We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, clean & comfy rural retreat”

The Foresters Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Foresters Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Crook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A friendly, clean & comfy rural retreat”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I happened upon the Forresters while on a short trip to the North East visiting elderly relatives and some not so elderly but very old friends and I enjoyed my stay so much I intend to book a week later in the year for myself and my son. The food at breakfast really hits the spot. I invited a friend for dinner and we whiled away the hours over good food and wine. Denise & Jim have done an amazing job with the whole place. Being very helpful and friendly people they attract a like minded clientele and so if travelling as a group or alone, my guess is you would always find a few friendly locals to chat to at the bar while Jim serves up the pre and post dinner drinks. The location is ideal for hiking, cycling, horseriding and the more leasurely persuits yet within an hour of one of Europes largest shopping precincts, nightlife & theatres. The rooms are spotlessly clean, warm and quiet with everything you could possibly want in a B&B. LynnB

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    4
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
19
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Eaten here three times recently and it is simply wonderful. Home cooking at its best and at reasonable prices too. A must!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathrynah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Jim and Denise are such lovely people and make the experience of staying in there guest house even more enjoyable.
Thanks from Grant

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seveisahero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have been to Jim and Denise"s guest house numerous times now and each time has been an excellent and wonderful experience.
Jim and Denise are so warmhearted and friendly with nothing too much trouble for them.The bed rooms are newly furnished with spacious bathrooms and everything is spotlessly clean. The views from the bedrooms are vistas of the whole valley. The evening meals at the weekend are superb with plenty of choice served by friendly staff.
I am an experienced traveller, who has been all over the country and without doubt this is my favourite guesthouse when I am in the North East. I alway choose to stay here than at accommodation which is much closer to where I am working when in Newcastle. Excellent, excellent, excellent.

Room Tip: book rooms with the views and just book as early as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgedavidfryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

What a little gem. My wife and I were visiting friends to celebrate a birthday and they told us about this guest house just outside Crook. The welcome from Jim and Denise was very friendly so were all the helpful staff. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent. Accommodation, food and drink prices are very reasonable. We had room 2 which is large and spotless and has outstanding views as far as Barnard Castle. Don't let anyone build wind turbines it will spoil the natural countryside (only land owners make money out of wind turbines).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minesatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

once again we found ourselves visiting this wonderful guest house. We stayed for 4 nights and the hospitality I am pleased to say is still as fantastic as the first time we stayed Jim and Denise cannot do enough for you the evening meals that we had were first class and the waiting staff especially Tina were lovely cannot shout loud enough to praise this fabulous guest house

Room Tip: great family rooms with adjoining doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue186dolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

i went for a meal here at the weekend as it is local to where i live.. the food was the best i tasted when going out for a meal in a very very long time. would recommend this to anyone. jim and his family. we stayed for a drink in the pub bit after and was included in the conversation and was made to feel very welcome and apart of the family...would defo go again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rachy1985-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crook
4.4 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
79 reviews
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Crook Hotel
The Crook Hotel
#4 of 5 in Crook
17 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Quarry Burn Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foresters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foresters Guest House

Property: The Foresters Guest House
Address: 7 Railway Terrace | Stanley, Crook DL15 9RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Crook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Crook
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foresters is conveniently situated to allow easy access to many places of interest in the North East of England. We are truly at the gateway of the beautiful Weardale and only a short distance to many historic delights including the ancient city of Durham with the twin spectacle of Durham Cathedral and Castle. This licensed guest house is new to the market in Autumn 2010. The en-suite bedrooms all have televisions, bathrobes and tea/coffee making facilities, most enjoy panoramic views of the local countryside. A full English breakfast is included in the price with all produce being locally sourced where possible. Evening meals are available. Adjacent to the guest house is the Deerness Valley walkway, providing the ideal opportunity to enjoy the local countryside. These extensive trailways are popular with walkers and cyclists alike. Secure storage for bicycles is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Foresters Guest House Crook, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing