We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”
Review of Acorn Bank

Acorn Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Grounds are nice, herb garden interesting. Watermill worth a look. Didn't do the house tour but in hindsight wish we had. Cafe looked up to usual National Trust high standards.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheRover44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    73
    19
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were staying in Penrith and read about Acorn Bank. We went there and were not disappointed. The house is lovely and the grounds enchanting. The old mill is very interesting and the knitted articles on the trees in one section of the woods fascinating. The tea & cakes were good as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExeterGadabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent NT property”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A beautiful house and very attractive gardens - prior to restoration but such an interesting tour and delicious meal ( including gluten free bread and cake).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great welcome which made our visit”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our first visit to Acorn Bank, and arrived on opening to be given such a warm welcome, both at the admission point and in the restaurant. We opted for the guided tour which may be disappointing for some as the house is empty, but it was interesting to hear about the history of the house, and be able to contribute suggestions as to how it should progress at the end of the tour. The house has only recently been opened to visitors.

Lovely gentle walks in the grounds with a picnic area near to the house, and the restaurant provided the usual NT high standard food and the most friendly and efficient service.

All ages were enjoying this NT property. We had a lovely few hours here, and plan to return in few years to see how it has progressed

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucilou_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bretherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I dropped in and was taken completely by surprise”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I was driving to Alston when i saw a NT sign for Acorn bank. I arrived to a huge car park and made my way up to the house. I was surprised how big it was. I grabbed some lunch which was an excellent spread of food quick and tasty.

Then i wondered around the working gardens and bumped into Mr and Mrs Atkinson who work in the were very informative on the gardens so i sat a while and talked over the Hot Beds in the main part of the garden.

the attraction will suit all persons from young to elderly .

Enjoy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank isobelsdad1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acorn Bank also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Acorn Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing