are welcoming yet unobtrusive hosts who are very considered in their approach to providing excellent bed and breakfast accommodation. Their 'offer' is very good value for money.

The accommodation is very clean and comfortable with good facilities. Jill and Rupert obviously make great efforts to provide up to date information on local visitor attractions and places to eat and they are keen to receive updates from their guests.

The breakfasts are excellent- really good choices and plentiful both locally and home produced and healthily cooked and very well presented.

Jill and Rupert's commitment to reducing the impact of their business on the environment is great to see and experience.

Jill and Rupert are lovely people who are genuinely interested in guests feedback on their excellent accommodation.

We wish them every success as they deserve it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oswald75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Phew! there's always a risk that a second visit can disappoint; we're very pleased that we've managed to maintain the standards that you - quite rightly - expect. We're also most appreciative that you chose to emphasise the "green" angle of our offering. We do strive to be as eco-friendly as possible, while not compromising the comfort of our guests, and we hope we give you the opportunity to contribute as well - and as much or as little as you choose. "Green, but without the hair shirt", as we like to think of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

If you want a friendly welcome, tip top hospitality, great views over Weardale, skylarks at the top of the road, a scrumptions duvet, proper home made marmalade, a short drive to Europe's greatest Norman cathedral, it's all here.

Peter Forbes

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you, Peter, for your positive message. I'm afraid we can't take too much credit for the skylarks - although we do try to make sure they are well-fed! The wonder of the Norman Cathedral cannot be overstated (again, not all our own work...), and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay - and the marmalade, of course..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Four of us stayed at Dowfold House for two nights. It really is a wonderful place to stay. Very comfortable, spacious and clean with visitors own lounge containing everything you need. The views are lovely and the owners extremely friendly and welcoming. We wanted for nothing other than to stay there longer.

Room Tip: We had the pink room with lovely views and our friends had the room next door (I think the red which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABSOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you. We're especially delighted when the lounge gets some use. We keep this jolly nice room, with a warming log fire and lots of facilities - and hardly anyone uses it! Seeing it in action is a real pleasure. Do come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife, myself and our 2 dogs had most enjoyable weekend at Dowfold House. It is a beautiful house in a lovely location. We were made most welcome and everything was great. THE BREAKFASTS WERE EXCELLENT. We would certainly reccomend Dowfold House

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you. We really enjoyed having you - and of course your dogs - here for the weekend. Breakfasts can - and ought to be - fun and we take great pride in our use of good local ingredients and baking our own bread, and making our own jams, and... (I do go on a bit)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

One of the best B&B in which we have stayed. Overall a very good experience. Very welcoming with comfortable rooms. Serves excellent breakfast. House very well appointed and immaculately maintained. Location convenient for access to Durham and to surrounding countryside. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raedwald140213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We do particularly appreciate your point about how convenient Dowfold House is both for Durham and the countryside. We are right on the border of Weardale, one of England's last real wildernesses, and an awesome place to visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My daughter and I stayed the night so we could attend a Parelli Natural Horsemanship clinc at the Stonechester Stud. Dowfold was very close and offered everyuthing we could have needed. The room was beautifual and light with plenty of space and the en suite had eveything needed to pamper yourself after a hard day with the horses. The breakfast choices were extensive and the pain au chocolat went down very well with my 10 year old! The gardens looked idyllic and we felt very welcome indeed. I only wish we had been staying longer to take full advantage of the delights of Dowfold! Will certainly revisit Dowfold as and when we return to Stonechester for more training.

Room Tip: The Pink room was super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowfold, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

What fulsome review! Thank you. We are rich in things equestrian around here - to the point where we can offer your horse B&B as well as yourselves. I'd agree about the pains au chocolat - which your daughter spelt correctly (rare). We bake them fresh in the morning, so they are just out of the oven - and all the better for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crook
5.0 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
12.0 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
9.4 mi away
Moor End Guest House
Moor End Guest House
#2 of 40 in Durham
220 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#6 of 40 in Durham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Dowfold House Low Jobs Hill | Low Jobs Hill, Crook DL15 9AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Crook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Crook
Price Range: £85 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come & visit our lovely, comfortable Victorian house with its delightful gardens. As a small, high-quality bed and breakfast establishment, we aim to provide a comfortable, welcoming, peaceful - home for you to enjoy; and we do GREAT breakfasts!Our rooms are comfortable and well-equipped, all with en-suite facilities, while our home & gardens offer opportunities for relaxation. We're proud of our green credentials. "Green, but without the hair shirt" is our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast Crook, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing