We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop off location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was a last minute booking for an overnight visit to see family. Booked 2 double rooms and I have to say they were very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful, we didn't eat in the restaurant on the evening but the breakfasts were very fresh and cooked well. It was our sons 7th birthday, and once the waitress discovered this they made a fuss of him. Facilites were good and was a nice setting.Plenty of parking spaces and we would certainly use again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsPooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that your son enjoyed his stay with us

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

I was looking for a hotel that would take and suit a party of 53 on a Bowls Tour and the Passage House fitted that bill very well indeed. The warmth of welcome and the willingness to listen to all our wishes was super and I have no doubt it will be a very good 5 day visit. We looked at a considerable number of hotels in Devon but Passage House stood out.

Thank Meldleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that we can welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here 10 years ago for a wedding and decided to return as we enjoy this part of the world. Our accommodation was a lodge with a balcony overlooking the estuary. OK. it is a short walk to the hotel amenities but worth it. The lodges have a bedroom and bathroom downstairs, with kitchen, dining area and lounge upstairs. This allows you to enjoy the estuary view from the lounge. Although January, one day it was so mild we were able to eat out on the balcony, a big plus. There is a large flat screen TV in the lounge and a smaller one in the bedroom. All staff encountered were very pleasant and obliging. Free wi-fi in the lounge area but chargeable if you want it in your lodge which is a negative. We ate in the Lighterman's restaurant on the last night as a special treat and it was excellent. The hotel and accommodation were clean and comfortable. We did not use the pool or spa but all looked good.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the estuary (a premium is charged for these rooms I believe).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

Guests who come to the Best Western Passage House Hotel, receive complimentary WIFi during their visit.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

stayed 2 nights at the hotel was given a kingsize room overlooking the estuary on the first night...the room could not be faulted..very comfy bed powerful shower and was immaculate only fault was that hotels internet had crashed ...ate at the pub and good quality food at a reasonable price...second night was given another room in the hotel overlooking the estuary but as still no internet was offered the choice of a room in the south lodge with balcony overlooking the estuary as the lodge had interent..the room was large clean and bed comfy and powerful shower..had breakfast in hotel and it was excellent..would happily return to this hotel as got a very good deal on the BEST WESTERN winter deals...if the internet had been working the hotel would of been rated as excellent

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry the internet caused you an issue during your stay I will look into this for you.

I hope that we can see you again soon

Kind regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Pay a premium for a remote bedroom! A special room overlooking the estuary with a king size bed requires a 100 yard walk to breakfast/dinner/all facilities. OK in summer but a bit of a pain in the rain. Further frustrations with the reliability of the Wi-Fi (do not rely upon for business) spoilt an otherwise very enjoyable stay at this best Western Hotel which is mainly orientated to serving the business community. The staff were friendly and helpful; meals well cooked and beautifully presented; rooms clean and pleasant. The leisure facilities were well maintained and good quality. Really enjoyed our carvery at the on site pub too. The situation is excellent and the noise from adjacent roads and railway rarely intrude. Do bring binoculars and bird recognition books as free flying entertainment available through windows.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

Sorry that you had trouble with our WiFi during your stay, I will look into this straight away

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We don't live that far away, but needed a bit of time together as a couple...
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Clean, well equipped big bedroom & bathroom. Comfortable bed and beautiful views across the estuary. It is in a peaceful location and although the dual carriageway is in the distance, you can't hear anything - the location is tranquil.
Lovely swimming pool & jacuzzi area - all very clean & well maintained.
We had the evening set meal - well priced. Don't understand the previous comment saying the scallop starter consisted of 3 scallops - I had at least 4/5 plump scallops. The food was very nice, my husband's rib eye steak was gorgeous. Although we didn't have dessert, the staff knew it was our wedding anniversary and so brought out a plate with sorbet & 'CONGRATULATIONS' piped around the edges..this was such a nice, personal touch - thank you!
Breakfast was very good - plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast was perfect. Friendly staff too...
We will be back & would highly recommend this comfortable & friendly hotel.
My only one bit of advice for housekeeping would be: The bottom sheet covering the king size bed isn't big enough to really tuck underneath. The sheet kept coming out from underneath. Something larger would be better.
Will see you again soon...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 209 - this has views of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will look forward to sharing your review to the rest of the team

We will look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Me and My boyfriend went here recently as it was only 55 pound a night including the swimming pool and gym.
Overall all the stay was brilliant exactly what you get for your money they have a pub like less then a minute walk on premises and a hotel restaurant within. The pub was brilliant, we opted to eat in the restaurant for the set menu as it was a special occasion. I would NOT recommend this. We brought a bottle of wine for £22 (seriously overpriced) and when asking the waitress what she would recommend she informed us she doesn't know as she's not old enough to drink yet. I had the scallops whilst my partner had the pate. In total I had 3 scallops on a lettuce leaf whilst my partner had a lump of pate with no cracker cream or anything, for mains I ordered mussels and my partner had the salmon, again my meal consisted of about 10 mussels. That's it, no chips no salad nothing !!!!!! Whilst James Salmon was tiny with what looked like mustard on top (holandaise sauce which looked and tasted like it had been out for days).
All in all after paying the £70.00+ bill we were still hungry and gob smacked it had cost so much!!
But the hotel room was value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lil_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at Best Western Passage House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review, I will discuss your comments with the team. Did you notify a member of our team that you were unsatisfied during your meal?

Please can I ask you to send me a contact number to discuss your stay further, my email address is carleywarren@passagehousegroup.co.uk

Kind Regards

Carley Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
1.9 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
119 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
624 reviews
3.3 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
261 reviews
11.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,481 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Passage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Passage House Hotel

Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Price Range: £59 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot
Best Western Passage House Hotel Kingsteignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing