We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is situated in a lovely spot down a long lane right by the water. My room had a balcony with beautiful view overlooking the Estuary. It has a small swimming pool and gym, restaurant and bar. Breakfast was good, cooked delivered to your table and buffet for many other things. I did not eat evening meal there though I went to the Passage House Inn situated about 100 yards from main entrance also right on water front, they have a good menu with a superb carvery which is what I went for.The double bed in the room was large, but the only let down for me was that it was hard, but I understand some people would like it that way. My only real criticism was that under the bed it was full of dust and had obviously not been cleaned for a long time, might not have noticed this if I had not dropped my pen under there!
That said I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloryhornetboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I will pass on your feedback to our HouseKeeping team with immediately.

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    420
    178
    73
    50
See reviews for
158
593
30
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

ideal for a break spa facilities good we stayed in the north lodge twin bed room clean and comfortable the hotel is tucked away(keep driving down the lane sat nav stops at small estate) by the river loads of wildlife good walk up the estuary around the race course into newton abbot great weekend with friends will revisit

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Skinna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It gave me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 14:30 on Saturday 29th March.
There was a lot of people gathered out the front of the hotel in wedding clothes so we were a bit concerned that the hotel was going to be very busy.
Check in was quite quick. I had booked a room for my wife and I and another for the 2 children. They looked out over the car park, we looked out over the estuary.
The rooms were of a good standard with a massive bed and a couple of chairs, flat screen TV and plenty of storage for clothes. There was no fridge in the room but we did not require one anyway.
The Swimming pool was lovely and we had it to ourselves. The Sauna and Steam room were also very welcome after a busy day.
We did not eat dinner at the hotel but breakfast was very nice.
We were not disturbed by the wedding party even though they had a disco, it did not filter through to our room.
The bathroom was clean with enough towels for each of us.
Overall very nice for a 3 star Best Western hotel.
A good break which saw us leave very relaxed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the estuary as these are a much better view than the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlySimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The overall experience of staying at this hotel was so enjoyable and look forward to a further stay hopefully soon. I would highly recommend a stay here to any traveller for not only the breathtaking location but the endless attention of the staff to ensure your stay is memourable one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Fantastic location, wonderful sun-lounge and decking overlooking the River Teign estuary, which is teeming with bird life. Pleasant walk along the river into Newton Abbot. The rooms and restaurant are standard and offer all that is expected from a Best Western. Good swimming pool and reasonable gym with equipment in good order. The hotel does need some refurbishment. The outside walls are green with algae, the walls in our room had a number of scuff marks from luggage and furniture, the mattress has lost its spring and the back fell out of a chair in the dining room when I sat back in it. Some of the staff were excellent but others seemed to have their own agenda. It's not bad but it could be so much better.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the river. The view is exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and whilst we were not in the main complex, our stay was peaceful, warm and cosy. Breakfast was good. Had carvery for dinner at the Inn next door and it was great... Plentiful and just right on a cold, rainy night. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank flynn_za_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Carley Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
6.6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
12.7 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
23.0 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsteignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel Kingsteignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing