We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You won't find better in this price range.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mary Meadows

Mary Meadows Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mary Meadows Cottage
Mary Meadows Front Porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Mary Meadows Cottage
Mary Meadows
Front Porch
Living room
Lounge
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Twin room
Twin room
Hallway
View from lounge
Patio Area
Local Pub and restaurant
Aira Force waterfall less then a 30 minute walk!
Lake Ullswater, within walking distance.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dockray, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keith W
1 review
“You won't find better in this price range.”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Having spent a number of small breaks in the Lakes, we always try to stay in different locations. However, after our week's break in Mary Meadows over the Xmas/ New Year holiday we feel that we have hit the peak of accommodation. Yes you'll find more luxurious places, but you'll pay a premium for that. Mary Meadows is just the perfect, homely, cosy little cottage that you need.

With its 2 good sized bedrooms (one double with Kings sized bed and one twin with en-suite shower and loo) additional bathroom with shower and loo plus ample storage, its great for the every day walking family.

But what is even more impressive is the large living quarters. A large kitchen and lounge open plan area which even a table that can seat 6 does not swallow up. The level of accessories already in place ready in place to use was top notch.

There are several good walks on your doorstep which do not require you getting in your car; including Great Dodd and Aira Force Waterfalls. In addition, you are a stones throw from Glenridding and Patterdale where you will be treated to arguable one of the most scenic of the lakes, Ullswater.

The cottage is about 50m from the entrance to the village's only pub which does some decent grub. Not the liveliest of pubs you'll ever go to, with most people heading back home at around 9pm, but we had some very nice meals in there.

The owner, Joanna, was a pleasure to deal with and even returned by post a CD we accidently left in one of the music players.

We (family of 4 including 2 children of 7 and 11) would not hesitate to go back and will no doubt now compare all future places in the Lakes to this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Super Cottage”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I can only echo the comments and reviews form the others.

The cottage:

This is a wonderful cottage to stay in. It is extremely comfortable, very thoughtfully laid out and furnished. It was wonderfully warm which was just what we needed when coming back from a day out on the fells and hills of Cumbria. It had everything we needed to enjoy our stay.

The location:

Just about spot on. It is in a small village with an excellent pub, The Royal. It has many walks which are easily accessible from Dockray and it is only s stones through away from Glenridding, Patterdale, and more

The owner:

Joanne couldn't have helped us more, The booking was straightforward and all payment, correspondence, etc, very easy. We also liked the welcoming touches such as the bottle of wine, basics such as tea, cookies which were much appreciated after out journey.

Would we come again:

DEFINITELY

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy T
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Barn conversion with the 'Wow!' factor”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is the best self-catering accommodation we have ever stayed in, in England or Australia.

From the outside, this small converted barn doesn't really give a hint of what is inside. It is when you go inside that the wow-factor hits. The two bedrooms (twin and king) are downstairs (so no stairs to lug suitcases up). Both are generously sized and the twin has an ensuite shower/toilet. There is also a good-sized family shower-room downstairs. There is no bath which some people may not like, but we much preferred the shower rooms.

Upstairs is one huge open-plan kitchen/dining room/lounge room with french doors which open out onto the upper terrace with picnic table. The kitchen had everything we could possibly need and a lovely welcome pack was included. The lounge was very comfortable and there was lots of lovely space in which to spread out. An incredibly wide range of information on attractions in the local area is provided along with a selection of books and games.

Everything is very nicely decorated, with the bedrooms looking particularly lovely. The beds were all extremely comfortable, so excellent sleep quality.

The village of Dockray is extremely quiet, with a good local pub but no shops. However, you are close enough to both Penrith and Keswick for shopping to not be an issue. The area is simply perfect for exploring the northern lakes district - only a very short drive from the beautiful Aira Force and Ullswater. It's also only a fairly short drive over Kirkstone Pass and you are at either Windemere or Ambleside.

We have always stayed in the southern lakes area before, but Mary Meadows has changed our minds - this is the place we will return to. Our children (9 and 14 years) fell in love with this place and genuinely did not want to leave at the end of our 3 days.

We hope to return and would recommend Mary Meadows to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything, but probably the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin...
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Perfect house on perfect location!”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very nice house, very good beds, perfect location for exploring the Lakes and good atmosphere. Would recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s0phiewj
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really lovely barn conversion, clean, well equipped and very comfortable. There is good access but off the beaten track. Really good location for exploring the North Lakes. Everything you could want for a relaxing outdoor holiday in the Lake District. We will definately be back. The owner was also very helpful, responds promptly to emails, and left a lovely welcome pack - Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boogle
Berkshire , England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just brilliant”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What a place! So clean and tidy on arrival with a lovely welcome pack of bread, milk, flowers, biscuits etc. everything was sparkling and just like no one had ever stayed there. The location is brilliant for hikers with close links to Windermere etc once you've explored and walked ullswater. So much to do in the lakes in general and this location is just off the beaten track for solitude but not to far if you want a busier pace in the more touristy towns.
The view is wonderful, I'll miss see the highland cattle every day! I would recommend this to anyone, families, couples and friends. Just a fantastic place, we would love to go back! Thank you so so much for such a lovely holiday!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing