We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening dinner”

The Weary Ploughman Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The restaurant, bar and rooms at the Weary Ploughman at Churston has been extensively refurbished to a very high standard during the last two years to provide somewhere to eat, meet or stay that is very welcoming and comfortable, but not in any way pretentious. Our menu is varied and freshly cooked using, whenever possible, produce sourced locally.
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Fabulous meal could not fault a thing. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Will definitely return soon .

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePloughman, Guest Relations Manager at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Thank you for your kind review Debbi B,

Thank you for making the effort to review us. WeE are very much looking forwards to your return.

Warm regards Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018

We had pre-booked our weekday lunch, asking for a quiet corner and ready access for a disabled guest. We were not disappointed! Service was subtle and unobtrusive, yet professional and efficient. The menu is well varied although not extensive, as is the wine list.
The highlight of the meal was Game Pie, served in a lidded tureen. This was extremely tasty, with a rich gravy and mushrooms.
Overall, the meal was delicious, and could reasonably be described as an experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Josephine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePloughman, Guest Relations Manager at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Thank you for your kind review Josephine J,

Thank you for recognising all the aspects that we put into it all. In relation to the extensive or other wise nature of both of our menus. The criticism is normally the other way in that that they are overly extensive and offer way too many options - which makes me wonder if you saw all the various menus that are on offer and not just the daily specials and the abbreviated drinks list - if that is the case then it's the perfect opportunity for you to come back and try our the rest!!!

Warm regards Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Amazing roastBeef!!
Fantastic staff.
Wine list was very good.
Staff Full of knowledge.
We will be back. X

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 956LorraineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePloughman, Guest Relations Manager at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Thank you for your kind review Lorraine S,

Thank you for making the effort to review us. I'm particularly pleased you enjoyed our exceptional Sunday roasts.

Warm regards Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

The decor of this pub/hotel is lovely and we were really hopeful that the food would be equally impressive but sadly this wasn’t to be the case. I had rang early morning to check that Sunday roasts would still be available in the evening and it was confirmed that whilst it could not be promised it was more than likely that everything would be available.

We arrived early evening, shown to our seat and ordered drinks. We were then informed that all the roasts had been sold out bar the chicken and that 2 of the veg that were supposedly served with the chicken had also ran out. Had we not just received our drinks we would have probably left, but conscious that we may not find somewhere else that served on a Sunday evening we decided to stay.
We did look at the main menu but nothing appealed but I do think this was because we had really wanted a Sunday roast.
We ordered the chicken but were really disappointed with the quality when it arrived. We had already been informed that there was no cauliflower cheese left but it appeared there was no roast parsnips either, judging by the sliver that was on our plates. The roast potatoes were plentiful but bone dry as was the Yorkshire pudding. Now this may have been acceptable if it had been reflected in the price however I do not believe it was worthy of the £12.95 price tag. We did eat or meal as it was edible but when the waitress came to clear the plates we were not asked if we had enjoyed our meals as I believe she already knew the answer. Needless to say we won’t be back. We will stick with The Manor Glampton where we know the food is consistently good.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Lynw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePloughman, Guest Relations Manager at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Thank you for your review Lynw33,

Thank you for making the effort to review us. I'm very sad that you had such a disappointing experience with us and we obviously made several mistakes with your party around checking that you were happy with what we were doing for you. It was one of the first shifts of the Waitress concerned, who now is one of our stars - but maybe someone else would have recognised that further attention was necessary - our fault - and one of the necessary perils of starting new staff and getting them up to speed - you can tell them it all but until they've had some experience under their belts - it's not always going to be as slick as it should be. I'm glad that you were made aware when you booked that we can't guarantee that roasts will last late into the evening, they mostly do but we had had a particularly busy day on your visit and were running out of a lot of things. We took your drink order as we assumed, as you had booked and we always have that conversations with our bookings that you were aware, as you were, of the possibility that we no longer had full roasts available.

In relation to the cost of our roast we use premium local ingredients and cook things traditionally from fresh raw ingredients from scratch - that is why they are so incredibly popular and why we now cook them all day - unlike others - and why we get endless five star rave reviews for them - again unlike others. It's really easy to plate up a roast at anytime of the day or night if you use pre-prepared ingredients that are bought in frozen or stored until needed and banged in the microwave - but why then go to a restaurant rather than a supermarket? and that's also why they run out - we have to judge in a highly seasonal and variable trade how many are likely to come on any specific Sunday - we can get it wrong in two ways - the first is under prepare and disappoint people such as yourselves or over prepare and build the cost of all that wastage into the cost of what we do - which as you point out is already not at the cheap end of the market. I genuinely can't say we will change what we are doing with the Sunday roasts as I think it is something we are obviously (from all the other reviews - and the fact that we are so very busy and do run out) getting right - unlike the decor which we all think needs a bit of a re-fresh!!!

I apologise again that circumstance conspired to make your visit to us so thoroughly disappointing and that we were not up to our usual levels of service so your visit would have been handled more in keeping with our usual standards. It's amazing - we always (or almost always) check with our customers that they are entirely satisfied - and the endless replies are "it was perfect - it always is" but as this review shows it isn't always, so we should carry on asking.

Warm regards Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

Lovely place, very friendly and helpful. Good pub food (although veggies were overdone), good choice of drinks, good value, nice atmosphere. Can definitely recommend. Right next to Churston station.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bobtdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePloughman, Guest Relations Manager at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Thank you for your kind review Bobtdiver,

Thank you for making the effort to review us.

Warm regards Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Weary Ploughman Inn also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Weary Ploughman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing