We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full steam ahead”

The Weary Ploughman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$32
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The restaurant, bar and rooms at the Weary Ploughman at Churston has been extensively refurbished to a very high standard during the last two years to provide somewhere to eat, meet or stay that is very welcoming and comfortable, but not in any way pretentious. Our menu is varied and freshly cooked using, whenever possible, produce sourced locally.
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Excellent hotel, staff,food,most satisfying,plenty to eat at breakfast,
Hotel is very well placed for visiting Greenway House "Agatha Christies holiday home,a shuttle coach takes you there on most days,the coach takes you to the main gate and from there it is about a 20 minute walk of you have long legs

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank dbritt171863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on a three night break,for our anniversary.Booked in without any fuss into a lovely big very quiet room.Super breakfasts served by very efficient lady,had wonderful Sunday evening roast ,superb and plentiful. Great staff ,helpful and professional,nothing too much trouble.Easy access to all Torbay amenities,bus stop outside,nice walk to local creeks on doorstop. We will be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank amy2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We hadn't intended to eat here but are very pleased we did. We arrived quite late on Sunday lunchtime having tried another place earlier that had stopped serving lunch. The service was very efficient. The Sunday roasts we had were well cooked and came with plenty of vegetables and gravy and there was some decent local beers on handpump. The atmosphere and ambience was very pleasant and all in all we'd be very happy to return if in the area. The team behind The Weary Ploughman certainly know how to run a decent pub/restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Called in for dinner Thursday evening without reservation and received an enthusiastic welcome even though the restaurant was full of dinners.
Having been a life long vegetarian and used to being presented with menus and playing hunt the vegetarian option it was a huge pleasure to have such a choice and not just the normal veggie fare but creative options. For the first time in my life ‘fish and chips’ were an option (beer battered haloumi with three times fried chips and peas), an obsolete delight and perfectly cooked.
A closer look at the menu highlighted the fact that several listed meals could be converted to veggie if required, there were also celiac options. On enquiring we discovered that the chef is vegetarian so clearly knows how to make the food tasty and creative. The menu also has a very comprehensive meat and fish selection and therefore is a perfect venue for all tastes.
The service is attentive without being intrusive and there is a feeling of calm professionalism about restaurant that assures you that they know their craft.
This is clearly a restaurant that cares about its clientele and the food is cooked to perfection.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Rattyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

I picked the Weary Ploughman from an advert in a magazine at the holiday apartment where we were staying. It had parking (!) so off we went. It was easy to find and looked good from the outside so in we went. We were greeted with a smile and warned that they had a table but wouldn't be able to take our order for 10 mins. It was very busy so good for a Thursday evening. All the staff were busy and worked well together.

Now, was the food any good? It was excellent!!! I had liver and bacon, the red onion jus was out of this world, I was tempted to lick the plate! Good dish of seasonal vegetables. My partner had salmon and was equally impressed. Were we too full for pudding? We had to try the bread and butter pudding, didn't we? - one portion with 2 spoons.
Well done Weary Ploughman. See you again soon I hope

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SheilaLocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Weary Ploughman also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Weary Ploughman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing