We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with lovely friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal at Dockray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal at Dockray
Ranked #1 of 1 Dockray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with lovely friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

we arrived late evening and were very lucky to get a room as we had not pre booked. The friendly and warm welcoming was overwhelming bearing in mind we had not pre booked and it was after 10pm in the evening.
The staff went out of there way to assist and help in anyway they could at such late notice, and the rooms and hotel were off a very good standard and very comfortable beds.
I can highly recommend a visit to this hotel if you are ever in the ullswater area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    108
    33
    9
    17
See reviews for
22
194
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Beautiful room, very polite and helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable. Food good but bit pricey for what it is. Lots of walks and not far from activity centres. This is a hotel with character and despite some low door frames I managed not to decapitate myself, it's relatively simple Donald M, 1st April, I found slightly lowering my head, or 'ducking' did the trick. All in all, this is a hotel I would recommend to anyone capable of living their life without the need to have the Health and Safety Executive walking two paces in front of them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

After booking via Groupon, I was a little apprehensive once I had read reviews on here and also looked at the hotel website. To be honest, I was expecting Fawlty Towers and a failing business. How wrong could I be...
The rooms were absolutely immaculate, spotless, five stars to the cleaning staff. The staff in the bar were friendly and helpful, one particular lady stood out, I wish I knew her name, she was so kind and went above and beyond with her service, telling us about local walks and offering discount vouchers for the Ullswater steamers. She was a polish lady with a blonde bob hairstyle. Lovely lady.

Our first evening meal was part of the deal, and although it was a more limited menu, it was fine for us, I chose pasta and it was very nice, my son is a big fan of burgers and it definitely got a thumbs up from him. My daughter chose the veggie burger which she said was lovely and my husband had fish and chips, again a big hit!

Breakfast was lovely, very tasty and served hot! Set us up for the day.

Prices in general were quite high but this is what you come to expect in the Lakes!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TPTWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Secluded part of Lake District, it looks slightly run down from the outside however looks can be deceiving!! Interior was small and cozy. The rooms were of a good size, bathroom on the small side.
Impressive variety of food, ranging from fish and chips to paella!
Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hinna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from 2 nights stay and found this hotel to be good value for the £99 bnb plus 1 eve meal that we paid via Amazon voucher. We had room 1 which was clean , modern and spacious. The breakfast was plentiful and evening meal tasty. We had no problems with service and the Polish bar/ front of house man was pleasant and worked hard. Yes, the lounge area is a bit tired but as we were there to explore the surrounding area , not sit inside, this was not an issue. The hotel looked very pretty on arrival with the hanging baskets and there is a pleasant garden to sit in while taking a refreshing drink from the bar.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Staying at a nearby cottage we were looking forward to visiting the local pub for some good food and relaxing in the evening. Unfortunately the attitude of the staff and owner actually drove us away to eat elsewhere, a car journey away. They never managed as much as a hello, seemed to treat guests with contempt and had no idea of customer service. The place is looking v tired and seems to survive on people visiting on Groupons.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank carolinevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Outside is a little bit unkempt, but inside is lovely. Bedrooms are modern, clean and bright with really comfy beds. Great location for Ullswater walks. Evening meal was fantastic and breakfast was great; meal choice is varied, good sized portions and quality ingredients cooked fresh, presented very nicely and very tasty. Welcoming, friendly and attentive staff; not always immediately on hand but always came in response to the bell you are directed to ring at the bar. Groupon deal was amazing value for money, but after such an enjoyable time here, I would seek out and stay here again if I was in the area and would be happy to pay full price. The only negative was that there is barely any mobile signal here and WiFi dies when overloaded, but operates well off peak. However, if you want accommodation where IT works 100% all the time, what are you doing in the Lake District?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amie_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dockray
2.6 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
3.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Another Place, The Lake
Another Place, The Lake
#1 of 2 in Watermillock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
12.3 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal at Dockray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal at Dockray

Property: The Royal at Dockray
Address: Route A5091, Matterdale, Dockray CA11 0JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dockray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dockray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal at Dockray 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal at Dockray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal At Dockray Hotel Dockray
The Royal At Dockray Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing