We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, excellent breakfast, friendly hosts”
Review of Housley Cottages

Housley Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foolow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Housley Cottages
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We were given a very warm welcome by our friendly hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed the cooked breakfasts. The B&B is well situated for visiting all the Derbyshire attractions and surrounding countryside and has some excellent pubs nearby for evening meals. The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean. En-suite bathrooms are compact but ample for your needs. I would definitely recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Housley Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a really lovely one night stay at this friendly B and B. The location is great - we did a 4.5 mile walk taking in 3 excellent pubs - The Barrel at Bretton (amazing views), The Queen Anne at Great Hucklow and The Bulls Head in Foolow. The B&B is reasonably priced and so fairly basic but has a warm, homely feel about it with really friendly, welcoming hosts. It was quite fun sharing a dining table with the other guests in the morning too! We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

A farmhouse B&B well located for Peak District attractions such as Chatsworth House. Easy access right off the A623 but still very quiet. There was always a parking space for us. The owners are friendly and chatty, and ready to help, especially when it comes to choosing a pub in the area. Our room was a double with a large, comfortable bed. The bathroom was a bit small but functional. Everything was very clean. There was a hospitality tray with tea, instant coffee, hot chocolate, and a snack. The full English breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, tomato, black pudding) is fine. Vegetarians can have a vegetarian sausage substituted (and no black pudding of course!). There are attractive views from the small patio on the garden which guests can use (or share with Fudge the cat). The rate was quite reasonable. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rochefort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

The B&B is located directly on A623, but a bit off the street behind some farm buildings. So it is conveniently located but not noisy.
The room we had (first to the left) was quite nice with 2 x 2 beds in seperate rooms, but without a hallway, so you had to go through the other bed room to get to the bath or to the exit rexpectively. Beds were good. Shower and wc nice and clean. English breakfast was normal fare but pretty ok. Prices were reasonable. Good starting point for exploring the Peaks.
A few hundred yards down the road is the Three-Stags-Head, a wonderful pub, very authentic, local customers and food, open fire and all that.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foolow
12.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
388 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Bulls Head Inn Foolow Bed and Breakfast
12.2 mi away
Innisfree Cottage
Innisfree Cottage
#1 of 2 in Eyam
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Housley Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housley Cottages

Address: Housley | near Foolow, Foolow S32 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Foolow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Foolow
Hotel Class:3 star — Housley Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Housley Cottages Foolow, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing