We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.we will be back”

The Weary Ploughman Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Weary Ploughman Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place.we will be back”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed in the weary ploughman for 4 nights from Friday to Tuesday. The room was spacious,overlooking the steam railway which my husband loved.the room was well appointed as was the bathroom.all was spotless and this was maintained throughout our stay.
Breakfasts were great.lovely bacon sausages etc.we ate in the restaurant several times and found the food of excellent quality & service was second to none.We also found the management & staff friendly and helpful .we will definitely return and would recommend to our friends

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroldeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    44
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
85
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We booked a Family room as I was travelling with my elderly mother and this room provided us with two rooms to give each of us some privacy. The rooms were well decorated and spotless with crisp white linen and towels. We were made aware of the Restaurant offer which provided a discount if you ate before 7pm but did not take that up. The staff booked us a table which was necessary as the restaurant was very popular and filled up early on. There was a good choice and a specials menu, all very reasonable and the food was well presented and delicious. The breakfast was equally delicious, I had a King Charles ( salmon and scrambled eggs ). We'll definitely come back. We booked here as it was close to Greenways, Agatha Christie's home and gardens overlooking the River Dart.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine4186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Nice spacious room and modern en suite, with the benefits of a nice contemporary bar and restaurant. Pleasant helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. Not the most appealing exterior, don't let this put you off, it's very nice inside and excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstcuckoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Me and my wife stayed here for a long weekend. The room was nice, very affordable, lovely food with excellent service, would stay again. Best staff service we have ever witnessed, although young managed to run both the restaurant and the bar without any difficulties and ease.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynorandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Had a overnight stay at the Weary Ploughman 27th December and will certainly return for a longer stay. Large, clean nicely decorated rooms, very friendly attentative staff, totally amazing evening meals and a breakfast to set you up for the day. Seven adults, various ages in the party, no hint of a complaint about anything.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteButterfly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

wow the food was so well presented and extremly flavoursome as was the sweet was so well presented i did not want to spoil exept it also smelt fantastic and tasted so good and weirdly sweet but not over sweet and tasted devine! so any one reading this should go and check this out as a superb evening out with absolutly fantastic food at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldeneyes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w.sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Spent a week at this hotel. Everything was top class, the bedroom spacious and comfortable, the bathroom large with excellent facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant food was delicious and very generous portions. Breakfast was huge and of the best quality. I would thoroughly recomend a stay here. Dont be put of by the road location or unprepossesing exterior. Its a beautifully decorated place inside.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellierose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churston Ferrers
1.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#23 of 26 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 26 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weary Ploughman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weary Ploughman Inn

Property: The Weary Ploughman Inn
Address: Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham > Churston Ferrers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churston Ferrers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Weary Ploughman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weary Ploughman was extensively refurbished to a very high standard over the last few years. Every room has been tasefully decorated and the ensuite bathrooms have been renewed, or in the case of room 3 - a shower room. All the furnishings are of a good quality and the beds renewed in July 2012. Each room has a 26" Sony flat-sceen Freeview television, hair-dryer and a large ceiling fan, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. All bedrooms are on the first floor and we do not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Weary Ploughman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weary Ploughman Inn Churston Ferrers, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing