We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandiacre
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight here with national holidays. The room was good and very clean. The hotel was quiet and the staff were extremely polite and friendly. The food was excellent. 45 mins to Alton towers. All good! I would use holiday inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slippeddisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_OConnor1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Check in was quick and freindly despite obvious overbooking problems. Room was a small single, but I knew when I booked I had the last room available so no complaints. Room spotlessly clean and well equipped. Did not eat at the hotel but had a couple of drinks at the bar. Breakfast was as good as you would expect and was piping hot. Service was very good. Check out was easy and very polite. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flounder1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_OConnor1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Getting on in age, and not really being one for camping; myself and two family members booked this hotel for our visit to 'Download'.
The first thing that struck me was the hotels locality. Although just off the busy M1, the hotel is secluded in it's own grounds, with no sight or sound of the motorway. making for a very peaceful sleep.

The check-in process was slick, with information given in a warm, and welcome to our family approach. The room we were given should have had an extra bed in, but the numpty that was my uncle, forgot to add in the extra remarks, we were all family members. Never the less, a quick visit to reception, and a word to leave the bedding on the side, and we would sort the sleeping arrangements out later that day.

I am a great lover off food, and breakfast for me is the make/break part off the day; and i could not fault the food, or the service given by the staff. Attentive, clean, tasty, relaxing, and full up, are just some of the words that spring to mind. But extra praise must be given to the breakfast chef on the Sunday morning, as i probably tasted the best ever poached eggs in my life, cooked to perfection and great tasting.

The rooms were spotless, and a big thank you, to the house keeping team, for always smiling, and for having a good nature about yourself (thanks for the extra toilet paper), a department often overlooked by many, yet as essential as the chef, and receptionist. Thanks.

Overall, i could not fault this hotel. The location (for download) great, the food was fantastic, and the staff, well all i can say is amazing.

Would i use/recommend this hotel again????......In a heart beat YES!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bath_Ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_OConnor1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback has been passed to our management team and will be shared with the team. Robert, our breakfast chef on the Sunday morning, will be recognised for the presentation of his food. I hope that you enjoyed your time at Download and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stopped at this hotel for one night due to tiredness on our travel home. We picked the hotel at random to get off the road and were relieved that they had availability late in the night.
The rooms were basic and could do with renovation. Our room had a connecting door to the next room and we were able to hear our neighbour's conversation. We had difficulty in flushing the toilet, however the shower was hot and powerful. The bed was comfortable but the room did not feel welcoming due to a musty smell that could be detected.
Not our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_David_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_OConnor1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your constructive comments. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and I have shared your feedback with our management team for review. Once again, thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I had the misfortune of eating here last night - out of necessity rather than choice - as a I had a late business meeting. Having arrived at 6pm and asked for a table in the restaurant I was told that the restaurant didn't open until 6.30pm, ok fine. Took a seat in the bar instead and ordered from the bar menu - beef lasagne - a fairly safe bet I thought? But no. What I was served was something I wouldn't feed to a dog or cat, let alone a human. It was slop on a plate, clearly a microwaved, cheap lasagne that hadn't even been finished off under the grill to brown the top and just slopped onto a plate with a bit on undressed salad garnish and garlic bread. All for the bargain price of £10.95 would you believe!! To top it off, having tried a couple of mouthfuls, it was full of chewy gristle. I took it back to the bar and demanded my money back and went hungry instead. Yuk.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Simsysaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_OConnor1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your meal and would like to assure you that your comments are not indicative of the usual quality of food that we serve. I have passed your feedback to our Head Chef to that he may discuss it with his team. I do hope that, despite the shortfall on this occasion, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed here several times when traveling South and have never been disappointed - well done to all.
Check-in is always speedy and friendly, rooms are a good size even if the bathroon is rather compact. This visit was slightly spoilt as the service in the restaurant was slow and unattentive - it wasobvious that they were more interested in setting up for breakfast rather than looking after their guests,and we were not the only ones there. We ended up just having a burger and fries which was adequate and a couple of drinks,as no one came to ask if we wanted anything else, shame. Breakfast was better but not up to past standards.
Really good curtains that keepout both the light and outside noise.
Wi-Fi is chargeable however on asking if there was a free Hot Spot I was 'given' a voucher for 1 hour in the Lounge - nice touch.
Check out again was speedy and professional. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_OConnor1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your constructive comments. I am sorry that your dining experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Your comments are not indicative of our usual high standards of service and I have passed your feedback to our Food & Beverage Manager for discussion with the team. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had booked a hotel room at Risley Hall hotel but it was so awful we checked out and booked here instead and we were so pleased we did.
Hotel lovely and clean.
All staff were lovely.
Breakfast was great and our 6 year old loved the pancake maker at breakfast (fab idea)
Great value & well ran, thank you

Room Tip: Couldn't hear any motorway traffic as set back from motor way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam-Janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_OConnor1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that our pancake machine was enjoyed, it is proving very popular with our younger guests. I hope that will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandiacre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
0.7 mi away
Risley Hall Hotel
Risley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Risley
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Trowell M1
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
12.8 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1

Address: Bostocks Lane, Sandiacre NG10 5NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Sandiacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandiacre
Price Range: £52 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether planning a leisure break or business meeting the Holiday Inn Derby Nottingham M1 Jct 25 is ideally located at Junction 25 of the M1. The city of Nottingham is just 8 miles from the hotel and boasts a wealth of sporting activities including bowling, indoor cricket and ice-skating, visit Trent Bridge Cricket Club, Holme Pierrepoint Water Sports, Nottingham RaceCourse or the famous Ice Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham m1 Hotel Sandiacre
Holiday Inn Sandiacre
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1 Sandiacre, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing